Contribute
Register

iMac Pro X299 - Live the Future now with macOS 10.14 Mojave [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,780
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi kgp, is it possible to use an ASUS ROG-STRIX-RXVEGA64?
I got tired of waiting for Nvidia and I found a good price for the mentioned Asus but I need your blessing.
A hug and I hope you are well.

Well I have no personal experience with the ASUS ROG-STRIX-RXVEGA64? Else, why not?
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,780
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do not worry, I better go to safety and buy the sapphire, a question ...
The problems with the fans were solved ... they work correctly as expected depending on the workload?

Yes
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
136
Motherboard
ASUS Sage WS II x299
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon 6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey Izo1, sorry for just jumping in here, not sure if you meantioned this already or if it applies to your card, but did you enable WiFi-Bluetooth bridging in windows? I had an unstable Bluetooth connection in Mac OS and windows until I enabled bridging. I’m sure you or someone else has already meantioned/thought of this.

In my experience it seemed to work. In my case, I was trying to use AirPods and the connection was quite poor. By enabling bridging in Windows, they worked as expected in Mac OS and Windows after a reboot. I'll see if I can grab screen from Windows later today.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In my experience it seemed to work. In my case, I was trying to use AirPods and the connection was quite poor. By enabling bridging in Windows, they worked as expected in Mac OS and Windows after a reboot. I'll see if I can grab screen from Windows later today.

macOS has a tool called Bluetooth Explorer to open up options for the Wifi/BT stack.

See attached, I can't find a bridging option for some reason.
 

Attachments

  • Bluetooth Explorer.zip
    1.5 MB · Views: 41
Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
136
Motherboard
ASUS Sage WS II x299
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon 6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
macOS has a tool called Bluetooth Explorer to open up options for the Wifi/BT stack.

See attached, I can't find a bridging option for some reason.

Here we go, its actually called Bluetooth Collaboration. As I understand it, this setting enables all antennas to be used for Bluetooth when needed. You get to it through device manager and in the properties through the WIFI adapter. Im on the OSXWIFI Broadcom adapter. Screenshot attached.
 

Attachments

  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    450.1 KB · Views: 98
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here we go, its actually called Bluetooth Collaboration. As I understand it, this setting enables all antennas to be used for Bluetooth when needed. You get to it through device manager and in the properties through the WIFI adapter. Im on the OSXWIFI Broadcom adapter. Screenshot attached.

Ah ok, I just enabled that actually. Going to see if it does indeed make a difference under macOS. If it does it seems like it writes that setting to the firmware?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
136
Motherboard
ASUS Sage WS II x299
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon 6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ah ok, I just enabled that actually. Going to see if it does indeed make a difference under macOS. If it does it seems like it writes that setting to the firmware?

Thanks!

That's my best guess. It's been about 6months since I enabled it so there is definitely a chance I am remembering it incorrectly, but my AirPods do work perfectly now, as well as JBL speakers. And I just have the regular antennas provided by OSXWIFI. Seems like I have a good 15-20ft range.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's my best guess. It's been about 6months since I enabled it so there is definitely a chance I am remembering it incorrectly, but my AirPods do work perfectly now, as well as JBL speakers. And I just have the regular antennas provided by OSXWIFI. Seems like I have a good 15-20ft range.

I just tried my AirPods and it works between walls now after the setting change...will report back when I try Sony's and Bose's, which had terrible reception before.

Cool!
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
136
Motherboard
ASUS Sage WS II x299
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon 6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just tried my AirPods and it works between walls now after the setting change...will report back when I try Sony's and Bose's, which had terrible reception before.

Cool!

Yes, my dude! So happy. Hope it all works. Sorry I didn't chime in earlier.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
131
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z490-E Gaming
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
UHD 630 - RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi KGP, tomorrow I get the sapphire vega 64, I also ordered the source Corsair HX1200i 80 plus platinum.
I noticed that this sapphire has 3 pci-e connectors, as watts like this card.
I have also seen that, like the reference model, it has two bios, one with the stock speeds and the other that seems to lower the frequency to be fresher.
Can I put the bios soft?
With the power it offers, it's enough for me and if that way it drops a few degrees better.
What side is the bios switch to the soft mode?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top