Contribute
Register

iMac Pro X299 - Live the Future now with macOS 10.14 Mojave [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,778
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This adapter sleep & wake not work.

Well I don't know which adapter is that one but usually any internal to external USB cable does not prevent a macOS hackintosh system from sleep/wake. I am using this approach for years and it perfectly worked in my case without any exception also with the X299 Deluxe or X99-A II.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
730
Motherboard
X299-WU8
CPU
i9-9880XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Well I don't know which adapter is that one but usually any internal to external USB cable does not prevent a macOS hackintosh system from sleep/wake. I am using this approach for years and it perfectly worked in my case without any exception also with the X299 Deluxe or X99-A II.
X299-WU8 Sever Board Missing USB 2.0 Header
Thats why I used that
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,431
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Radeon Pro W5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It lives! :lol: Needed another fan splitter and a internal usb to external usb cable so won’t get those till Sunday but at least it’s working.

Will probably keep my setup like this until I move then will swap to full watercool.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0210.jpg
    IMG_0210.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 61
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
191
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@djlild7hina That looks great! Is OSX working properly already? Is your EFI folder published anywhere so I can take a look?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,431
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Radeon Pro W5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@djlild7hina That looks great! Is OSX working properly already? Is your EFI folder published anywhere so I can take a look?

Sorry for the bad pic, my room is a little crammed so can't really get a picture of it from the side. Also cable management in the back is bad since I don't have any zip ties.

I’ve been running Mac OS for about a year with x299 so this was just a case swap for whenever I decide to watercool. I was planning on waiting to get everything till after I move but gave in getting the 011 dynamic early :lol: The goal will be top and side 360 rad, cpu block and gpu blocks for both cards (RTX is just used for gaming and windows) and a front distrbution block with 3 fans on the bottom for intake. Might also switch everything to corsair LL fans but we'll see. First time watercooling so it'll be exciting :)

I've helped some users recently with the sage 10g boards so efi folders are somewhere recent in this thread or the high sierra thread but I uploaded the only things needed changed anyway. @kgp's guide is very detailed and will give you everything you need so major kudos and thanks to him!

Note: I didn't modify the 10g EEPROM to enable 10g. I'm just using the FakePCIID kexts for now. Will eventually get around to flashing it
 

Attachments

  • DJ7-Sage10GEFI.zip
    1.4 MB · Views: 40
  • IMG_0215.jpg
    IMG_0215.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 45
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 7, 2017
Messages
133
Motherboard
MSI H81M-P33
CPU
i5-4670
Graphics
GTX 750
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The first disappointing discovery independent from macOS was that this GPU for now apparently seems not compatible with UEFI. The BIOS enforced "CSM" by default otherwise the ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe system would not have booted at all."

To this first point, how you solved that?
1. Install macOS with only iGPU? (Radeon VII removed from the system.)
2. Put display cable (in my case: DisplayPort) to motherboard not the port at Radeon VII?
3. Or something more advance that I cannot understand?

AMD has provided a UEFI-compatible firmware update for the Radeon VII card.
The update procedure requires Windows to function, however.
 
Last edited:

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,198
@kgp, Titan Ridge seems to support DisplayPort 1.4, the RX 560 also has DP 1.4 which should be able to support 5K displays. I wonder if putting the RX560 as input to the Titan Ridge card would work fine with the LG UltraFine 5k, what do you think? My goal is to use the 560 until something better comes out.

The LG 5K2K let you set the Thunderbolt input to use DP 1.4.
Using a MacBook Pro (also Titan Ridge), this leads to a black screen; but I've read report that DP1.4 wasn't supported on the MBP.
However, I just got a Lenovo X1 extreme, which also has a Titan Ridge chipset; with the LG 5K2K connected via TB and the LG set to use DP1.4 I do get a picture; however it is slightly distorted, and I wonder if that because the TB cable that comes with the LG isn't shielded properly.
It would be great if it did work, it would allow to connect two LG2K screen to a Titan Ridge system (when using DP 1.4)
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
145
Motherboard
ASRock X299E-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Hi all,

Today I stumbled upon something which seems strange to me.
Vsync is not enabled on my hack but it should.

I have two screens connected by DisplayPort to the Vega56 and both support 60Hz refresh rate.

If I monitor the UI framerate with Quartz Debug (Xcode tool), it goes up to 120fps 200fps if I, for example, grab a safari windows and drag it around violently.

If I disconnect either one of the screens on my hack (hotplug), Vsync is active and the monitored fps in Quartz Debug only ramps up to 60. This is as expected.

I am using Lilu and Whatevergreen as otherwise I can only use one screen. I suspect my observation has something to do with WEG.

Anyone experienced this too?
Any feedback is highly welcome!


BTW: this may also contribute to coil-whine on some Vega cards as this gets worse with higher fps. Not a problem with my setup (and degraded hearing) but missing Vsync might be an issue for others.
 
Last edited:

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,778
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The LG 5K2K let you set the Thunderbolt input to use DP 1.4.
Using a MacBook Pro (also Titan Ridge), this leads to a black screen; but I've read report that DP1.4 wasn't supported on the MBP.
However, I just got a Lenovo X1 extreme, which also has a Titan Ridge chipset; with the LG 5K2K connected via TB and the LG set to use DP1.4 I do get a picture; however it is slightly distorted, and I wonder if that because the TB cable that comes with the LG isn't shielded properly.
It would be great if it did work, it would allow to connect two LG2K screen to a Titan Ridge system (when using DP 1.4)

Well I was using the LG 5K2K via TB of the GC-Titan Ridge on my X299 Deluxe with the monitor setting of DP1.4 for TB3 without major issues, although the monitor was implemented twice under macOS (persistent macOS bug I guess). With these settings, the monitor fully worked with native 5K resolution, even after removing one out of the two DP1.4 to mini-DP adapters between the GC-Titan Ridge and my Nitro+ Vega 64 (and in this case the LG 5K2K was only implemented as single monitor with 5K resolution under macOS). Thus, without any doubt one should be able to use 2x LG 5K2K at native 5K resolution via the 2x TB3 ports of the GC-Titan Ridge. However, I doubt that there is any real benefit in driving two 2x LG 5K2K displays via the two TB3 ports of a GC-Titan Ridge on a state-of-the-art Vega Hackintosh system, as even up to 3x LG 5K2K could be directly driven by the 3x DP1.4 ports of any standard Vega. In my personal opinion, the DP1.4 TB3 connection is only mandatory for connecting two different systems with the same LG 5K2K under native 5K resolution like in my case.


There are some compatibility issues between the LG 5K2K/GC-Titan Ridge/Vega 64/X299 Deluxe during system cold boot though (independent from using Windows or macOS), i.e black screen during BIOS splash screen, Clover boot manager, verbose boot message, while during a warm boot (system reboot or system reset) everything works fine once properly initialised under macOS or Windows. The system wake issue under macOS with TB devices connected to the GC-Titan Ridge on the X299 Deluxe during sleep also states for the LG 5K2K, when driving the latter via one of the two TB3 ports of the GC-Titan Ridge.

My upcoming tests with the WS Sage 10G should show if the remaining GC-Titan Ridge problems can be entirely removed by using the latter motherboard.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,431
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Radeon Pro W5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It didn't for me when I tried on Z390, but it's worth a test :)

I got my last fan splitter and those internal usb to usb 2 adapters and so far so good :). Gotta return the internal usb 3 hub now.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top