i7-4930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - 32GB RAM - GTX 770 4GB [Success!!]

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by shilohh, Apr 19, 2014.

  1. geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 3, 2017 at 2:53 AM #2561
    geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I know that the R4E has 4 x PCIe slots. Do you know if it is possible to setup more than 2 GPUs? Specifically I am thinking about trying to put in an AMD R9 280x as primary card for dual monitors because it seems FCPx likes AMD more. Then I was thinking about putting two GTX 760s in as well to get added boost for my other apps that like Nvidia. Is it even possible to mix and match GPUs? And to have 3?
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2017
  2. fliptvjm

    fliptvjm

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU:
    i7-4930K
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE GV-N970G1 GAMING-4GD GeForce GTX 970 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jan 3, 2017 at 3:05 AM #2562
    fliptvjm

    fliptvjm

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU:
    i7-4930K
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE GV-N970G1 GAMING-4GD GeForce GTX 970 4GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hey Shilohh,

    Followed your guide and it worked just fine for me all the way up to El Capitan. Recently reinstalled for Sierra and the installation worked fine for the most part.The only thing is that the network won't work, I'm connected and all however when I try to load a webpage Safari just stop at about 1/4 the way when loading and that's it, nothing happens. I'm unable to log into iCloud services or anything internet based. Any advice?
     
  3. geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 4, 2017 at 3:39 PM #2563
    geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So after several days of testing my new setup, I have noticed some weird ticks. The first is an issue where the system becomes unresponsive after screensaver or sleep. It seems to take a few moments for the mouse to come back to life. The second issue is that sometimes my email seems to lock the system up and make things unresponsive. Similar to the sleep issue where the mouse doesn't work and then everything catches up. Like a lag where if I had right clicked a few times or tried moving a window around nothing would happen. Then you would see that window move around super fast and several popups from my right clicking, etc. Like all of the actions I took would catch up. Sorry if I didn't explain that very well.

    Does anyone know how I can troubleshoot this? Anything to check in console or log files? Could this be a memory issue? This has actually happened on both of my SSDs (cloned full bootable backup).

    Thanks.
     
  4. neofusion

    neofusion

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition (Clover v3974)
    CPU:
    4820K @ 4.3GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Superclocked ACX 3GB (03G-P4-2884-KR)
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Jan 4, 2017 at 7:21 PM #2564
    neofusion

    neofusion

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition (Clover v3974)
    CPU:
    4820K @ 4.3GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Superclocked ACX 3GB (03G-P4-2884-KR)
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Maybe you will have more luck asking this specific question in the Graphics forum. :/

    I'd say that anything in the log from the approximate time when these hick-ups occur would be potentially interesting. I guess memory can cause all sorts of issues but my experience is that memory issues typically result in crashes in the end.

    I will be making a new attempt to install Sierra soon since I have a few leads on possible causes for the issues I experienced. If I have similar freezes I'll be sure to post about them here.
     
  5. geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 5, 2017 at 1:41 AM #2565
    geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So I installed a second GTX 760 and added SSDT-4. It does show up in System Settings and also in my 3D app. However, it doesn't show up in About This Mac. Not sure if it would've shown the increase MB size or what not.

    Uningine Heaven had pretty much zero change in benchmark. Cinebench had only a marginal increase. LuxMark had double the score.

    Am I missing something?
     
  6. neofusion

    neofusion

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition (Clover v3974)
    CPU:
    4820K @ 4.3GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Superclocked ACX 3GB (03G-P4-2884-KR)
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Jan 5, 2017 at 2:07 PM #2566
    neofusion

    neofusion

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition (Clover v3974)
    CPU:
    4820K @ 4.3GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Superclocked ACX 3GB (03G-P4-2884-KR)
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    The processing power of the GPUs are not automatically pooled like that on a mac. How you benefit from multiple GPUs is instead dependent on the application you use. Some might let you pick which GPU to favour, some might let you run multiple computing jobs dispersed on different GPUs for a speedup but again, it all depends on the application in question.

    I think you are most likely to see CUDA or OpenCL applications benefitting from extra GPUs. That is also supported by your own measurements in LuxMark.


    You can see some examples of benchmarking in this (now somewhat old) Barefeats article:
    http://barefeats.com/gpu680v6.html
     
  7. geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 6, 2017 at 1:18 AM #2567
    geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey neofusion,

    So I experienced that freezing issue again. Here is the output from system.log (I x'd out my full computer name so ignore that)

    Code (Text):

    Jan  5 20:09:43 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:09:48 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.imfoundation.IMRemoteURLConnectionAgent): Unknown key for integer: _DirtyJetsamMemoryLimit
    Jan  5 20:09:53 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:09:57 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.ReportCrash[2982]): Endpoint has been activated through legacy launch(3) APIs. Please switch to XPC or bootstrap_check_in(): com.apple.ReportCrash
    Jan  5 20:10:03 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:10:33 --- last message repeated 2 times ---
    Jan  5 20:10:33 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:11:03 --- last message repeated 2 times ---
    Jan  5 20:11:03 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:11:33 --- last message repeated 2 times ---
    Jan  5 20:11:33 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:12:03 --- last message repeated 2 times ---
    Jan  5 20:12:03 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:12:33 --- last message repeated 2 times ---
    Jan  5 20:12:33 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:13:03 --- last message repeated 2 times ---
    Jan  5 20:13:03 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:13:17 --- last message repeated 1 time ---
    Jan  5 20:13:17 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro spindump[439]: BUG in libdispatch client: kevent[EVFILT_MACHPORT] monitored resource vanished before the source cancel handler was invoked
    Jan  5 20:13:23 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:13:32 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro mediaanalysisd[2976]: BUG in libdispatch client: kevent[EVFILT_MACHPORT] monitored resource vanished before the source cancel handler was invoked
    Jan  5 20:13:32 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro Dock[283]: BUG in libdispatch client: kevent[EVFILT_MACHPORT] add: "No such file or directory" - 0x2
    Jan  5 20:13:33 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:13:34 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.imfoundation.IMRemoteURLConnectionAgent): Unknown key for integer: _DirtyJetsamMemoryLimit
    Jan  5 20:13:44 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:13:44 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro diagnosticd[243]: System mode client started - Console (3011) - mode: 0x8
    Jan  5 20:13:54 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
    Jan  5 20:13:58 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro Console[3011]: BUG in libdispatch client: kevent[EVFILT_MACHPORT] monitored resource vanished before the source cancel handler was invoked
    Jan  5 20:14:04 xxxxxx-Mac-Pro com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.nowplayingtouchui): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds.
     
  8. neofusion

    neofusion

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition (Clover v3974)
    CPU:
    4820K @ 4.3GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Superclocked ACX 3GB (03G-P4-2884-KR)
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Jan 6, 2017 at 3:41 AM #2568
    neofusion

    neofusion

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition (Clover v3974)
    CPU:
    4820K @ 4.3GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Superclocked ACX 3GB (03G-P4-2884-KR)
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Nothing there stands out to me sadly.
     
  9. geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 6, 2017 at 5:09 AM #2569
    geminii

    geminii

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mobo:
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    Core i7-3970X
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Darn. Do you think it could be memory issue? My ram is't the best. Corsair Dominator and only 1333 mhz.
     
  10. neofusion

    neofusion

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition (Clover v3974)
    CPU:
    4820K @ 4.3GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Superclocked ACX 3GB (03G-P4-2884-KR)
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Jan 6, 2017 at 1:19 PM #2570
    neofusion

    neofusion

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition (Clover v3974)
    CPU:
    4820K @ 4.3GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Superclocked ACX 3GB (03G-P4-2884-KR)
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    I guess... but I'm really just grasping at straws. :(

    Edit:
    Did you add the memory recently? If not, you ought to have been experiencing issues earlier as well, before you switched to Sierra.

    In either case you should test your memory for faults if you suspect it might be a cause to your issues.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2017

Share This Page