Contribute
Register

Intel NUC 10 Frost Canyon

Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
29
Motherboard
NUC10
CPU
i7-10710U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
Hello,
I'm totally new here and first I would like to thank you all for your work, it's incredible. I've got my NUC10i7 just this morning and here I am, running Catalina on it (even though I'm currently typing on an older OSX VM).

Like many I guess, I've got a display attached to the HDMI port of my NUC, and here is my problem: the image quality is really subpar. Fonts are ugly, graphics are a bit crude/too sharp. I'm not sure how to describe this but globally looking at the same screen when it's plugged onto my OSX VM (radeon Mac Edition), or my Windows VM (MSI Radeon R9 270x) is great and the quality is really superior to what I see when the NUC uses the display.

Display settings are OK (native resolution, display name/model properly found).

I've tried to "catch it" with a screen capture, but the capture itself looks really good, so I'm not sure where to start looking for a fix :/ (I've tested a high quality HDMI cable, same result)

I've made a photo with my phone: https://www.patpro.net/cafesale/IMG_20200731.jpg

I've used gibMacOS, then UniBeast to create my install USB key, I've used NUC10i7OC5.9.EFI to populate the EFI partition of the key and later the EFI partition of the NUC NVMe.

Any hint?
 

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
2,780
Motherboard
Asus B550 Rog Strix Gaming i
CPU
Ryzen 9 5900X
Graphics
Gigabyte 6800XT OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello,
I'm totally new here and first I would like to thank you all for your work, it's incredible. I've got my NUC10i7 just this morning and here I am, running Catalina on it (even though I'm currently typing on an older OSX VM).

Like many I guess, I've got a display attached to the HDMI port of my NUC, and here is my problem: the image quality is really subpar. Fonts are ugly, graphics are a bit crude/too sharp. I'm not sure how to describe this but globally looking at the same screen when it's plugged onto my OSX VM (radeon Mac Edition), or my Windows VM (MSI Radeon R9 270x) is great and the quality is really superior to what I see when the NUC uses the display.

Display settings are OK (native resolution, display name/model properly found).

I've tried to "catch it" with a screen capture, but the capture itself looks really good, so I'm not sure where to start looking for a fix :/ (I've tested a high quality HDMI cable, same result)

I've made a photo with my phone: https://www.patpro.net/cafesale/IMG_20200731.jpg

I've used gibMacOS, then UniBeast to create my install USB key, I've used NUC10i7OC5.9.EFI to populate the EFI partition of the key and later the EFI partition of the NUC NVMe.

Any hint?
Which post did you get the EFI folder from? There are several.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
29
Motherboard
NUC10
CPU
i7-10710U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
Which post did you get the EFI folder from? There are several.
Got it from https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...i-nuc7i7bxx-nuc8i7bxx-etc.261711/post-1968320

edit: just tested on another display (2560x1440) and the quality was better. I wonder why on my regular display (1920x1200) the quality is awful :/

2nd edit: I might have found an explanation here -> https://embdev.net/topic/284710
The problem they describe is exactly mine, when I check the settings in the display's OSD every input uses RGB, but when Catalina finishes to boot, it switches the HDMI input in YPbPr instead. If I manually override this setting colors go wild.
Problem is, how can I fix that in macOS? The fix presented in https://embdev.net/topic/284710 works only if you can add something in /System/Library/Displays/Overrides, but /System/Library/Displays/Overrides does not exist and /System/Library/Displays is read only.
I bet with software signature it could break things to mess inside /System/Library/Displays... Any idea?

3rd edit: as expected, adding the overrides files in /System/Library/Displays does not work anymore. In the mean time I've setup the HDMI input of the display to sharpness=0 instead of default 50, the image quality is way better, but not perfect.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
92
Motherboard
Asus N552VX-FW131T
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 + GT 950m, 1920x1080
Hi, on my nuc i5 i cant have a 4k 60hz output on my screen (on windows works fine). Is it common?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
29
Motherboard
NUC10
CPU
i7-10710U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
I have a problem with my NUC10i7 running Catalina: I can put in to sleep, and back from sleep, I can shutdown, but I can't restart. When I ask for a reboot, either from Apple menu or from the reboot command in Terminal, the system goes down, but it won't reboot. I have to manually shutdown and start the NUC to have macOS boot again.
Any idea?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
29
Motherboard
NUC10
CPU
i7-10710U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
I would like to share some benchmarks of NUC10i7 (Intel Core i7-10710U) running Catalina.
Cinebench R15 gives about 30 fps, about half what I got from a venerable Radeon 5770 Mac Edition hooked to a macOS VM. Cinebench CPU score is very good though. I did not expect that much.
Motionmark is a browser benchmark, I've ran it in a fresh Firefox 79 install.

Screenshot 2020-07-31 at 19.35.15.png Screenshot 2020-07-31 at 19.23.44.png
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
29
Motherboard
NUC10
CPU
i7-10710U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
sorry - double post
 

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
2,780
Motherboard
Asus B550 Rog Strix Gaming i
CPU
Ryzen 9 5900X
Graphics
Gigabyte 6800XT OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Got it from https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...i-nuc7i7bxx-nuc8i7bxx-etc.261711/post-1968320

edit: just tested on another display (2560x1440) and the quality was better. I wonder why on my regular display (1920x1200) the quality is awful :/

2nd edit: I might have found an explanation here -> https://embdev.net/topic/284710
The problem they describe is exactly mine, when I check the settings in the display's OSD every input uses RGB, but when Catalina finishes to boot, it switches the HDMI input in YPbPr instead. If I manually override this setting colors go wild.
Problem is, how can I fix that in macOS? The fix presented in https://embdev.net/topic/284710 works only if you can add something in /System/Library/Displays/Overrides, but /System/Library/Displays/Overrides does not exist and /System/Library/Displays is read only.
I bet with software signature it could break things to mess inside /System/Library/Displays... Any idea?

3rd edit: as expected, adding the overrides files in /System/Library/Displays does not work anymore. In the mean time I've setup the HDMI input of the display to sharpness=0 instead of default 50, the image quality is way better, but not perfect.
Try this version and report back please. Make sure to update serial numbers etc using GENSYMBIOS
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    13.5 MB · Views: 91
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
29
Motherboard
NUC10
CPU
i7-10710U
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
Try this version and report back please. Make sure to update serial numbers etc using GENSYMBIOS

Thank you, I've installed the new EFI and used GENSYMBIOS to create proper serial/uuid/etc.
Got no wifi/bluetooth but that was expected (and I don't care).
The NUC goes properly to sleep and wakes up OK
It will reboot effectively if asked to, so it's a very appreciable progress! The reboot is silent though, screen is all black until the login screen pops up: no boot loader menu, no verbose boot.
The problem with the display is still there but I was not expecting a change on this side.
 

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
2,780
Motherboard
Asus B550 Rog Strix Gaming i
CPU
Ryzen 9 5900X
Graphics
Gigabyte 6800XT OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thank you, I've installed the new EFI and used GENSYMBIOS to create proper serial/uuid/etc.
Got no wifi/bluetooth but that was expected (and I don't care).
The NUC goes properly to sleep and wakes up OK
It will reboot effectively if asked to, so it's a very appreciable progress! The reboot is silent though, screen is all black until the login screen pops up: no boot loader menu, no verbose boot.
The problem with the display is still there but I was not expecting a change on this side.
Have you tried updating the hdmi firmware from intel? It was posted about a page or so back.
 
Top