IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState after update to 10.12.6

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by redbrick1818, Sep 6, 2017.

  1. redbrick1818

    redbrick1818

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX - Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 - 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970
    Sep 6, 2017 at 6:21 PM #1
    redbrick1818

    redbrick1818

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX - Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 - 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970
    After updating to Sierra 10.12.6, my system hangs consistently at "IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0" during boot. This seems to be a fairly common issue, and I've been attempting fixes posted by other forum users to resolve the problem - however I'm getting nowhere.

    In light of my hardware specs, can anyone suggest something that I might be missing?
     

    Attached Files:

    • image1.JPG  (2.1 MB, 152 views)
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    164,677
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 6, 2017 at 6:42 PM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    164,677
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    IntelGraphicsFixup.kext + Lilu.kext.
     
  3. redbrick1818

    redbrick1818

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX - Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 - 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970
    Sep 6, 2017 at 8:28 PM #3
    redbrick1818

    redbrick1818

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX - Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 - 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970
    I have these options in my Clover "Graphics Injector" menu (see attached). So I'm assuming I need NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext in place of IntelGraphicsFixup.kext?

    I can't reach my desktop to include the .kexts in the Library/Extensions directory. So I've added lilu.kext and NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext to EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.12 (and Other) of my bootable USB.

    I've checked my config.plist on the same USB drive - and I've made the alterations to System Parameters put forward in other posts...

    <key>NvidiaWeb</key>
    <true/>
    <key>InjectKexts</key>
    <string>YES</string>

    Still no joy. Still hangs on "IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState"; if left for long enough it will eventually progress to Apple logo splash screen to pinwheel indefinitely.
     
    Fergarth likes this.

    Attached Files:

    • image1.JPG  (3.8 MB, 269 views)
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    164,677
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 6, 2017 at 9:15 PM #4
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    164,677
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    With the IGPU disabled, did you install and configure the Nvidia web drivers appropriately?
    Probably best to use an SMBIOS enabled for Nvidia, then no need for NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext.
     
  5. jlanot

    jlanot

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    ASROCK EP2C602
    CPU:
    2 x Intel E5 2670
    Graphics:
    2 x MSI GeForce GTX 980 TI GAMING 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 14, 2017 at 4:28 PM #5
    jlanot

    jlanot

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    ASROCK EP2C602
    CPU:
    2 x Intel E5 2670
    Graphics:
    2 x MSI GeForce GTX 980 TI GAMING 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello guys

    I'm having the same issue here, and tried everything ; the kexts, nvidia web driver… What could have I done wrong?

    redbrick1818: did it turn out ok for you?
    RehabMan: how to configure the nvidia web driver appropriately?

    Could it have something to do with my SSTD files as well?
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_1811.jpg  (2 MB, 77 views)
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2017
  6. jlanot

    jlanot

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    ASROCK EP2C602
    CPU:
    2 x Intel E5 2670
    Graphics:
    2 x MSI GeForce GTX 980 TI GAMING 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 18, 2017 at 5:23 PM #6
    jlanot

    jlanot

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    ASROCK EP2C602
    CPU:
    2 x Intel E5 2670
    Graphics:
    2 x MSI GeForce GTX 980 TI GAMING 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Anyone?
     
  7. mitch_de

    mitch_de

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3
    CPU:
    Intel C2D 7300
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9600 GT 512MB
    Sep 27, 2017 at 12:06 PM #7
    mitch_de

    mitch_de

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3
    CPU:
    Intel C2D 7300
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9600 GT 512MB
    I have same issue try to use new 10.13 HS Webdrivers.
    loops at that
    gIOScreenLockState.
     
    Fergarth likes this.
  8. elmasevmem

    elmasevmem

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    asus z87m-plus
    CPU:
    i5 4670
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 27, 2017 at 12:48 PM #8
    elmasevmem

    elmasevmem

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    asus z87m-plus
    CPU:
    i5 4670
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    yeah same issue. i could able to boot with safe mode, but in safe mode cant mount efi, so cant install clover to drive nor multibeast.
     
  9. jlanot

    jlanot

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    ASROCK EP2C602
    CPU:
    2 x Intel E5 2670
    Graphics:
    2 x MSI GeForce GTX 980 TI GAMING 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 4:32 PM #9
    jlanot

    jlanot

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    ASROCK EP2C602
    CPU:
    2 x Intel E5 2670
    Graphics:
    2 x MSI GeForce GTX 980 TI GAMING 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I actually solved my problem by using the MOBO VGA port until I was able to go through the login and update the Nvidia WebDriver.

    For High Sierra, did you update the driver before the update ?
     
  10. neilhart

    neilhart Moderator

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Mobo:
    ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming - ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7-7700T (TDP: 35W)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX960 2GB, ITX
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 12, 2017 at 11:23 AM #10
    neilhart

    neilhart Moderator

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Mobo:
    ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming - ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7-7700T (TDP: 35W)
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX960 2GB, ITX
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I saw this same error when attempting to load HS upgrade. It turned out that I did not have FakeSMC.kext in the /EFI/EFI/Clover/Kexts/Other folder.

    Good modding,
    neil
     

Share This Page