Is possible have 2 HD, 1 to snow and other to my info?

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Desktop Support' started by tokayoflip, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. tokayoflip

    tokayoflip

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Oct 25, 2011 at 6:28 PM #1
    tokayoflip

    tokayoflip

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    P67A-UD3-B3 (F2) rev. 1.1
    ATI RADEON 5770
    Core i7 2600k
    10.6.7

    Is possible install a snow leopard in a hard disk of 250gb and another hard disk to have all my info?
     
  2. ziano

    ziano

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    P8H61-M LX2 R2.0
    CPU:
    Core I5 3330
    Graphics:
    ATI HD6850 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 25, 2011 at 6:50 PM #2
    ziano

    ziano

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    P8H61-M LX2 R2.0
    CPU:
    Core I5 3330
    Graphics:
    ATI HD6850 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Open NetInfo Manager
    (Applications/Utilities)

    go to users/"name"
    Click the lock to authenticate, but you will not change anything.

    In the panels below, you will find all descriptions of the user, including Home. Is this you will move.
    in
    / Volumes / NomedaPartição / username

    Now, if you are enabled with the root, take a logout and login as root. If not, go in the same netinfo menu Security> Enable root user. Set a password for it.

    Go into system preferences> accounts> login options> display windows login> list of users

    Now, just to give you a logout, the login window, login as root (and enter the password you just created), copy (not move yet, if you give stick, you still have the original) files from the old home for a new Home folder (which will be at the root of your partition) you just created.

    Give a restart, repair permissions and ready.
     
  3. Haxx187

    Haxx187

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    433
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD5 rev2.0 FB
    CPU:
    3.2 GHz Core I7-950
    Graphics:
    Asus ENGTX460
    Oct 26, 2011 at 12:18 AM #3
    Haxx187

    Haxx187

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    433
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD5 rev2.0 FB
    CPU:
    3.2 GHz Core I7-950
    Graphics:
    Asus ENGTX460
    I know this will come in Handy ~ :thumbup:
     
  4. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,637
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 26, 2011 at 12:30 AM #4
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,637
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac

Share This Page