Contribute
Register

I can't install Monterey because my SSD doesn't want to mount in the installer

Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
16
Motherboard
Acer Veriton S6620G
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 550
Hello, i recently tried installing macOS Monterey on my Tower PC with a AMD Lexa GPU, patched with SSDT-GPU-SPOOF.
When i boot into the installer and go onto Disk Utility, two of three of my disk mount, but not my SSD (where i want to install macOS.)
I tried to mount it but it gives me an error:
"Cannot mount disk (com.apple.diskmanager.disenter error 49794)"
I have tried everything, from changing EFI's for older SATA Controllers, my BIOS is all ok, even tried disconnecting some drives to see if the SSD mounted without them. Nothing. I hope you could help me ASAP, down below are attached my EFI folder and config.plist.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    31.4 KB · Views: 5
  • EFI.rar
    2.1 MB · Views: 8
Joined
Mar 2, 2014
Messages
1,669
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
16
Motherboard
Acer Veriton S6620G
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 550
Sorry, my Hackintosh's Recommended Applications don't include UnRAR. Can you re-upload your EFI folder as a Zip file instead of an RAR file? Thanks.
You're right, sorry, here below my EFI folder in ZIP format:
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    3.9 MB · Views: 6
Joined
Mar 2, 2014
Messages
1,669
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
According to the OpenCore Install Guide for Ivy Bridge CPUs, (scroll to top of page) your EFI/OC/ACPI folder and your config.plist/ACPI/Add items do not correspond to their guide. You need to read the Guide and try to abide by it as much as possible. Please upload a corrected EFI folder after you do that.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
16
Motherboard
Acer Veriton S6620G
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 550
According to the OpenCore Install Guide for Ivy Bridge CPUs, (scroll to top of page) your EFI/OC/ACPI folder and your config.plist/ACPI/Add items do not correspond to their guide. You need to read the Guide and try to abide by it as much as possible. Please upload a corrected EFI folder after you do that.
If you're talking about the SSDT-GPU-SPOOF ACPI that i added that was not in the guide, i still need it because then my GPU wont work (i remember you i have a Lexa Core GPU from AMD).
I will still try to remove the SSDT and abide with the guide as much as possible, i didn't try booting without the SSDT but i will still try since i have the "-radcodec" argument on my bootargs.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2014
Messages
1,669
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
If you're talking about the SSDT-GPU-SPOOF ACPI that i added that was not in the guide, i still need it because then my GPU wont work (i remember you i have a Lexa Core GPU from AMD).
Nope, I was writing about the mismatch between your EFI/OC/ACPI files and those recommended by the OpenCore Guide, which you can see by looking at the linked website. You have SSDT-EC-Desktop.aml, SSDT-GPU-SPOOF.aml, and SSDT-IMEI.aml. The Guide says you need SSDT-PLUG.aml, but you don't have that. Also, the files are dated later than the official release date of 11/7/2022. Those might be nightly builds; maybe okay, maybe not.

Other comments:
1. In config.plist/Kernel/Add, the Lilu item (presently in item 1) needs to be above IntelMausi, in fact needs to be at item 0, as good practice.
2. Not sure that USBToolbox.kext does anything without USBMap.kext also present in EFI/OC/Kexts (and also listed here).
3. Not sure that AHCIPortInjector.kext works with Monterey. You should check on that.

Otherwise, your EFI folder looks good to me. Good luck!
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
16
Motherboard
Acer Veriton S6620G
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 550
Nope, I was writing about the mismatch between your EFI/OC/ACPI files and those recommended by the OpenCore Guide, which you can see by looking at the linked website. You have SSDT-EC-Desktop.aml, SSDT-GPU-SPOOF.aml, and SSDT-IMEI.aml. The Guide says you need SSDT-PLUG.aml, but you don't have that. Also, the files are dated later than the official release date of 11/7/2022. Those might be nightly builds; maybe okay, maybe not.

Other comments:
1. In config.plist/Kernel/Add, the Lilu item (presently in item 1) needs to be above IntelMausi, in fact needs to be at item 0, as good practice.
2. Not sure that USBToolbox.kext does anything without USBMap.kext also present in EFI/OC/Kexts (and also listed here).
3. Not sure that AHCIPortInjector.kext works with Monterey. You should check on that.

Otherwise, your EFI folder looks good to me. Good luck!
Hello there, i've just fixed everything you said but it still doesn't work :(
I've put Lilu item above IntelMausi, deleted the USBToolbox.kext for now since my USB in the installer work fine, with or without the kext (i'll map it later)
As far as i know i dont think AHCIPortInjector.kext works with Monterey, i installed it because it was for really old SATA controllers, so in disperation i tried it, i deleted it but in the installer the disk still doesn't mount and it still gives me the same exact error.
By the way, the fact that my ACPI files are dated later than the release is because that is the download date, my browser saves the date as when i downloaded it and not when they made it, as far as i know no, they're not nightly builds.
As i said in the other post, i even tried booting it without SSDT-GPU-SPOOF ACPI, macOS boots since i have the -radcodec bootarg, but the disk still doesn't mount.
Im at a loss here honestly, i don't know what the problem is, it even could be the USB? I'll try to copy every file to another one but it doesn't seem that the error is the USB.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
8,466
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.8.0
CPU
i5-10600k
Graphics
Dell RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This one is a tricky one ...

Although you are using MacPro6,1 system definition which is supported as far as Monterey, the last time Apple used an i5-3470 was the Late 2012 iMac. This machine could only go as far as Catalina.

So perhaps see if Catalina works and if it does, you could try the upgrade to Monterey.

Also I would remove those DeviceProperties which do not seem correct for your hardware (Although I could not see a full spec sheet for the motherboard in the Internet).
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
16
Motherboard
Acer Veriton S6620G
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 550
This one is a tricky one ...

Although you are using MacPro6,1 system definition which is supported as far as Monterey, the last time Apple used an i5-3470 was the Late 2012 iMac. This machine could only go as far as Catalina.

So perhaps see if Catalina works and if it does, you could try the upgrade to Monterey.

Also I would remove those DeviceProperties which do not seem correct for your hardware (Although I could not see a full spec sheet for the motherboard in the Internet).
Hello, i've tried Catalina and the installer boots and yes, the disk now finally mounts!
Now the problem is that since my Wi-Fi card is a USB Wi-Fi adapter, i don't know how to install it, i've tried with USB Tethering but it doesn't want to recognize it. It recognizes my Ethernet card, but i can't use ethernet since my Modem is really far away from my PC.
I tried doing another USB with the same configs for an offline install, but when i choose it on OpenCore bootloader, it prints some stuff and then reboots instantly.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
8,466
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.8.0
CPU
i5-10600k
Graphics
Dell RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello, i've tried Catalina and the installer boots and yes, the disk now finally mounts!
Now the problem is that since my Wi-Fi card is a USB Wi-Fi adapter, i don't know how to install it, i've tried with USB Tethering but it doesn't want to recognize it. It recognizes my Ethernet card, but i can't use ethernet since my Modem is really far away from my PC.
I tried doing another USB with the same configs for an offline install, but when i choose it on OpenCore bootloader, it prints some stuff and then reboots instantly.

Well I guess that must depend on two things:

1) The USB port you are using for the dongle. The safest until you have properly mapped your USB ports would be a USB2-only port very close to the keyboard connection on the back panel. Better still if a wired Apple keyboard then one of the keyboard USB ports.

2) What chipset the USB wifi dongle uses.
 
Top