I cannot get my machine to boot without my USB.

Discussion in 'Bootloaders' started by dkidd92, Nov 16, 2016.

  1. dkidd92

    dkidd92

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus Hero vii
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.0GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 770 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 16, 2016 at 5:51 PM #1
    dkidd92

    dkidd92

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus Hero vii
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.0GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 770 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ok so I did a fresh install using the clover technique of installing Sierra. Everything works perfectly, I used a USB audio for sound, wifi is great, the graphics run smoothly. I just cant get it to boot from the HDD, it only boots with the USB plugged in.

    I'm certain its something to do with the EFI partition or something.

    I've tried everything I can think of but nothing is working.

    I have an Asus motherboard and I read that this could have something to do with it?

    Please can someone help!!!!
     
  2. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Nov 18, 2016 at 4:07 PM #2
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Whenyou say you cannot get it to boot from the HDD, do you mean it KPs or is the BIOS/UEFI just not seeing the HDD as a bootable device?

    In the UEFI do you have CSM set to Auto and the Boot Devices Control set to UEFI only? This is proper setting for OS X on Asus boards.
     
  3. BSDguru

    BSDguru

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    Z77x UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    geForce GTX 660 Ti
    Jan 5, 2017 at 1:11 PM #3
    BSDguru

    BSDguru

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    Z77x UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    geForce GTX 660 Ti
    I have a question to interject here. I'm on my fourth or fifth build, and EVERY SINGLE time the system works beautifully when booting from the USB but it's always a multi-day project to get it to work off the hard drive. Why is this the case? Why can't the boot code from the USB simply be transferred to the hard drive?

    Booting from a usb isn't that much different than booting from a hard drive. Why isn't there something that says "Ok, my system works fine, transfer the exact current settings to the hard drive?

    I'm actually thinking of leaving a USB in the system to save myself some stress.
     
  4. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 5, 2017 at 1:19 PM #4
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    The boot files from the USB can be transferred to the HDD very easily.
    1. Install OS and get to desktop
    2. mount the USB EFI partition
    3. copy the EFI folder from the USB EFI partition to desktop
    4. eject USB
    5. Install Clover boot loader to HDD.
    6. replace the EFI folder Clover installer placed in the HDD EFI partition with the one on your desktop.
    7. reboot. enjoy.
     
  5. BSDguru

    BSDguru

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    Z77x UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    geForce GTX 660 Ti
    Jan 5, 2017 at 2:08 PM #5
    BSDguru

    BSDguru

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    Z77x UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    geForce GTX 660 Ti
    Is there some reason this has to be copied to the desktop? I have USB mounted, I can't just

    1) Install OS and get to desktop (USB booter is loaded)
    2) Install Clover to the HDD
    3) Copy over the EFI folder from USB

    Maybe that's why it never works? The instruction to install clover are very complicated. Copying plists, configuring clover. I just want to boot the OS.

    Can I just load chameleon? Fewer knobs create fewer issues.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2017
  6. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 5, 2017 at 2:35 PM #6
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Not if you are able to mount the EFI partition of both drives at the same time and can be sure you know the difference. Would be a shame to copy the HDD EFI folder to the USB EFI partition and make the USB fail to boot, too.
     
  7. BSDguru

    BSDguru

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    Z77x UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    geForce GTX 660 Ti
    Jan 5, 2017 at 2:53 PM #7
    BSDguru

    BSDguru

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    Z77x UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    geForce GTX 660 Ti
    Im not worried about that. Burning another usb is the least of the failure scenarios.

    You refer to the EFI partition, but I dont have an EFI partition. It's just a folder. My system disk is 1 partition (as is the USB, as per the instructions). Am I missing something?

    Also, I'm pretty sure I selected Legacy boot when I ran unibeast. How does that change things?

    How can I determine which mode I'm currently booted in?

    update: aha, so if EFI is a folder, then Im booted in legacy mode.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2017
  8. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 5, 2017 at 8:46 PM #8
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    So copy yhe contents of the EFI folder on the USB to the EFI folder on the HDD.
     
  9. BSDguru

    BSDguru

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    Z77x UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    geForce GTX 660 Ti
    Jan 5, 2017 at 8:51 PM #9
    BSDguru

    BSDguru

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    Z77x UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K 3.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    geForce GTX 660 Ti
    Did that. Stuck on the gray apple screen with a stuck progress bar. As Usual
     
  10. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 5, 2017 at 8:53 PM #10
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,239
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    So boot with -v boot-arg so you can see where the boot is hanging....
     
    CaptainKernelPanic likes this.

Share This Page