Contribute
Register

Is it worth ripping a G5 apart for a case for a new build?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've just been given a working 2005 G5 PowerMac and of course, the case is beautiful and would make a great house for some modern furniture.

However, from what I can see, stripping it out isn't much fun (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLTyA1iSyg8) but doable (though I suppose that depends on what your version of 'fun' is) and from this post: http://www.tonymacx86.com/powermac-g5/79105-beginners-journey-into-g5-case-mod-2.html there seems to be some messing with cables to make the case compatible with ATX power.

I'm not good with a soldering iron, AT ALL, so I was wondering if anybody has heard of an off-the-shelf wiring that would do this without having to start chopping and soldering?

Otherwise, I might just sell the thing on eBay.

I've just been given a working 2005 G5 PowerMac and of course, the case is beautiful and would make a great house for some modern furniture.

However, from what I can see, stripping it out isn't much fun (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLTyA1iSyg8) but doable (though I suppose that depends on what your version of 'fun' is) and from this post: http://www.tonymacx86.com/powermac-g5/79105-beginners-journey-into-g5-case-mod-2.html there seems to be some messing with cables to make the case compatible with ATX power.

I'm not good with a soldering iron, AT ALL, so I was wondering if anybody has heard of an off-the-shelf wiring that would do this without having to start chopping and soldering?

Otherwise, I might just sell the thing on eBay.
Is it worth it? That's entirely up to you. How much do you love the look of the case, compared to what you could buy to put a Hackintosh in?