Install High Sierra Public Beta to a new partition (APFS)

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Guides' started by vulgo, Jul 5, 2017.

  1. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 5, 2017 at 10:08 AM #1
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Installing the 10.13 beta with the beta app from 10.12 to a new partition. Testing APFS filesystem (optional) and 10.13 Clover configuration. These steps are to verify a working config before upgrading to High Sierra when it is released. It is not recommended to use beta software on your main machine. If you do want use beta software, do not risk your data, see the guide for creating installation media and install where it doesn't matter if things break.

    1. Update

    Backup your EFI folder. Update to the latest Clover, update FakeSMC in /efi/clover/kexts/other and update other essential kexts.

    Clover installer packages

    FakeSMC

    The latest Clover uses APFS-aware firmware version data for patching SMBIOS by default, but these will be overridden if 'BiosVersion', 'BiosReleaseDate', 'FirmwareFeatures' are specified in your config.plist - you should probably let Clover handle these.

    2. APFS EFI Driver

    Install or update /efi/clover/drivers64uefi/apfs.efi to the version from the App Store Beta package:

    Locate the 'Install macOS High Sierra Beta' bundle in your Applications folder

    Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 14.13.26.png

    Show Package Contents -> Contents -> SharedSupport -> BaseSystem.dmg

    Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 13.59.51.png

    BaseSystem.dmg -> usr -> standalone -> i386 -> apfs.efi

    Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 14.00.32.png


    APFS Jump Start Driver can be removed from /efi/clover/drivers64uefi if it is there - recent Clover versions don't need it.

    Note for legacy BIOS installs. The EFI driver path is /efi/clover/drivers64 /efi/clover/drivers64uefi

    3. Test updated configuration

    Reboot 10.12 and run

    $ bdmesg

    Code (Text):
    ...
    0:112  0:000  === [ LoadDrivers ] =======================================
    0:116  0:003  Loading FSInject-64.efi  status=Success
    0:118  0:001  Loading OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi  status=Success
    0:118  0:000  Loading OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi  status=Success
    0:119  0:000  Loading HFSPlus.efi  status=Success
    0:120  0:001   - driver needs connecting
    0:120  0:000  Loading AppleKeyAggregator-64.efi  status=Success
    0:121  0:000  Loading AppleImageCodec-64.efi  status=Success
    0:121  0:000  Loading AppleUITheme-64.efi  status=Success
    0:122  0:000  Loading FirmwareVolume-64.efi  status=Success
    0:123  0:000  Loading SMCHelper-64.efi  status=Success
    0:123  0:000  Loading APFS.EFI  status=Success
    0:131  0:007   - driver needs connecting
    0:131  0:000  2 drivers needs connecting ...
    0:131  0:000  PlatformDriverOverrideProtocol not found. Installing ... Success
    0:131  0:000  HFS+ driver loaded
    0:131  0:000  APFS driver loaded
    0:131  0:000  Searching for invalid DiskIo BY_DRIVER connects: not found, all ok
    ...
    We can see that the APFS driver is loading.

    4. Prepare Partition

    Create a new HFS+ partition on your boot SSD (or any disk) e.g. 'HighSierraBeta' with disk utility.

    5. Begin Installation

    Open the beta installer app. Select the newly created partition as the installation target

    Show All Disks -> e.g. 'HighSierraBeta'

    Leave upgrade to APFS checked, or uncheck to use the venerable JHFS+

    6. Complete Installation

    After a short time, restart to the boot loader and install the beta.

    $ diskutil list
    Code (Text):
    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *480.1 GB   disk0
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS Macintosh HD            239.4 GB   disk0s2
       3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3
       4:         Microsoft Reserved                         16.8 MB    disk0s4
       5:       Microsoft Basic Data Windows                 62.4 GB    disk0s5
       6:           Windows Recovery                         471.9 MB   disk0s6
       7:           Linux Filesystem                         41.9 GB    disk0s7
       8:                 Apple_APFS Container disk1         82.8 GB    disk0s8
       9:       Apple_KernelCoreDump                         655.4 MB   disk0s9

    /dev/disk1 (synthesized):
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      APFS Container Scheme -                      +82.8 GB    disk1
                                     Physical Store disk0s8
       1:                APFS Volume HighSierraBeta          8.3 GB     disk1s1
       2:                APFS Volume Preboot                 19.6 MB    disk1s2
       3:                APFS Volume Recovery                505.4 MB   disk1s3
       4:                APFS Volume VM                      2.1 GB     disk1s4
    $ uname -v

    Code (Text):
    Darwin Kernel Version 17.0.0: Tue Jun 13 21:06:15 PDT 2017; root:xnu-4481.0.0.1.1~1/RELEASE_X86_64
    Notes

    • If you arrive at a kernel panic with com.apple.driver.AppleACPIPlatform you can try dropping the MATS table.
    • This method is for starting the beta installer from a working 10.12 installation using your existing EFI partition. For creating an installation USB see here.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2017
  2. GuitarGuy77

    GuitarGuy77

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 6, 2017 at 5:47 AM #2
    GuitarGuy77

    GuitarGuy77

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3930K @ 3.50 GHz 1 processor, 6 cores, 12 threads
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Thanks for the post! May I ask dropping the MATTs table does that mean simply clicking plus in clover to add it or minus to subtract it? If so do users need to fill in any proprietary information for mainboards..etc? Thanks
     
  3. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 6, 2017 at 8:47 AM #3
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    In clover boot options check "MATS" in "drop tables" - i never had to do this to get it to boot - that table is never in my firmware. Drop tables in clover wiki
     
  4. 086_naseer

    086_naseer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s (Clover)
    CPU:
    i3-2310m/HM65
    Graphics:
    HD3000, Sandy Bridge 1366x768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 13, 2017 at 10:03 PM #4
    086_naseer

    086_naseer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s (Clover)
    CPU:
    i3-2310m/HM65
    Graphics:
    HD3000, Sandy Bridge 1366x768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello
    I recently upgrade from sierra to high sierra. Everything was ok. I now convert HFS to APFS and update the clover to the latest version. I copy the apfs.efi from the beta package and paste it to the location /efi/clover/drivers64uefi. I restart my system and now I can't see boot partition on the boot menu. I can see only recovery partition. Partition actually exist but not showing in the clover boot menu? Please help.
     
  5. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 13, 2017 at 10:26 PM #5
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    How did you convert to APFS? Are you able to upload your preboot.log (F2 at boot menu, it gets saved to /efi/clover/misc/preboot.log)?
     
  6. 086_naseer

    086_naseer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s (Clover)
    CPU:
    i3-2310m/HM65
    Graphics:
    HD3000, Sandy Bridge 1366x768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 13, 2017 at 11:40 PM #6
    086_naseer

    086_naseer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4530s (Clover)
    CPU:
    i3-2310m/HM65
    Graphics:
    HD3000, Sandy Bridge 1366x768
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I am away from the system now. I boot with installation USB and using disk utility convert hfs to apfs. Drives are still alive but not showing on boot list at start up.
     
  7. jktaurus8

    jktaurus8 Suspended

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA H270N WiFi
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7600
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 14, 2017 at 3:23 AM #7
    jktaurus8

    jktaurus8 Suspended

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA H270N WiFi
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7600
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I can't boot after the installation it stuck at IOUSBHOSTDevice. any help?

    IMG_0168.JPG
     

    Attached Files:

  8. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 14, 2017 at 8:41 AM #8
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Your config.plist SMBIOS overrides Clover defaults, you might try
    Code (Text):
    ...
        <key>SMBIOS</key>
        <dict>
         <key>BoardSerialNumber</key>
         <string> your unique values </string>
         <key>ProductName</key>
         <string>iMac17,1</string>
         <key>SerialNumber</key>
         <string> your unique values </string>
         <key>SmUUID</key>
         <string> your unique values </string>
      </dict>
    ...
    https://clover-wiki.zetam.org/configuration/smbios
     
    jktaurus8 likes this.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  9. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 14, 2017 at 8:52 AM #9
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Check your config.plist - see post #8, also upload preboot.log
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  10. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19,922
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 14, 2017 at 11:34 PM #10
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19,922
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apple File System Guide/Frequently Asked Questions:
    Can RAID be used with Apple File System?

    Yes. Apple File System does not directly implement software RAID; however APFS-formatted volumes can be combined with an Apple RAID volume to support Striping (RAID 0), Mirroring (RAID 1), and Concatenation (JBOD). APFS-formatted volumes can also be used with direct-attached hardware RAID solutions.

    There are no tools to convert a HFS+/Raid to APFS/Raid.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2017

Share This Page