Contribute
Register

[In progress] SSDT for Thunderbolt 3 Hotplug

Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
154
Motherboard
Thinkpad X240
CPU
i5-4300U
Graphics
HD4400
Mobile Phone
Android
Had anyone tried TB on PCH with GC-TITAN RIDGE? It seems like this card does better with hot-plug.
KGP has already used it in X299 build and it works in Mojave, just curious about Z3XX platform now.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
69
Motherboard
ASUS WS C422 FW PRO/SE
CPU
W-2175
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can confirm that GC-TitanRidge is working flawlessly OOB on my rig with attached SSDT.

The only hiccup for me is that I need to eject connected THB and USB-C-disks before sleep otherwise my rig will wake up to a black screen.

As I understand this is a "normal" behaviour for everybody with a connected GC-Titan ridge card
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
476
Motherboard
GA-Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
This is really nice! Can someone help me to change my DSDT? Because i have the thunderbolt patches did there, but i want to change it to this method 2 because i have switched TB Card to GB Alpine. Thanks! :)

Z370 AORUS GAMING 7

-- UPDATE!

I got it working now! i Can boot without my Apollo 8 on. When i turn it on it shows up! But i have connected my Apollo Twin And UAD Satelite to the Apollo 8, they are not regonized. Only if i boot with all the devices on!.. I have updated my DSDT. Maybe there is someting wrong there?
Hi Jaco,

Similar setup over here, but I have not yet applied any patch. I'm not totally clear on which one is safe for my build. Advice on which one for the GA-Z370 with the GC-Alpine Ridge?

IMy hack has to be powered off and the Apollo 8 Quad powered up in order to work. Firewire hotplug for the Digidesign 003R is spotty as well. One of the issues I have which may provide some clues to this topic is that my Blackmagic Design Multidock 2 (single-space rackmounted 4x SSDs) "hangs onto" whatever computer last used it. It has no power switch and the only way of freeing up this device is to power off everything. It's akin to the process of resetting the SMC/PRAM but only with power sources and actually unplugging the TB cables and dongles: I think that there's some sort of persistent memory of the device in the electronics of these Apple cables. Definitely some secret sauce going on in those connector ends. If I unplug all Thunderbolt devices from the hack and back into my Mini 2012 QC 6,2 -everything works as if by magic. I'm using all Apple TB cables and dongles. FWIW, everything is hot-plug friendly in Windows 10.

Please and thank you for guidance...
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Jaco,

Similar setup over here, but I have not yet applied any patch. I'm not totally clear on which one is safe for my build. Advice on which one for the GA-Z370 with the GC-Alpine Ridge?

IMy hack has to be powered off and the Apollo 8 Quad powered up in order to work. Firewire hotplug for the Digidesign 003R is spotty as well. One of the issues I have which may provide some clues to this topic is that my Blackmagic Design Multidock 2 (single-space rackmounted 4x SSDs) "hangs onto" whatever computer last used it. It has no power switch and the only way of freeing up this device is to power off everything. It's akin to the process of resetting the SMC/PRAM but only with power sources and actually unplugging the TB cables and dongles: I think that there's some sort of persistent memory of the device in the electronics of these Apple cables. Definitely some secret sauce going on in those connector ends. If I unplug all Thunderbolt devices from the hack and back into my Mini 2012 QC 6,2 -everything works as if by magic. I'm using all Apple TB cables and dongles. FWIW, everything is hot-plug friendly in Windows 10.

Please and thank you for guidance...
I've got the exact same card and motherboard, and also am still trying to get thunderbolt hotplug working. I've not had any success so far. Just like you, everything works perfect under Windows 10. I can manage to get everything but hotplug working on OSX. Would love to button this up.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
476
Motherboard
GA-Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Yeah, before the Hack, I was just running this machine as a Vienna Ensemble Pro 6 server with Windows 10 Pro.
I'm not a fan of shutting down my computer every time I want to use the Apollo. I'm not sure of the "commercial-grade" ruggedness of UAD's DAW products, so I'm hesitant to leave the Apollo on 24/7. -I did that with the Apogee Duet 2 USB without a problem. I'd trust the 003R 24/7, but it simply isn't as good as the UAD and it too isn't playing nice with the Hack.
I'll run a few more tests, but it's not looking promising for my needs. I would say that if one was building a Hack for a DAW, I'd stick with native USB stuff and skip Thunderbolt and Firewire. Again, I'll check those patches and test. Thanks for the reply!
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah, before the Hack, I was just running this machine as a Vienna Ensemble Pro 6 server with Windows 10 Pro.
I'm not a fan of shutting down my computer every time I want to use the Apollo. I'm not sure of the "commercial-grade" ruggedness of UAD's DAW products, so I'm hesitant to leave the Apollo on 24/7. -I did that with the Apogee Duet 2 USB without a problem. I'd trust the 003R 24/7, but it simply isn't as good as the UAD and it too isn't playing nice with the Hack.
I'll run a few more tests, but it's not looking promising for my needs. I would say that if one was building a Hack for a DAW, I'd stick with native USB stuff and skip Thunderbolt and Firewire. Again, I'll check those patches and test. Thanks for the reply!
I had some major problems this go around with USB. I kept getting random audio overload issues which were causing dropouts and the entire audio subsystem would reload for some reason. It only happened under Ableton for some reason. Could never figure out what was causing the issue. It wasn't the projects as they worked fine on a real mac and the same audio interface. I tried 3 different usb interfaces and they all exhibited the same issue. I even swapped out to a completely different motherboard thinking there was something going on. No dice. I can only conclude that there's some issue with this z370 chipset, or the USB subsystem of the Hackintosh on this chipset, or perhaps something to do with the Hackintosh config that was causing my issue. I found a few references to others having the same issue, but none of their fixes worked for me.

I ended up finally giving in and deciding to go Thunderbolt or Firewire. I had used Thunderbolt UAD in the past, and loved the lower latency, and after reading the issues with Firewire often killing sleep, I decided to go Thunderbolt. Now, I leave the computer, and the new Focusrite Clarett 8Pre on 24/7. Really sucks doing that too, as I also hate turning the computer on and off. I use it so randomly throughout the day it just doesn't make sense to turn it off. I don't care about the lack of sleep. The water cooler keeps the system plenty cold, but I'd really like to be able to turn the audio interface on and off. Doesn't look like that's going to happen though.

It's too late for me to revert without sinking a ton of additional money into trying a Firewire interface now, and it'd certainly be a step backward in latency/input, but I'm still left wondering if a Firewire interface would have at least allowed me to turn it on and off. Seems there's mixed results with that too.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
476
Motherboard
GA-Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I've had no luck with "hotplug" on/off for the 003R with the latest drivers, so I've removed the Firewire card to free up SATA port 3. When running Pro Tools 2018.7, my Intel Power Gadget reports my CPU jumping from 1 GHz to 4-4.7GHz with temps between 36°C and 46°C. PT is using all 12, but mostly threads 6 and 7 for a total CPU load of 12%-14% with a buffer of 128 samples 24/44.1KHz System Delay is 1.75ms -the same performance/demand as the 2012 Mac Mini QC 2.6GHz 6,2.

Yeah, the UAD (not counting the plugins) cost quite a bit more than my Hack build. The studio pulls very little juice -shockingly little compared to running 3 or 4 Mac Mini's. I really expected this PC to suck down the power -even though I've disabled a lot of the throttling settings in the BIOS that causes problems for Pro Tools. (I know, still...)

I may just run this as a headless VSL/VEP slave after all. But it is very nice for a photo/video machine. Sorry if it's a little OT. Do we need to start a new DAW thread?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Graphics
ASUS Radeon RX 570 4GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Jaco,

Similar setup over here, but I have not yet applied any patch. I'm not totally clear on which one is safe for my build. Advice on which one for the GA-Z370 with the GC-Alpine Ridge?

IMy hack has to be powered off and the Apollo 8 Quad powered up in order to work. Firewire hotplug for the Digidesign 003R is spotty as well. One of the issues I have which may provide some clues to this topic is that my Blackmagic Design Multidock 2 (single-space rackmounted 4x SSDs) "hangs onto" whatever computer last used it. It has no power switch and the only way of freeing up this device is to power off everything. It's akin to the process of resetting the SMC/PRAM but only with power sources and actually unplugging the TB cables and dongles: I think that there's some sort of persistent memory of the device in the electronics of these Apple cables. Definitely some secret sauce going on in those connector ends. If I unplug all Thunderbolt devices from the hack and back into my Mini 2012 QC 6,2 -everything works as if by magic. I'm using all Apple TB cables and dongles. FWIW, everything is hot-plug friendly in Windows 10.

Please and thank you for guidance...

Hey there! All working fine here now.
If u want to use the DSDT u must update to the latest bios.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=11kdBFEG2ugU06HhfzHqhsQiJG5Mz4gnO
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
156
Motherboard
Aorus z370 Gaming 5
CPU
8700K
Graphics
Aorus RX580 8GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Can confirm that GC-TitanRidge is working flawlessly OOB on my rig with attached SSDT.

The only hiccup for me is that I need to eject connected THB and USB-C-disks before sleep otherwise my rig will wake up to a black screen.

As I understand this is a "normal" behaviour for everybody with a connected GC-Titan ridge card
On z370? or on Ws C422?
 
Top