Contribute
Register

Intel NUC 10 Frost Canyon

KP1

Joined
Oct 7, 2020
Messages
4
Motherboard
NUC 10 i7 FNK 10710U 64GB
CPU
i7-10710U
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
I tried but getting a weird error of failed update. I have a separate SSD with Windows 10 that I boot into to play games and do this kinds of updates. I haven't had issues before. I'll keep trying and post the results.
Hi - as an aside, could you please share your EFI? I'm on v3 of an i7 NUC 10 and am still struggling with audio. Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
22
Motherboard
Intel NUC 10
CPU
i7-10710U
Graphics
UHD 630
Hi - as an aside, could you please share your EFI? I'm on v3 of an i7 NUC 10 and am still struggling with audio. Thanks!

Sure, here it is. I had issues with the AppleALC. Sometimes it will work perfectly (using headphones) and sometimes the sound will crack, sound distorted. I would reboot and it will fix the issue but sometimes it wouldn't. It seem to happen randomly. So I disable it and using VoodooHDA, works perfectly for me now.

Also sometimes when I shutdown, the computer restarts instead so I had to hold the power button until it fully shutdowns. Besides this, everything else works.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    20.5 MB · Views: 77
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H
CPU
i3-2105
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sure, here it is. I had issues with the AppleALC. Sometimes it will work perfectly (using headphones) and sometimes the sound will crack, sound distorted. I would reboot and it will fix the issue but sometimes it wouldn't. It seem to happen randomly. So I disable it and using VoodooHDA, works perfectly for me now.

Also sometimes when I shutdown, the computer restarts instead so I had to hold the power button until it fully shutdowns. Besides this, everything else works.

What version of OC is this? What version of BIOS?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2010
Messages
120
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i7BEH2
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone, happy new year! Seems no one has knowledge on this so that to reply to my CPU ID question posted some time ago... Are you all using a CPU ID replacement in OC config?

It seems that I cannot boot (get past the OpenCore preboot "matrix" screen) if I don't use some CPU emulation. I can only boot as iMac20,1 or Macmini8,1 with some CPU emulated, otherwise it fails. Is this the same for you, too? I think the Core i7 model has this need/issue.

Moreover, I tried very much to find out more information about the CPU ID emulated, could only find just ONE reference and that's the one I will stick to: "For CPU i7-10710 use CPU IDs 0x0806EC or 0x0806EB to solve it for now, even 0x0806ED works". So:

<data>7AYIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA==</data> is 0xec060800000000000000000000000000 in HEX and references 0x0806EC apparently to Intel Core i5-10210U (Comet Lake). Source: http://yamatyuu.net/computer/program/vc2013/cpuidview/index.html

<data>6wYIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA==</data> is 0xeb060800000000000000000000000000 in HEX but cannot find any reference to a CPU model/generation...

Anyone knows why we need to absolutely fake CPU on i7 model and b) where can we find a list of ALL CPU IDs?
Thank you again!
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
398
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi everyone, happy new year! Seems no one has knowledge on this so that to reply to my CPU ID question posted some time ago... Are you all using a CPU ID replacement in OC config?


Thank you again!
If you are on a i7 then yes, if you are running an i5 then no, I have tried them both and can't seem to run the i7 without Fake CPUID
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2010
Messages
120
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i7BEH2
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you very much @dolgarrenan it is comforting to know this, as I was under the impression that iMac20,1 would be enough. Thanks for confirming the need for faking CPU ID... I have the feeling that Apple will no longer release any Intel refreshes/updates, thus we can kiss goodbye the native Core i7-10xxx support... :(
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
99
Motherboard
Ignore me
CPU
I'm ignoring
Graphics
Forum Rules !!!!
Sure, here it is. I had issues with the AppleALC. Sometimes it will work perfectly (using headphones) and sometimes the sound will crack, sound distorted. I would reboot and it will fix the issue but sometimes it wouldn't. It seem to happen randomly. So I disable it and using VoodooHDA, works perfectly for me now.

Also sometimes when I shutdown, the computer restarts instead so I had to hold the power button until it fully shutdowns. Besides this, everything else works.

Resetting NVRAM solved inability to shutdown my NUC 10, at least for now
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Intel NUC 8i7BEH
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey y'all! Currently rocking a NUC 8 build, but am contemplating an upgrade IF the NUC 10 will do what I would like.

Basically, I'm looking for info on the USB C/TB connection in the back.

I'd like to connect the NUC to a docking station that has my monitor and peripherals hooked up, so I could switch between my devices just by replacing which is plugged in at the moment. Would a NUC 10 Hackintosh's TB fulfill this desire -- Could I have all my devices hooked up to a dock and connect the NUC via one USB C cable and have everything work, or do I dream too big?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
99
Motherboard
Ignore me
CPU
I'm ignoring
Graphics
Forum Rules !!!!
Hey y'all! Currently rocking a NUC 8 build, but am contemplating an upgrade IF the NUC 10 will do what I would like.

Basically, I'm looking for info on the USB C/TB connection in the back.

I'd like to connect the NUC to a docking station that has my monitor and peripherals hooked up, so I could switch between my devices just by replacing which is plugged in at the moment. Would a NUC 10 Hackintosh's TB fulfill this desire -- Could I have all my devices hooked up to a dock and connect the NUC via one USB C cable and have everything work, or do I dream too big?
I own both NUC 10 and NUC 8. I think you can do that with both. however, you are unable to use front USB-C as a video output, only the back one does.

I have a LG ultrafine connected to my NUC 10 and a USB-c to USB 3.0 hub connected to the monitor. this set up worked well on the NUC 8.

NUC 8 has pretty much everything functional (including wifi using an Apple wifi card with an adaptor to the NVME drive)

NUC 10 at least for me has 2 unresolved issues, no Audio via HDMI and it can reset instead of shutdown, and also uses spoofing since there is no official apple support for the NUC 10 chipset. I don't find the NUC faster than my NUC 8. if anything, the NUC 8 has a slightly better GPU than the 10, and finally, the NUC 8 has tons more R and D support on tonymac than the NUC 10.
 
Top