Contribute
Register

IOConsoleUsers: gIO ScreenLockState 3 hs 0,...?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
74
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone,


Thank you for taking the time to read this post.


As the picture shows I am stuck at this line and I’m not sure what else to do. After doing some research on this issue I couldn’t find anything helpful, I’m not sure if it’s due to my hardware?


Motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU: Intel i9 9900K [stock speeds]
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
GPU: NVidia GTX 950
Storage: macOS will be running on a Crucial 1TB SSD.

**Side Note**
I tried to use the iGPU feature on my board but unfortunately my screens goes blank and I can’t see anything. If anyone could offer any tip on how to fix that then I would prefer to use the iGPU.



Thank you
Dan
 

Attachments

  • 1601DBA2-A10B-4DF7-AB6D-41311EDCEEE1.jpeg
    1601DBA2-A10B-4DF7-AB6D-41311EDCEEE1.jpeg
    5.4 MB · Views: 501

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,100
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2 X Xeon E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
GPU: NVidia GTX 950
Please ammend your profile so that it correctly reflects your hardware.

I tried to use the iGPU feature on my board but unfortunately my screens goes blank and I can’t see anything. If anyone could offer any tip on how to fix that then I would prefer to use the iGPU.
At the Clover menu go to Options - Graphics injection.
Inject Intel.
Change platform id to 0x12345678.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
74
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please ammend your profile so that it correctly reflects your hardware.
I’ve updated my profile, thank you.

At the Clover menu go to Options - Graphics injection.
Inject Intel.
Change platform id to 0x12345678.
As far as that fix, unfortunately that did not work for me. Any other tips?


thank you
Dan
 
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,986
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@DanTechMedia,

gIOScreenLockState 3 is usually indicative of a framebuffer issue ... with the primary reason being too small DVMT.
Try increasing DVMT in the BIOS setting to at least 64MB.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
74
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
gIOScreenLockState 3 is usually indicative of a framebuffer issue ... with the primary reason being too small DVMT.
Try increasing DVMT in the BIOS setting to at least 64MB.

Cheers
Jay
Thanks for the response Jay.

I don't see an option for 64MB the lowest I can go is 128MB and that is what it's set at now.



Thank you
Dan
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,986
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't see an option for 64MB the lowest I can go is 128MB and that is what it's set at now.


@DanTechMedia,

128MB should be fine ... so not DVMT issue.
What MacOS Version, SMBIOS and IGPU PlatformID are you using ?

Have you installed Lilu + WhatEverGreen :-


Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,822
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone,


Thank you for taking the time to read this post.


As the picture shows I am stuck at this line and I’m not sure what else to do. After doing some research on this issue I couldn’t find anything helpful, I’m not sure if it’s due to my hardware?


Motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU: Intel i9 9900K [stock speeds]
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
GPU: NVidia GTX 950
Storage: macOS will be running on a Crucial 1TB SSD.

**Side Note**
I tried to use the iGPU feature on my board but unfortunately my screens goes blank and I can’t see anything. If anyone could offer any tip on how to fix that then I would prefer to use the iGPU.



Thank you
Dan
  • Your PCIE Graphics card Nvidia GTX 950 is NOT supported in Mojave and the current Catalina Beta.
  • You have to Physically Remove the Unsupported PCIE Graphics from its slot and connect the Monitor to your Intel Intel UHD Graphics 630.
  • Steps I suggest:
    • Reboot using your macOSCatalina UEFI USB Installer​
    • From Splash screen , go to BIOS​
    • Change your BIOS_ PeripheralsInitial_ Display Output to IGFX [See image]​
    • Change your BIOS Chipset as shown on the edited Screen shot
    • Save the edited BIOS and reboot with F10
    • At Gigabyte Splash screen Power Off the PC using On/Off Switch of the case​
    • Remove Power Cable from PSU socket​
    • Press On/Off switch a few times too discharge any residual current on the MoBo​
    • Disconnect the Video Cable from the PCIE Graphics and connect to HDMI port of Intel Graphics on the Board​
    • Open the case​
    • Carefully remove PCIE Graphics
    • Insert Power Cable back to PSU socket
    • Turn Power On
    • Restart PC​
    • Go back to BIOS Setup
    • Make sure all previously set Options are UNCHANGED including the Year /Date/ Month/Time
    • Save the Settings​
    • Reboot the USB Installer as First Boot Device to CBM screen​
    • At CBM go to Options >Boot Args: and make sure verbose boot is chosen along with all other required options​
    • Go to Graphics Injector -> and make sure [√]Inject Intel and FakeID 0x12345678
    • Take photos of any problem verbose boot image to upload for help.​
 

Attachments

  • 1.png
    1.png
    341.9 KB · Views: 425
  • 2.png
    2.png
    282.6 KB · Views: 421
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
74
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
128MB should be fine ... so not DVMT issue.
What MacOS Version, SMBIOS and IGPU PlatformID are you using ?

Have you installed Lilu + WhatEverGreen :-

Cheers
Jay
macOS: 10.15 Catalina Public Beta 6
SMBIOS Version: IMP11.88Z.0064.B30.1712081714
IGPU PlatformID: 0x12345678

I also have the Lilu & WhatEverGreen kext's installed.

Thanks for the link, I'll give that a look as well.



Thank you
Dan
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,986
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@DanTechMedia,

You don't need to physically remove the GTX 950 if you still want to use it Windows or Linux .. etc
You can disable the GTX 950 via the DSDT/SSDT method linked in this post :-


Once GTX 950 is disabled in MacOS, you need to configure your IGPU using the method detailed in the guide above ..

If you have supported ports on your monitor you can connect both the IGPU and the GTX 950 via multiple cables.
MacOS will use the IGPU (with the GTX 950 disabled)
Windows or Linux will use the GTX 950 (with the IGPU disabled)

If MacOS is your primary OS then consider replacing the GTX 950 with a AMD GPU which will simplify your configuration and result in better MacOS performance for graphics and/or compute tasks.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
74
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • Your PCIE Graphics card Nvidia GTX 950 is NOT supported in Mojave and the current Catalina Beta.
  • You have to Physically Remove the Unsupported PCIE Graphics from its slot and connect the Monitor to your Intel Intel UHD Graphics 630.
  • Steps I suggest:
    • Reboot using your macOSCatalina UEFI USB Installer
    • From Splash screen , go to BIOS
    • Change your BIOS_ PeripheralsInitial_ Display Output to IGFX [See image]
    • Change your BIOS Chipset as shown on the edited Screen shot
    • Save the edited BIOS and reboot with F10
    • At Gigabyte Splash screen Power Off the PC using On/Off Switch of the case
    • Remove Power Cable from PSU socket
    • Press On/Off switch a few times too discharge any residual current on the MoBo
    • Disconnect the Video Cable from the PCIE Graphics and connect to HDMI port of Intel Graphics on the Board
    • Open the case
    • Carefully remove PCIE Graphics
    • Insert Power Cable back to PSU socket
    • Turn Power On
    • Restart PC
    • Go back to BIOS Setup
    • Make sure all previously set Options are UNCHANGED including the Year /Date/ Month/Time
    • Save the Settings
    • Reboot the USB Installer as First Boot Device to CBM screen
    • At CBM go to Options >Boot Args: and make sure verbose boot is chosen along with all other required options
    • Go to Graphics Injector -> and make sure [√]Inject Intel and FakeID 0x12345678
    • Take photos of any problem verbose boot image to upload for help.
Thank you for all the great detailed info, however it still doesn’t work.

I tried everything in that order and still no luck. I did happen to see some different lines right before ScreenLockState 3. [See Attached Photos]



Thank you
Dan
 

Attachments

  • 648DABA1-FFC4-44A6-87E7-9858869A99B1.jpeg
    648DABA1-FFC4-44A6-87E7-9858869A99B1.jpeg
    4.7 MB · Views: 279
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top