Contribute
Register

Intel HD Graphics Framebuffer Edits - Desktop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
895
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
HD4600+/HD4000/HD3000 Framebuffer Edits

Hot plugging HD4600/HDMI crashes the Intel display driver[/URL]
I'm aware of hot plugging crash on hd4600. This is a different issue, though.
This is a brand new rig, since the install process with the usual UniBeast installer, after the apple logo the Asus display didn't get the signal, and the machine started the boot loop. I managed to install Mavericks with UEFI Clover method, then, but the hdmi port still doesn't work.
Appears to be a communication problem with Asus/HDMI.[/URL]
What does this mean? Is there a way to get through this problem?
Side note: on Windows 8.1 Uefi no problem at all

EDIT: I've found a workaround (not a really good one, as a matter of fact) based on the config.plist downloaded from Tony's Clover thread: Graphics/Inject/Intel + Devices/FakeID/IntelGFX/0x80860416.
This is the only way I can reach desktop with only Asus monitor via HDMI. No framebuffer in IOReg.
Of course no HDMI Audio.
Attachments:
  • IOReg with the above configuration
  • config.plist
 

Attachments

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,458
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
HD4600+/HD4000/HD3000 Framebuffer Edits

What does this mean?
Graphics/Inject/Intel + Devices/FakeID/IntelGFX/0x80860416.
Brand new/Windows, not relevant. Your Asus monitor is the relevant issue.
The FakeID is not a valid Vendor_ID/Device_ID
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
895
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
HD4600+/HD4000/HD3000 Framebuffer Edits

Your Asus monitor is the relevant issue.
This monitor works perfectly with a bunch of hackintoshes (ASRock Z77E-ITX, Gigabyte GA Z77N WiFi, Gigabyte GA-H87M-D3H, Asus Z87i Pro, Zotac Z77-ITX).
I noticed that in System Info, the graphic Chipset is Intel Iris Pro, not 4600. Could it be related?
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,458
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
HD4600+/HD4000/HD3000 Framebuffer Edits

This monitor works perfectly with a bunch of hackintoshes
I noticed that in System Info, the graphic Chipset is Intel Iris Pro, not 4600. Could it be related?
Last variable, motherboard/BIOS? Cosmetic, no.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
895
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
HD4600+/HD4000/HD3000 Framebuffer Edits

I tried all available bios versions (2.30, 2.10, 2.00, 1.90, 1.80) with
  • PMPatch and afudos to unlock msr
  • extracted and patched dsdt (see post #8 without deleting layout id)
HDMI port behavior still remains the same.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
343
Motherboard
Asrock Z270X ITX Fatality
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630 + RX 560
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top