I have decided to hack eMac's CRT (To work with any standard motherboard)

Discussion in 'iMac Mods' started by patriciooholegu, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    575
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 30, 2017 at 2:26 AM #51
    AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    575
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You guys are awesome, great work!
     
  2. patriciooholegu

    patriciooholegu

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Asrock H81m-vg4 r2.0
    CPU:
    Intel Celeron 1820
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    eMac
    Jan 30, 2017 at 12:07 PM #52
    patriciooholegu

    patriciooholegu

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Asrock H81m-vg4 r2.0
    CPU:
    Intel Celeron 1820
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    eMac
    Thanks dude. I have heard that a few US schools STILL have rooms full of the eMac as a dead weight. It will be a interesting "Science Project" to hack this lovely machine for being used again (But don't think that will happen: Imagine the teacher saying "Oh, and don't touch the CRT: You will be electroshocked until carbonization")
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2017
  3. Rockyill

    Rockyill

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Feb 5, 2017 at 1:15 AM #53
    Rockyill

    Rockyill

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks,
    just having fun!
     
  4. Jmarmack

    Jmarmack

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    May 1, 2017 at 10:28 AM #54
    Jmarmack

    Jmarmack

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    I love what you've done here Rocky and have begun to also do something similar (Albeit with a Dreamcast). I have run into a little issue though and was hoping you'd be able to help.

    Following the pinout guide on Headless Mac I have pinned my own VGA connector but left some of the wires attached to the original plug (I2C) which is still connected to the mainboard which I was hoping would still init the CRT but unfortunately does not.

    Yellow = Still connected to the main motherboard header.
    Red = pinned into my VGA connector which is connected to a Dreamcast.

    [​IMG]

    Any idea as to why the CRT is not initializing? The system itself powers on.

    Thanks in advance.

    [EDIT]

    Further thoughts - The monitor is initiated via the mainboard during standard boot but it's possible that the system has detected that the VGA is no longer connected and in turn is not sending the initiate signal.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2017
  5. patriciooholegu

    patriciooholegu

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Asrock H81m-vg4 r2.0
    CPU:
    Intel Celeron 1820
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    eMac
    Oct 24, 2017 at 12:02 AM #55
    patriciooholegu

    patriciooholegu

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Asrock H81m-vg4 r2.0
    CPU:
    Intel Celeron 1820
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    eMac
    Today, the eMac CRT showed EL Capitan, sharp clear and beautiful, for the first time in history (And i´m not able to upload the picture from my smartphone).
    The original logic board is on a side of this room, on the floor (No need for it anymore).
    The setup runs a Mini-Itx mobo Asrock H81M-VG4 r2.0, 8gb ram, Celeron 1820 processor (Can´t pay much more, sorry), and dedicated Pci- express Ati graphics Card, all of this well fitted inside the eMac Chasis.
    I promise pictures, videos and tutorial for this.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2017
  6. AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    575
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 24, 2017 at 4:19 AM #56
    AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    575
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    thats awesome!! cant wait to see pics!
     
  7. patriciooholegu

    patriciooholegu

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Asrock H81m-vg4 r2.0
    CPU:
    Intel Celeron 1820
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    eMac
    Oct 24, 2017 at 2:16 PM #57
    patriciooholegu

    patriciooholegu

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Asrock H81m-vg4 r2.0
    CPU:
    Intel Celeron 1820
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    eMac
    Rockyill, after a few months i have time in my hands for this project.
    The sketch you provided worked like a Charm and after a very successfull approach yesterday, I'm with the soldering iron in my hand and i have a question for you: Do you know what happen if Arduino nano are powered by 5v trough Vin pin (And ground, of course) using a standard atx Psu, instead of mini-usb? (My concern is mostly because of the high amp load carrying trough that 5v line. The arduino will take ONLY the amp needed or will burn to the hell?). What do you think?

    Answering the question myself: After a google research about the topic, seems to be just fine to use 5v and ground from a ATX PSU to powerup the arduino Nano trough Vin pin. The device will grabb only the few miliamps needed.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2017
  8. patriciooholegu

    patriciooholegu

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Asrock H81m-vg4 r2.0
    CPU:
    Intel Celeron 1820
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    eMac
    Nov 3, 2017 at 1:23 PM #58
    patriciooholegu

    patriciooholegu

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Asrock H81m-vg4 r2.0
    CPU:
    Intel Celeron 1820
    Graphics:
    Ati HD5570
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    eMac
    My hackintosh before putting the white cover:


    Working on updates:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 3, 2017
  9. konp

    konp

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Jan 9, 2018 at 5:45 AM #59
    konp

    konp

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Hey man, just wondering, did you make any progress integrating the EDID spoof code into the lvad board initialisation code, so that only one arduino is needed instead of two?

    I've got an emac sitting in the back room and have basically been waiting for a project like this to come along.
     

Share This Page