Asus Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone.
I'm a digital artist who works in motion graphics industry for the last 10 years. I was in love with OS X at first sight and as soon as I could I became a proudly owner of a 2011 Mac Mini i5. But as the technology advances, it does not meet my needs anymore. After some days researching, I have decided to build my own Customac, but I'm pretty newbie to all this hardware environment and need a little guidance through it.
My idea is to build the faster and powerful machine possible to render 3d mainly, also use a few design/animation adobe programs. I'm so unsure if this hardware can be running OS X at full performance without any issue, bugs, etc.
At first, excuse my inexperience at this subject, and I would appreciate any help, suggestion, advice, anything to clear things up.
So here it is my weapons of choice:

mobo: ASUS MAXIMUS VIII RANGER or GIGABYTE LGA 1151 GA-Z170
cpu: i7-6700k or i7-6800k
graphics: GIGABYTE GEFORCE GTX 980Ti
ram: CRUCIAL BALLISTIX SPORT LT 4x16GB DDR4 2400 MHZ (64GB TOTAL)
ssd: SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
power: CORSAIR 860W AX860i
hdd or extra ssd: ???
cooling: ???
wifi: ???
bluetooth: ???

The ???'s are the ones which I have no idea or didn't find any information about compatibility, would appreciate any recommendation.
Does it all work fine together running OS X? Which is the best option? What would be better options to choose instead of these I listed here?
Thanks in advance,

Last edited:
@beltra you definitely want to go with a Z170 chipset build and an I7-6700K.
If you copy the following Maximus 8 Hero build you'll have the best chance at success and a lot of good support. You can still go with the Gigabyte 980 Ti instead of the GTX 980 if you'd like. Makes no difference.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...og-maximus-viii-hero-i7-6700k-gtx-980.197284/