Contribute
Register

Intel's 8th Generation Coffee Lake CPUs Natively Recognized by macOS High Sierra

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
910
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just tried this on my GA-z370n-wifi board. i8700k with a Dell U3415W and a Viewsonic VX2476 and dual display worked just fine. Each is connected via HDMI.
From cold boot, or hot plug, or both? Furthermore: that would mean the HDMI 2.0 works on macOS?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
139
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M-D3H
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

i used i5-8600k with Msi-z370 SLI Plus. UHD630 didn't worked and even processor is unknown in system. any idea?

The same for me... The 'Unknown CPU' in About this Mac dialog doesn't bother me because the system is rock solid (i5-8600K), sleep works nicely and the performance is great in benchmarks and real world applications, too. Also the CPU frequency goes between ~1 - 4.3GHz dinamically, so power management is working - checked in Intel Power Gadget app.

Strange, because I see others got their 8th gen. i3 CPU identified by High Sierra with the very same motherboard & BIOS version, and with the same Clover config that I'm using. What causes this 'Unknown CPU', somebody knows? :think:

With the UHD 630 I have no luck, it's definitely not native, macOS cannot even load with using the iGPU only.

My bad, it's working now... :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
MSI Z370 SLI PLUS
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The same for me... The 'Unknown CPU' in About this Mac dialog doesn't bother me because the system is rock solid (i5-8600K), sleep works nicely and the performance is great in benchmarks and real world applications, too. Also the CPU frequency goes between ~1 - 4.3GHz dinamically, so power management is working - checked in Intel Power Gadget app.

Strange, because I see others got their 8th gen. i3 CPU identified by High Sierra with the very same motherboard & BIOS version, and with the same Clover config that I'm using. What causes this 'Unknown CPU', somebody knows? :think:

With the UHD 630 I have no luck, it's definitely not native, macOS cannot even load with using the iGPU only.
Yes, hackintosh working fine even with "unknown CPU" speed steeping also working, reaching to 4.2 . uhd630 working with help of MultiBeast (may be fully functional in near feature since its a whole new series). For me going to sleep working fine (display off and then system sleep or standby/deep sleep), but wake from deep sleep/standby will not work from mouse or key board. have to press power button to wake hackintosh.

Read some where that coffee lake i5 and i7 have different part number which is not native yet.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,795
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The same for me... The 'Unknown CPU' in About this Mac dialog doesn't bother me because the system is rock solid (i5-8600K), sleep works nicely and the performance is great in benchmarks and real world applications, too. Also the CPU frequency goes between ~1 - 4.3GHz dinamically, so power management is working - checked in Intel Power Gadget app.

Strange, because I see others got their 8th gen. i3 CPU identified by High Sierra with the very same motherboard & BIOS version, and with the same Clover config that I'm using. What causes this 'Unknown CPU', somebody knows? :think:

With the UHD 630 I have no luck, it's definitely not native, macOS cannot even load with using the iGPU only.
Yes, hackintosh working fine even with "unknown CPU" speed steeping also working, reaching to 4.2 . uhd630 working with help of MultiBeast (may be fully functional in near feature since its a whole new series). For me going to sleep working fine (display off and then system sleep or standby/deep sleep), but wake from deep sleep/standby will not work from mouse or key board. have to press power button to wake hackintosh.

Read some where that coffee lake i5 and i7 have different part number which is not native yet.

The "unknown CPU" thing is just cosmetic. You can edit a plist to change it if you like. Search around, there are directions.

UHD 630 is working fine both headlessly and as primary GPU. Search around the User's Builds and Golden Builds sub-forums.

Sleep/wake is working fine on Z370.

Use the search and see what others have done.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
139
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M-D3H
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The "unknown CPU" thing is just cosmetic. You can edit a plist to change it if you like. Search around, there are directions.

UHD 630 is working fine both headlessly and as primary GPU. Search around the User's Builds and Golden Builds sub-forums.

Sleep/wake is working fine on Z370.

Use the search and see what others have done.

Yes, you're right! :thumbup: Now UHD 630 is working in 10.13.3 High Sierra with this configuration:

- BIOS:
- Integrated Graphics: Enable
- Integrated Graphics Memory size: 128MB,
- Init Display first: IGPU (without discrete graphics) or PCIE (if you have supported nVidia or ATI/AMD card in your PC)​
- Clover config:
- GFX0 > IGPU clover DSDT patch
- Boot/Arguments = -disablegfxfirmware
- Devices/FakeID/IntelGFX = 0x59128086
- Graphics/ig-platform-id = 0x59120000
- Graphics/Inject/Intel = true
(- Optional): Graphics/RadeonDeInit = true (if you have a supported ATI/AMD GPU)
(- Optional): SystemParameters/NvidiaWeb = true (if you have a supported nVidia GPU with WebDriver installed)​
- Clover kexts:
- Lilu.kext (latest)
- IntelGraphicsFixup.kext (latest)
(- Optional): NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext (latest, if you have an nVidia card)
I recommend using Clover version r4359 or newer...

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 22.49.11.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 10, 2012
Messages
22
Motherboard
Z87M-Plus
CPU
G3258
Graphics
Nvidia Quadro K2200
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I ordered an ASRock Extreme 4. It has a separate M.2 Key E slot for Wifi+Bt along with an i5-8400.I hope for the best!Right now I'm waiting for the parts...:beachball:
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
Messages
37
Motherboard
Asus z370f
CPU
i7 8700k
Graphics
rx 580
Hello....I manage to fix the i7-8700K iGPU - its working great. But, I have a graphics card RX 580 ASUS. When I try to boot from the PCI-e, Apple logo flashing and the screen says out of range.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370P-D3
CPU
i3-8100
Thank you very much for the information, I tried to do an installation of macOS High Sierra but I noticed that it was a bit 'jerky, maybe it depends on the fact that I have a HDD and not a SSD? Could it depend on the SMBios? Who has tried what you advise me to do? Has anyone had an experience with i3-8100 and GIGABYTE Z370P D3 (Bios F4c), 8GB of ram 3200 Mhz? And how did you find yourself with HDD? Good, bad? Thank you so much, thanks to your forum I tried the first Hackintosh installation and even if with problems of lag and blocks, it works!
Regards
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 24, 2011
Messages
3
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370XP SLI (rev. 1.0)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
MSI GeForce GT 1030 OC Silent LP [GT 1030 2GH LP OC]
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2018-02-13 23.23.38.png
    Screenshot 2018-02-13 23.23.38.png
    251.4 KB · Views: 543
  • Screenshot 2018-02-13 23.18.46.png
    Screenshot 2018-02-13 23.18.46.png
    337.2 KB · Views: 586
  • Screenshot 2018-02-13 23.18.25.png
    Screenshot 2018-02-13 23.18.25.png
    349.8 KB · Views: 516
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top