Installed Sierra from El Capitan, but does not upgrade.

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by tonydrum, Dec 24, 2016.

  1. tonydrum

    tonydrum

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Dec 24, 2016 at 7:24 PM #1
    tonydrum

    tonydrum

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Please forgive me if this has been addressed. I have successfully downloaded Sierra from El Capitan. It installed. It restarted, but I still have El Capitan. What is the next phase of this installation? Again, I'm new to this. Please forgive me.
     
  2. xjestersdeadx

    xjestersdeadx

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    GA-H97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Mini ITX OC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Dec 27, 2016 at 4:49 AM #2
    xjestersdeadx

    xjestersdeadx

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    GA-H97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Mini ITX OC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Did you follow these instructions?

    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/direct-update-to-macos-sierra-using-clover.201465/

    It sounds like you selected the system drive instead of the install. Also, did you copy the kexts files? All I had to do was copy FakeSMC.kext and then after it successfully updated, I used the latest multibeast to reinstall the correct audio drivers.
     
  3. chill2x

    chill2x

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Mobo:
    Intel Lynx Point-LP
    CPU:
    intel i5 4200U
    Graphics:
    intel HD4400 Haswell Mobile 1366x768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Dec 28, 2016 at 9:08 AM #3
    chill2x

    chill2x

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Mobo:
    Intel Lynx Point-LP
    CPU:
    intel i5 4200U
    Graphics:
    intel HD4400 Haswell Mobile 1366x768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    you must update your clover to newer version r3961 and also put FAKESMC.kext voodoops2.kext updated on EFI//Clover/KExt/Others..
     
  4. kohnworkshop2

    kohnworkshop2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    OSX Mavericks
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    Radeon 6850
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 4, 2017 at 1:53 AM #4
    kohnworkshop2

    kohnworkshop2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    OSX Mavericks
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    Radeon 6850
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I had the same issue and am an idiot. SO I want to share my awakening here.
    Instead of updating clover I made sure I was updating Clover Configurator.
    Finally saw the light and updated configurator and now my system is updating fine.
    I think I tried the update 6 times.
    If you're like me and have a hard time reading clear instructions, make sure you update CLOVER.
     

Share This Page