Contribute
Register

i7 3930K LGA 2011 Processor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550I AORUS PRO AX
CPU
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Graphics
Asus Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
nice, so the install starts without any conflicts??? ;D
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
22
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
there were some...

will try to update that forum later or you can translate from polish ;-)
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
21
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iStigPL said:
there were some...

will try to update that forum later or you can translate from polish

I'm part Polish, but never learned it. ;-) I'll be going through this same thing in a few more days when my parts arrive. I look forward to hear about whatever bumps you ran into.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
22
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
small world ;-)

there is a lot of work to do: now using only one core, problem with graphics, power management etc...
but it's nice that it runs in some way... :-D
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
21
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iStigPL said:
there is a lot of work to do: now using only one core, problem with graphics, power management etc...

Well that's not promising. Have you installed Lion on it, or is it still running Snow Leopard.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
22
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I tried both and was able to start from hdd using chameleon. Flag cpus=1 was needed, and 9800gt - with 6870 were problems. Nullcpupowermanagement was also necessary - patched AICPUPM not helped. I also tried voodootscsync instead of cpus=1 and system was starting, but was too slow to work.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
21
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iStigPL said:
I tried both and was able to start from hdd using chameleon. Flag cpus=1 was needed, and 9800gt - with 6870 were problems.

Interesting. Did you try with a single video card? I'm planning to use my Mac version of the nVidia Quadro 4K, which I know works in Lion. So I'm not expecting video issues.

The CPU flag has me concerned though...
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
99
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. iMac
  3. LC
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
  6. Quadra
  7. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mate94 said:
but who is that idiot who buy something with any experience?

Both not polite AND not thinking.

All of us here, to one extent or another are doing and testing things that are beyond our experience. If we were not, we would only have actual Macs, or Windows boxes, setup by someone else.

WE are the people who are learning; maybe sometimes triping in the dark, othertimes running in the light of new discovery.

As with all things in life, someone has to be first. If some of us don't buy and try some hardware that has not been used/tested before then NONE of us would have ANY information about what parts/combinations are known to work or not work.

Rx4Mac
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
21
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iStigPL said:
Flag cpus=1 was needed

According to my sources, that flag only tells OS X that it has one processor vs. one core. I'm still not sure why you needed it, other than perhaps OS X was hunting around for a second processor for some reason and causing the lag time in boot.

My Gigabyte motherboard arrives today; everything else is sitting on my kitchen counter waiting for it. As soon as I get it assembled and running, I'll report back here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top