Contribute
Register

Internet access causes reboots/crashes

Joined
Jan 30, 2014
Messages
191
Motherboard
Z87X-UD4H
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770k
Graphics
Gigabyte GV-N770OC-2GD (GTX 770)
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sudden reboots in 10.11/clover

Hi,

a few days ago I finally updated to 10.11 El Capitan and my system often reboots on every occasion. First I thought internet access and opening YouTube videos in any browser were the reason. But further tests showed me that even simple things like a quick search in spotlight (probably also uses internet for weather eg), importing photos to the Photos app or opening the trash can led to crashes.

Some crash reports from the console: (I don't know if there's anything to find in there at all)

http://pastebin.com/kMfitz1q
crash happened at 22:02:08


20.11.15 20:32:12,000 kernel[0]: Google Chrome He[5611] triggered unnest of range 0x7fff92400000->0x7fff92600000 of DYLD shared region in VM map 0xa729c36d2f201e6f. While not abnormal for debuggers, this increases system memory footprint until the target exits.
20.11.15 20:32:13,000 kernel[0]: Google Chrome He[5617] triggered unnest of range 0x7fff92400000->0x7fff92600000 of DYLD shared region in VM map 0xa729c36d2b6e662f. While not abnormal for debuggers, this increases system memory footprint until the target exits.
20.11.15 20:32:59,000 bootlog[0]: BOOT_TIME 1448047979 0

please let me know where to look for the correct crash reports (~/Library/Logs/CrashReporter doesn't say anything)
 

ammulder

Moderator
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
3,430
Motherboard
GA-H87N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790S
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you run /Applications/Utilities/Console.app you can see lists of available crash logs along the left side.

What network hardware are you using when you get the crash?
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2014
Messages
191
Motherboard
Z87X-UD4H
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770k
Graphics
Gigabyte GV-N770OC-2GD (GTX 770)
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Random reboots 10.11 clover

If you run /Applications/Utilities/Console.app you can see lists of available crash logs along the left side.

What network hardware are you using when you get the crash?
that is weird, I actually updated the title of this thread to "Random reboots 10.11 clover" because I now believe that internet access is not the reason for my crashes.

Furthermore I'm not sure whether the crash logs show anything relevant. The CrashReporter includes a "Mobile devices" folder:

Bildschirmfoto 2015-11-21 um 16.07.31.png

My network hardware is an original iMac wifi Airport card like the one found here (bcm94360cd). But I get the reboots both with and without the AppleIntelE10000.kext installed. And Wifi disabled and enabled.

Nevertheless, I don't think that is the cause anymore. However opening YouTube are very likely to created the crash of the entire OS, especially in Safari.
 

ammulder

Moderator
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
3,430
Motherboard
GA-H87N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790S
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Was it all working fine before the upgrade, or do you have a Windows or Linux install to confirm that the hardware is working outside of OS X?

I'm reaching now, but...

It's not a VGA monitor, right?

Do you want to try reseating the memory and GPU just in case?

If you have only one memory chip, you might try it in a different slot, or if you have two chips make sure they're in the right slots to operate in dual-channel mode.

You can try with Intel integrated graphics both enabled and disabled in BIOS (but with your monitor still on your GPU in any case) and see if that makes a difference.
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2014
Messages
191
Motherboard
Z87X-UD4H
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770k
Graphics
Gigabyte GV-N770OC-2GD (GTX 770)
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Was it all working fine before the upgrade, or do you have a Windows or Linux install to confirm that the hardware is working outside of OS X?

I'm reaching now, but...

It's not a VGA monitor, right?

Do you want to try reseating the memory and GPU just in case?

If you have only one memory chip, you might try it in a different slot, or if you have two chips make sure they're in the right slots to operate in dual-channel mode.

You can try with Intel integrated graphics both enabled and disabled in BIOS (but with your monitor still on your GPU in any case) and see if that makes a difference.

Yes, the glitch appeared before the update but that is not my main concern (but of course I will try your suggestions). What is more worrying to me is the fact that my computer reboots all the time and is basically not useable to me.
 
Top