Contribute
Register

Interested in putting OS X on my PC; will my current hardware be okay?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Windows 8.1 x64
CPU
i5-4690 @3.50GHz
Graphics
HD7970
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I'm thinking of hijacking a roommates Mac Book Pro tonight to create a Unibeast drive. It's my very first build so I don't really know what I'm doing. But I have been reading a lot about it so I'm going to try. Will my hardware be compatible and if so; will it run Yosemite smoothly?

My Hardware:

Computer: Custom build (did it myself)
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z97-D3H
Processor: Intel i5-4690
Graphics: AMD 7xxx HD
RAM: 8GB of DD3 @1600
Keyboard: Logitech G15
Mouse: Logitech G5

Does anyone here have any experience with a comparable build and if so could you maybe inform me of any problems I might run into or how you solved them.

Thank you in advance!

Your CPU and Motherboard are perfect. The gfx card should work if it is a 7970. You can do the install
with integrated HD4600 gfx first, run multibeast and then try adding the card later if you do have
any problems initially.

Thanks so much for your response!

So, did you run into any trouble during installation and how much of your free time is spent on keeping it stable?

Thanks so much for your response!

So, did you run into any trouble during installation and how much of your free time is spent on keeping it stable?

If your ram is compatible and PSU is Haswell compatible should have no problems with
freezing. The only thing that takes time and care is when you update. So make sure to
always have a bootable clone of your working OS X install ready if you ever need it. Use
Carbon Copy Cloner or Super Duper for that.

Follow the directions in this User Build http://www.tonymacx86.com/user-buil...-i7-4790-gtx-770-16gb-yosemite-10-10-1-a.html for bios setup and multibeast choices.

Also make sure you have your Windows drive completely disconnected (sata cable) when you do