Contribute
Register

Is it compatible?

Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
MSI B75A-G41
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX660
  • MSI B75A-G41 (MS-7758)
  • i5 3570
  • Nvidia Geforce GTX 660
  • 2x8 DDR3 Corsai Vengeance
Thinking about changing Mobo to;
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH Mobo with Thunderbolt 3

Is that a good idea or?
 

nobodynose

Moderator
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
4,210
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M Pro4
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac, Quadra
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
  • MSI B75A-G41 (MS-7758)
  • i5 3570
  • Nvidia Geforce GTX 660
  • 2x8 DDR3 Corsai Vengeance
Thinking about changing Mobo to;
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH Mobo with Thunderbolt 3

Is that a good idea or?
You should be able to install Sierra on that hardware. If you change the motherboard to the one you listed, you will also have to replace the CPU and memory, as the ones you have now are not compatible with a 100-series motherboard. A 100-series motherboard requires a Skylake CPU and DDR4 memory.
 
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
MSI B75A-G41
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX660
Thanks for the answer! Would you say another mobo would be better suitet for Sierra, og will the MSI do just fine? And will it be able to run with LAN?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2016
Messages
985
Motherboard
Asus Z-87 Pro WLAN
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770K @ 3,5 Ghz
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 // Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 4096GB GDDR5 RAM (1920x1080)
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the answer! Would you say another mobo would be better suitet for Sierra, og will the MSI do just fine? And will it be able to run with LAN?
Your MSI motherboard should be fine.

Your motherboard has the Realtek ALC 887 chipset, you should get it working with Multibeast drivers.
See here: http://www.multibeast.com/ or here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/resources/categories/tonymacx86-downloads.3/

Ethernet is Realtek 8111E, should work with: https://bitbucket.org/RehabMan/os-x-realtek-network/downloads/
 
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
MSI B75A-G41
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX660
Your MSI motherboard should be fine.

Your motherboard has the Realtek ALC 887 chipset, you should get it working with Multibeast drivers.
See here: http://www.multibeast.com/ or here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/resources/categories/tonymacx86-downloads.3/

Ethernet is Realtek 8111E, should work with: https://bitbucket.org/RehabMan/os-x-realtek-network/downloads/
Thank you so much!

One last question though. In order to find out what to install, and what not to install myself? Do i just look in the manual for multibeast?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2016
Messages
985
Motherboard
Asus Z-87 Pro WLAN
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770K @ 3,5 Ghz
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 // Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 4096GB GDDR5 RAM (1920x1080)
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you so much!

One last question though. In order to find out what to install, and what not to install myself? Do i just look in the manual for multibeast?
In Multibeast you can easy select the drivers you want to install.
 
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
MSI B75A-G41
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX660
In Multibeast you can easy select the drivers you want to install.
Okay, so i've tried installing it now. I've ran Multibeast twice installing UEFI Clover boot on the harddisk, but Mac OSX wont boot from harddisk - only via the USB boot menu. I get "
Reboot and Select proper Boot device" when trying
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2016
Messages
985
Motherboard
Asus Z-87 Pro WLAN
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770K @ 3,5 Ghz
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 // Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 4096GB GDDR5 RAM (1920x1080)
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Okay, so i've tried installing it now. I've ran Multibeast twice installing UEFI Clover boot on the harddisk, but Mac OSX wont boot from harddisk - only via the USB boot menu. I get "
Reboot and Select proper Boot device" when trying
You need to provide more information.
You installed Clover UEFI on your EFI partition right?
And when you start your PC, Clover appear and this sentence appear?
Boot in verbose mode and make a photo. Attach it!
Also upload the Clover folder of the bootable drive as zip ( delet themes folder before, otherwise the file size is large ).
 
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
MSI B75A-G41
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX660
You need to provide more information.
You installed Clover UEFI on your EFI partition right?
And when you start your PC, Clover appear and this sentence appear?
Boot in verbose mode and make a photo. Attach it!
Also upload the Clover folder of the bootable drive as zip ( delet themes folder before, otherwise the file size is large ).
I followed this guide;
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/unibeast-install-macos-sierra-on-any-supported-intel-based-pc.200564/#uefi_settings

My computer is in UEFI mode.

Everything seemed to go correctly except the multibeast part.

When i plugin the USB with the Unibeast configuration on it, it boots just fine (F11 - boot from UEFI: KINGSTON).
I then installed Mac OS Sierra on my 3d HDD on my computer naming the HDD MACOSX.
As it restarts after finishing the installation i choose to boot from my USB once more, only this time i choose the HDD partition called "MACOSX" from the Unibeast boot menu.

I finish the setup of Mac OSX, install Multibeast clover UEFI, ALC887 audio, RealtekRTL8111 v2.0.0 Network (Not sure if that's correct for my Mobo though), i check the bootloader menu (Clover v2.4k, in Customize i change it to Mac Pro 6,1 as system Dif (not sure about that either), i hit Build and choose my MACOSX HDD, i Restart and press F11, and this time i choose my MACOSX HDD as the boot partition, and then the "Reboot and select proper boot device" screen shows. I reboot and try picking the HDD itself as boot and not the MACOSX partition name (it only has 1 partition - MACOSX), and i get met with the same screen once more. If i use my USB again as boot device, it goes into the Clover boot menu, and i can choose to start my HDD with MACOSX, but when i load the OSX, it doesn't seem as multibeast has installed anything - there aren't any sound outputs fx.

I've attached some pictures showing the proccess.

Thank you for helping!

Note:
I also tried to install a Kext for my Ethernet using the Terminal and this guide;
http://osxdaily.com/2012/01/12/how-to-manually-install-kernel-extensions-in-mac-os-x/

but when i write the line;
sudo chmod -R 755 kextfile.kext (and changed the "kextfile" part to the name of the kext")
The terminal states that it cannot find the file or the path.
Not sure if thouse 2 things are connected somehow - that it cannot install things or something like that?
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top