Contribute
Register

Is it possible to build a powerful MacPro but in a smaller case?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI HERO
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
I'm looking for some good intellectual expierienced hackintosh advice for a particular build. I'm not necessarily a total newbie to hackintosh. I've successfully built a few ATX hackintoshes with much enjoyment & eventually took the plunge to buy an original iMac however the iMac is now showing signs of overheating & constant mouse freezing speaking to me it logically will soon require a full tear down to access all the internal hardware for cleaning out all dust and a re-apply of thermal CPU paste and what a time consuming pain in the butt I must say.

I now live in a very small space; an RV to be exact & think it is now time to go back to my roots building a hackintosh for a back up machine to my iMac that will further be much more convenient, more easily accessible for maintenance which is something I never considered with the iMAC being the opposite inconvenience for simple maintenance or doing something so simple as blowing out dust and a reapply of CPU thermal paste every so often after long term uses.

Now that you know my objective my question is it possible to build in a small case (do to my limited living space) but an equivalent MacPro hackintosh preferably a full ATX in a small case if not then a mini or micro ATX hackintosh that however still as powerful as a macPro & can handle demanding resources such as rendering video for editing?

I welcome any suggestions about what main components will work to accomplish my objective smalll but comperable powerful hackintosh/MacPro build regarding: Case, MB, CPU, Power Supply and video card,. The rest I can easily figure out from there. Thank you so much in advance to anyone who takes time to share knowledge.