Contribute
Register

i7-4930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - 32GB RAM - GTX 770 4GB [Success!!]

Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
I9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon RX 590 8GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I followed this guide after finish I can boot to macOS but my audio are missing. I just use audio_CloverALC-master.zip you can find from first post of this thread.

0. Run latest version of Clover from sourceforge after completed EFI partition will auto mount (I can't use Mount OS EFI.app cause permission denied)
1. Extract audio_CloverALC-master.zip and go to audio_CloverALC-master folder then double click audio_cloverALC-120.command.zip you'll get audio_cloverALC-120_v1.0b0.command file.
2. Double click audio_cloverALC-120_v1.0b0.command
3. Password:
4. Confirm Codec ALCxxx: (885, 887, 888, 889, 892, 898, 1150 only)
5. Clover/Legacy: answer y to Confirm Clover Legacy Install (y/n)
6. Clover Audio ID Injection (y/n):
7. Use Audio ID: x (y/n):
8. Terminal will ask for some file need to override: y
9. restart

I get black screen two time I try to restart again it's work.
but when I restart next time the problem is come back.

Hey Link, I followed your post, it worked like a charm after I figured out my password.
Thanks,
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
439
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-G GAMING (WI-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am using the onboard wifi on the R4 Black Edition. I recently switched my Inateck 7 port card for a 4 port Inateck (2 on back an 2 at the header for the case) because 4 port Inatecks have no built in hubs. The hubs were creating some issues with sleep.
I ordered a 4 port Inateck like yours but that did´nt solve my problem.

So today i bought a second hand Asus U3S6 (very cheap)(23 usd)

https://www.asus.com/Motherboard-Accessory/U3S6/

And now problem is solved :)

And i got 2 more Sata 6GBs ports :thumbup:
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Extreme
CPU
i7-3930k
Graphics
GTX 580 3 gigs
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just wanted to say Thank you so much shilohh!! and to all other contributors to this guide!

I tried for days following the basic, for some reason I could not find this thread when searching for "Asus Rampage IV"

I am happy to say that I got my system up and running with a direct install of macOS Sierra and it is 99.999999999% working

the only issue that I have is I can not seem to have both of my MSI GTX 780 Lightning's connected simultaneously, the boot crashes and I get a kernel panic

It's ok, just a bummer, I simply used the PCI_X16 lane switch to shut off the second card, I hope to be able get a dual boot Win10pro config going after I find the information to achieve that, but I think I am just going to revel in my delight for the time being.

Hello,
I have the same hardware as you, did you get speed step to work? Also, what Bios version are you using and are you overclocking?

Many thanks in advance!
Miro
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Edition 30
CPU
I9-7900X
Graphics
GTX 1080 / Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,
I have the same hardware as you, did you get speed step to work? Also, what Bios version are you using and are you overclocking?

Many thanks in advance!
Miro

BIOS version 4901, yes my system is overclocked to 4.8ghz/1.495v which is very stable in Windows 10, but i have not gotten macOS to accept the overclock, in fact i was JUST trying the method in this thread

( https://rossfisher.me/2016/01/how-t...s-x-or-how-my-hackintosh-runs-a-2500k-4-8ghz/ )

but all versions of Clover Configurator are crashing when loading my config.plist on all my systems including my legit mini and i am not sure how to manually do what CC does in that step, i also still have my system as Mac Pro 6,1 so I am not sure if that is also stopping it from working, Im not sure i understand how to change that either specifically in relation to this system without breaking everything from shilohh's Guide

Nor have I figured out yet how to get both my Graphics cards installed and be able to boot my system, one boots just fine but both gives me a kernel panic

I did all the steps to activate USB3 as well, and while they do appear to work, they seem to be only running at USB2 speed, even the USB3.1 Asus pcie add-in card that came with my new Rampage V Extreme on my new windows system works in this one but again at USB2 speeds, I have also noticed that since i tried activating USB3 both my Logitech wireless mice (performance MX and G602 Gaming) stutter significantly, its not impossible to use them but it is violently annoying

So I do apologize but it seems I won't be of any help to you, I am a Newb for sure lol
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Edition 30
CPU
I9-7900X
Graphics
GTX 1080 / Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
if you are still having the gpu issues try this driver its the K5000 mac driver

http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/107807/en-us

that is the driver i am using

I think it has something to do with the MSI lightning 780's in general other than GPU itself these cards are built drastically differently than other 780's, from what ive researched 780's should be UEFI capable cards? but these are not so i can't turn CSM off

I see a possibility this guide could use a resfresh, there are parts that seem outdated, especially concerning macOS Sierra and the latest clover versions and new methods concerning boot args for graphics cards, and guides that say to use Clover Configurator don't help as the config file that shilohh provides crashes the last 3 released versions of CC because it is looking for a default Clover installation generated plist format, also the Over Clocking ability in Sierra on a fresh non updated install seems to be broken, at least for me it is, again some tools like RunAICPUPMI do not work for me, it kicks out "The command exited with a non-zero status." and using the provided 3930k SSDT and config file alone do not activate it, i tried shilohh's speedstep guide but i ran into problems along the way as mentioned

EDIT:
Well for the heck of it i built an install using OS X 10.11.6 and i did EVERYTHING from scratch, and what do you know i can boot with both graphics cards in, i copied the EFI folder from the 10.11.6 SSD and replaced the one on the 10.12 disk and booted Sierra with both as well, i have no idea what made the difference, if it is correct in the system profiler the card BIOS's do not match, anyone know if they can be updated from windows?

2nd EDIT
Well I updated the Graphics cards BIOS with the Hybrid one that enables UEFI, the cards are slightly different as as the BIOS number is the same however the flashing utility for one of the cards has a lower version number and the newer utility one can not be used on the other card without possibly bricking the card.

I was then able to boot Sierra with both cards active without or without CSM, however when CSM is disabled Audio simply will not come through the HDMI even though the macOS audio options are there, simply booting with CSM enabled gives me my audio back

I am soooo Close to having the perfect Hackintosh for me, Thanks again to everyone who contributed to this along the way and to those who specifically lent help to me
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Edition 30
CPU
I9-7900X
Graphics
GTX 1080 / Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was able to get speed step working and now i have a 4.7ghz Hack!!!!!

With Sierra the only two things I needed was to create my own CPU SSDT (set at 5000mhz) and i used the 10.12 clover kext patches from this thread
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/to...ge-e-ivy-bridge-e-power-management-1012-beta/

I did not realize that shilohh had already included the rest that was necessary for it to work so i tried following his speed step guide but when i installed the X79X86PlatformPlugin.kext i got a Kernel Panic and didn't realize why, but when booting from my other macOS install to remove the changes i made i simply deleted that kext and left the clover patches and low and behold it started working!!

21,514 in geekbench 4, 1174 in cinebench

47 with a 1.4 vcore in BIOS

idle temp of the cpu is average of 40c and under full load during and h265 video encode was 70c with my water cooler, i may back things down a bit to save my CPU but it works! it finally works!!

EDIT
The Ghz seem to be very jumpy even when the machine is idle, i remember seeing something about this but i have read so many post in so many threads I can't seem to locate it even with search, is that normal behavior?
is that why my temps are still pretty high?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
109
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4
CPU
5960x @ 4.2
Graphics
2 x 980TI
Hi Shilohh,

Trying to dial in my speedstepping on my x79-up4 with a 4930k on Sierra. Seems like everything else is working quite nicely, except speedstepping. Am I understanding correctly that if I take your SSDT-9 file that is for the 4930k? And I see you've overclocked higher than I wanted to but it sounded like, in your speedstepping guide, that it will not clock higher than what is set in the bios. Is that correct? I'm a total noob to the SSDT file. I've been ok with all of my builds only having a few steps, I forget the kexts that even forced that, but it appears that not an option any more in Sierra?

EDIT: I did put your SDST-9 in my patched folder, not sure if this is what caused what I'm seeing or not, but what I'm seeing now is beautiful speedstepping about 20 seconds after boot that lasts about 20 seconds, and then pins the top frequency. Thoughts? It's like something else is loading that should be after.

Thanks for all your work.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
10.7
CPU
3.06 core 2 duo
Graphics
ati radeon hd 4670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
image.jpeg I'm trying to up date my desktop to Sierra and getting stuck at an evoreboot kp. I have the original MK500s build
3930k cpu
6970 amd graphic card
R4E mother board
The main reason I'm updating from Mavericks is that I have Nvida 1070 sitting on the floor next to my desktop.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
274
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
CPU
Core i7-3970X
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4Gb
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Shilohh,

Trying to dial in my speedstepping on my x79-up4 with a 4930k on Sierra. Seems like everything else is working quite nicely, except speedstepping. Am I understanding correctly that if I take your SSDT-9 file that is for the 4930k? And I see you've overclocked higher than I wanted to but it sounded like, in your speedstepping guide, that it will not clock higher than what is set in the bios. Is that correct? I'm a total noob to the SSDT file. I've been ok with all of my builds only having a few steps, I forget the kexts that even forced that, but it appears that not an option any more in Sierra?

EDIT: I did put your SDST-9 in my patched folder, not sure if this is what caused what I'm seeing or not, but what I'm seeing now is beautiful speedstepping about 20 seconds after boot that lasts about 20 seconds, and then pins the top frequency. Thoughts? It's like something else is loading that should be after.

Thanks for all your work.

Hi Shilohh,

Looks like I need to upgrade my system...again. With the new release of FCPX 10.3 I am being forced out of Yosemite if I want to use it - which I certainly do.

Do you know if I would be able to simply upgrade from the El Capitan Installer directly (downloaded from App store)? This is a Clover install but I don't think I have the latest. Currently my FaceTime and iMessage don't work and there is some issue with Keychain, but I have given up on trying to fix it at this point. Happy to just have my email, all my other apps, iTunes and the App store working at this point.

Thanks.
 
Top