Contribute
Register

Is it worth going for hackintosh desktop instead of iMac or Mac Pro?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Dell
CPU
intel
Graphics
intel
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi,

I had been looking for a good hackintosh that gives the same reliability, performance, safety as Apple macs do.

I am a game developer. I use Unity or Unreal for game development. As you know, I'll release games for both iOS and Android and Windows Store. For all these I thought of buying a Macbook, iMac or a Mac mini. But none of these build configurations are better for my requirement. If they have I had to spend lot of money into it.

Mac mini - A basic computer with very less performance. 2014 minis are even more worse as per reviews. About 70,000 rupees for a model with SSD.
Macbook Pro - basic model with low performance and almost same graphics as mini at basic price. Too pricey for just extra 8 GB ram, 1 GB graphics about 1,40,000 rupees.
iMac - Too pricey. 1 lakh rupees for 21.5 inches for 1GB graphics card model in indian currency.

Coming to hackintosh build as per Customac guide. All are in rupees. 63 rupees == 1 dollar.

1. CPU i7 4790K - 23000
2. RAM 8 GB - 7000 Crucial Ballistix Sport
3. Case 5500 Corsair
4. PSU - 4000
5. 2GB graphics - 11000 (I have GALAXY GeForce GT 740 in my cart. Please ensure if it works with hackintosh).
6. Motherboard - 10000 Gigabyte GA-Z97M-D3H
7. SSD - 4500 Samsung Evo
8. HDD - 2TB - 6500 Seagate Barracuda
9. Monitor - 9700 Benq
10. TP link Wifi adapter

As you can see I can get stunning build for around 80,000 rupees.

Coming to the actual point.
1. I need a system with good performance with no issues in hardware at least for upto 8 - 12 months.
2. Is it worth going for hackintosh rather than for real macs.
3. After I make a hackintosh how much marks it can get out of 10 each in terms of performance, reliability, my usage as a gaming guy, hardware failure tolerance etc.