Contribute
Register

iMac Pro X299 - Live the Future now with macOS 10.14 Mojave [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,780
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I wonder if anyone can use the firmware I just dumped to flash that Asus NIC with the same chipset...so we can finally get rid of the High Sierra work around :wave:

Yea that might help indeed.

Anyway, all recent findings are now implemented in all my X99 and X299 guidelines.
390501
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
99
Motherboard
ASRock X299M Extreme 4
CPU
i9 7920X
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@franksanderdo @kgp (might be interesting to add it to your guide for people with a similar board),

I don't know if you can give me some more tips, but I fixed the sleep issue :)

Here is what I did:
i did some small investigation and used the following command, which showed me after my last sleep try the following:
Code:
log show --style syslog | fgrep "Wake reason"


Code:
2019-03-01 17:33:07.188870+0100  localhost powerd[57]: [powerd:sleepWake] Wake reason: "<private>"  identity: "<private>"
2019-03-01 17:33:13.323777+0100  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: GBE1
2019-03-01 17:33:13.323778+0100  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) AppleACPIPlatformPower Wake reason: GBE1
2019-03-01 17:33:27.802501+0100  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleTopCaseHIDEventDriver) [HID] [ATC] AppleDeviceManagementHIDEventService::processWakeReason Wake reason: Host (0x01)

by reading this I noticed one thing. GBE1 sounds extremely like something related to the Ethernet port.
As I have WakeOnLan disabled, I was investigating further and noticed that beside XHCI, on the same level PCI0 has GBE1.

so I added a clover patch which renamed GBE1 -> ETH0.
and it works. my system is going totally fine to sleep now :)

Thank you a lot for all your help. without all your hint's I would not have ended up with these settings.
I will test the system now for the weekend, and if it works flawless, I would share my SSDTs and EFI Folder that people with the same board, do not struggle with the issues I had now for nearly a month.


last thing i notice is that my magic trackpad is not waking up my pc. i can use the keyboard or my G903 wiresless mouse, but not my magic trackpad 2. Any idea here? ^^
Hi @Tepoo

good to know you got sleep/wake working. The idea with the syslog was very good!! :thumbup:
If you are happy with the system as it is, then we are done ;)
Did fixe the mixture of closer config patches and SSDTs that @kgp has pointed out?

Have fun and enjoy
Frank
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2017
Messages
133
Motherboard
MSI H81M-P33
CPU
i5-4670
Graphics
GTX 750
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Which post? Must have missed it.

The thread referenced is at another forum:
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,306
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
I wonder if anyone can use the firmware I just dumped to flash that Asus NIC with the same chipset...so we can finally get rid of the High Sierra work around :wave:

Well, all most folks have to do is purchase a Syba card, and no High Sierra workaround required....no 10.13.3, no kext, no patching (of any kind), just plug and play.....I'm using it right now, and I can boot into Windows, Mac and Linux, and they all work (windows did require a driver update, but in the Mac and in Linux (Mint), I installed nothing....no drivers, no kext, no nothing.....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,306
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
The thread referenced is at another forum:

That thread is on Insanelymac, and this thread is here on TonyMac: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/high-sierra-native-support-for-10gb-ethernet.239690/
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2017
Messages
133
Motherboard
MSI H81M-P33
CPU
i5-4670
Graphics
GTX 750
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well, all most folks have to do is purchase a Syba card, and no High Sierra workaround required....no 10.13.3, no kext, no patching (of any kind), just plug and play.....I'm using it right now, and I can boot into Windows, Mac and Linux, and they all work (windows did require a driver update, but in the Mac and in Linux (Mint), I installed nothing....no drivers, no kext, no nothing.....
Except for the pricing difference: the Syba card is currently ~$20 to $30 more expensive than the Aquantia branded 10G card at Amazon.
Note: the Syba card has the factory firmware v. 3.0.33, where the Aquantia card has the 3.1.30 factory firmware.
Both cards can work in macOS & Windows.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,306
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Except for the pricing difference: the Syba card is currently ~$20 to $30 more expensive than the Aquantia branded 10G card at Amazon.
Note: the Syba card has the factory firmware v. 3.0.33, where the Aquantia card has the 3.1.30 factory firmware.
Both cards can work in macOS & Windows.

Fine, ok, if you say so, but I did say "most" folks....and prices go up and down depending. I got the Syba for a little under $99, but now it's a bit more....price will go down again, I'm fairly sure.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,668
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, all most folks have to do is purchase a Syba card, and no High Sierra workaround required....no 10.13.3, no kext, no patching (of any kind), just plug and play.....I'm using it right now, and I can boot into Windows, Mac and Linux, and they all work (windows did require a driver update, but in the Mac and in Linux (Mint), I installed nothing....no drivers, no kext, no nothing.....

I'm not sure why you're being defensive as if you've discovered the nuclear bomb? :lol:

The bigger our list from users who confirm parts working, the better for the community. :beachball:

Anyway, it would be nice if someone figured out how to use the onboard 5G NIC on the Prime Deluxe II. Aquantia AQC111C 5G LAN so anyone getting these kinds of motherboards, don't have to buy a 10G NIC cards and have a "cleaner" system.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,668
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The thread referenced is at another forum:

Yeah I've seen that thread, I just didn't see this "gaming" version of the card being mentioned there. If you look at the some details, it's different than the one from that thread.

Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1d6a
Subsystem ID: 0x8001
Revision ID: 0x0002



390597
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top