Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87N-WiFi
CPU
E3-1230 v3
Graphics
GTX 760
Hey guys!

I'm a serious noob when it comes to building Hackintoshes, so my apologies if I ask any stupid questions. I have built one before which didn't work at all under Snow Leopard (i3 3225, HD4000 Z77-HD3) but somehow I found a working ethernet kext and used that to upgrade to Mavericks, which caused it to work out of the box (LAN, Audio, video without even using Multibeast). The only issue was the Boot0 error but that was easily fixed. Because of all this, I know that my install USB works fine and is not at fault in my current situation.

Anyway, yesterday I started my new build using a Gigabyte Z87n-WiFi, Intel Xeon E3 1230v3 and a GTX 760. It has a Crucial MX100 256GB for Windows and a 1TB Caviar Blue for Windows storage (both installed and working fine). Then there's a second Caviar Blue 1TB that I wanted to use for OS X. I had a few issues getting into the installer, as the screen would stay grey with the cursor being that annoying little spinning beach ball :p Turns out that in the bios, I had to set the USB drive as first boot option, but then during the boot I also had to open the boot menu and select it there as well. It then booted into the installation fine. I had my Windows drives disconnected at this point.