Installed Sierra from El Capitan, but does not upgrade.

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by tonydrum, Dec 24, 2016.

  1. tonydrum

    tonydrum

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Dec 24, 2016 at 7:24 PM #1
    tonydrum

    tonydrum

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Please forgive me if this has been addressed. I have successfully downloaded Sierra from El Capitan. It installed. It restarted, but I still have El Capitan. What is the next phase of this installation? Again, I'm new to this. Please forgive me.
     
  2. xjestersdeadx

    xjestersdeadx

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Motherboard:
    GA-H97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Mini ITX OC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Dec 27, 2016 at 4:49 AM #2
    xjestersdeadx

    xjestersdeadx

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Motherboard:
    GA-H97M-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Mini ITX OC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Did you follow these instructions?

    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/direct-update-to-macos-sierra-using-clover.201465/

    It sounds like you selected the system drive instead of the install. Also, did you copy the kexts files? All I had to do was copy FakeSMC.kext and then after it successfully updated, I used the latest multibeast to reinstall the correct audio drivers.
     
  3. chill2x

    chill2x

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Motherboard:
    Intel Lynx Point-LP
    CPU:
    intel i5 4200U
    Graphics:
    intel HD4400 Haswell Mobile 1366x768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Dec 28, 2016 at 9:08 AM #3
    chill2x

    chill2x

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Motherboard:
    Intel Lynx Point-LP
    CPU:
    intel i5 4200U
    Graphics:
    intel HD4400 Haswell Mobile 1366x768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    you must update your clover to newer version r3961 and also put FAKESMC.kext voodoops2.kext updated on EFI//Clover/KExt/Others..
     
  4. kohnworkshop2

    kohnworkshop2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    Z170MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700K 4ghz
    Graphics:
    gtx 950
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 4, 2017 at 1:53 AM #4
    kohnworkshop2

    kohnworkshop2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    Z170MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700K 4ghz
    Graphics:
    gtx 950
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I had the same issue and am an idiot. SO I want to share my awakening here.
    Instead of updating clover I made sure I was updating Clover Configurator.
    Finally saw the light and updated configurator and now my system is updating fine.
    I think I tried the update 6 times.
    If you're like me and have a hard time reading clear instructions, make sure you update CLOVER.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice