Contribute
Register

[In progress] SSDT for Thunderbolt 3 Hotplug

Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
241
Motherboard
ASUS Rog Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well prior to installing the thunderbolt card I had everything working.
I had to use ONLY this driver: OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi
Meaning NO EmuvariableUefi and NO AptioMemoryFix.
This is on Gigabyte Z390.
Sleep is fine all is fine.

Now I made it work BUT I had to reset bios and start over a few times.
It's like if I modified Bios in a certain way the system didn't work if I did in another way then now it's booting and Hot Plug works OOB, NO SSDT or anything.

Above 4G Decoding is On and CSM Support too.
Then the usual Thunderbolt 3 settings.
Let's see if it continues to work.
Z390 systems will have to rely on emulated ram, which means that your clover installation needs to be the last item in this list - @pastrychef please correct me if I'm wrong.


Also, one of the things I had to do was to go to your BIOS>BOOT>Secure Boot and one by one delete all of the secure boot keys. I have an ASUS board so your process might be different.

To me your problem looks like your devices are fighting for memory space. Try what I mentioned above first, and if that doesn't work, remove all of your PCI devices except your GPU. If boots successfully, add TH3 card, and so on.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
316
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
UDH 630
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks! I was able to boot.
I had to reset Bios a few times and modify it step by step.
Enabling Above 4G Decoding and leaving CSM Support switched on.

Now it seems to work.
My Secure Boot has been disabled since the beginning, contrary to Asus boards. I can't delete any key.

Correcting the previos Bios didn't work I had to reset it and start over.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
241
Motherboard
ASUS Rog Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks! I was able to boot.
I had to reset Bios a few times and modify it step by step.
Enabling Above 4G Decoding and leaving CSM Support switched on.

Now it seems to work.
My Secure Boot has been disabled since the beginning, contrary to Asus boards. I can't delete any key.

Correcting the previos Bios didn't work I had to reset it and start over.
Yes I had the same exact problem and eventually I discovered that secure boot keys were being repopulated.i could not trace to the exact step that was happening (my guess after I would load optimized defaults but not sure).
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
60
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9 7900x
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
Mobile Phone
iOS
Great. I'll try it on my Durex X299.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
316
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
UDH 630
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes I had the same exact problem and eventually I discovered that secure boot keys were being repopulated.i could not trace to the exact step that was happening (my guess after I would load optimised defaults but not sure).
This motherboard "Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X) has issues with MacOS
Once you add the Thunderbolt 3 card it tends not to boot.
I was able to make it boot by re doing the Bios from scratch but then all of the weirdest thing happen to make it unstable. It looses the Bios settings like the battery was unplugged.

Have to switch.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
182
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
This motherboard "Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X) has issues with MacOS
Once you add the Thunderbolt 3 card it tends not to boot.
I was able to make it boot by re doing the Bios from scratch but then all of the weirdest thing happen to make it unstable. It looses the Bios settings like the battery was unplugged.

Have to switch.
What BIOS are you using? The latest released by Gigabyte is a beta version and does not work with MacOS.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
316
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
UDH 630
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've switched back to F5 BUT I still have issues.
It seems at least the BIOS is not resetting by itself when I switch off the PSU.
But even with the F5 Bios and the Thunderbolt card (plugged in the only slot where a 4x card can be plugged) things are not working properly.
For example last reboot the machine went into a loop of reboots. I have to reset bios, then load the values, then reboot or remove the thunderbolt card. Once removed the thunderbolt card the system booted up immediately (same untouched EFI).
A remainder without the Thunderbolt card the system runs really well. Everything working. Sleep/Wake, reboot, speed (2200 Cinebench).
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
35
Motherboard
z370 taichi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
just to share here. thanks for ssdt v3. i use asrock z370 taichi with gigabyte alpine ridge. if the uad is on at boot when you disconnect uad later in os...and power on again.. it will work.. the pci is always shown in the sound output.

if you switch on uad after boot...computer cant find it.

thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
316
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
UDH 630
Mobile Phone
iOS
Has anyone with an ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac had any success getting TB recognized and working with an audio interface?

Cheers!
Were you able to make the ASRock Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac work with TB3?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
84
Motherboard
Mountaiin Lion 10.8.4
CPU
i7 3570
Graphics
gtx 650
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
My motherboard : Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming 2.0 and Alpine Ridge v 1.0 firmware 2.0.


I use SSDT-Z370 -TB3HP or SSDT-TB3 aml.

Without THB_C cable connector :
  • hotlpug works on port 1 only
  • no sleep
  • no second port TB available (no detect devices at all)
With THB_C cable connector:
  • hot plug don’t work
  • sleep OK and TB devices still available after awake
  • no second port TB available (no detect devices )
Without any SSDT patches and connect THB_C cable:
  • hot plug don’t work
  • sleep OK
  • two TB ports are available
Of course all devices are connected before computer start.
Keep in mind that THB_C connector send/receive sleep/awake signal
from motherboard to Alpine Ridge. So without it no sleep anymore .

I use Bios F10 "
  1. Optimized for Intel® 9th Gen Core™ Processors" because
my CPU is intel i7-9700K .

Why my second TB port is unavailable with SSDT-TB patch ?
 
Last edited:
Top