Contribute
Register

HWMonitor is trying to install new helper tool

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
57
Motherboard
GA-X99-UD4P
CPU
E5 1650 v3
Graphics
970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
More importantly than having control over fans, would be not having overheat problems when CPU is stressed - which is happening now.

Anyone got a fix for Sierra - HW?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
109
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1070 SC2
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Hi, same problem here.
It's some settings you've changed in that require a helper tool. annoying if you don't remember which ones.

remove /Users/yourusernamehere/Library/Application Support/HWMonitor either by going to the finder and pressing Apple-shift-G and pasting in /Users/yourusernamehere/Library/Application Support/ and dragging it to the trash or in the terminal:

rm -rf /Users/yourusernamehere/Library/Application Support/HWMonitor

Should do the trick ;)

This command just wiped out all my documents and desktop ?!
rm -rf /Users/yourusernamehere/Library/Application Support/HWMonitor
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,257
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
This command just wiped out all my documents and desktop ?!
rm -rf /Users/yourusernamehere/Library/Application Support/HWMonitor
You should have quoted the path.
Code:
rm /Users/John Smith/Library/Some Directory
will expand to
Code:
rm /Users/John
rm Smith/Library/Some
rm Directory
The options r + f mean its recursive without confirmation.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
109
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1070 SC2
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
You should have quoted the path.
Code:
rm /Users/John Smith/Library/Some Directory
will expand to
Code:
rm /Users/John
rm Smith/Library/Some
rm Directory
The options r + f mean its recursive without confirmation.

I mean I changed it to my username.. good thing I had password protection on and all my work on another drive. Still, not exactly sure what I lost besides kext utilities and maybe some photos. Only finished my system a month ago or so...
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2
Motherboard
Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i7
Graphics
RX 580
Navigate to ~/Library/Application Support/HWMonitor and delete Configuration.xml. Restart and HWMonitor will re-write it's vanilla config file. I just did this and it worked perfectly.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
69
Motherboard
Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
CPU
Skylake i5 3.3GHz 6600
Graphics
Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 G1 Gaming 3GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Navigate to ~/Library/Application Support/HWMonitor and delete Configuration.xml. Restart and HWMonitor will re-write it's vanilla config file. I just did this and it worked perfectly.

YES! This worked for me too! Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2011
Messages
2
Motherboard
Malibal 17px
CPU
Intel i7 quad core 2.3GH
Graphics
nVidia 580M
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Perfect, easy, delete the config file and all working again. Thaks!
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
MSI Z97S SLI
CPU
4770K @4.4
Graphics
1080Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had the same problem, and figure it out with an uninstall (with CleanMyMac) and a fresh install of last version. Found on the github repo : https://github.com/kozlekek/HWSensors/releases

And now, control speed based on GPU work well ! ;)
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
55
Motherboard
GA-Z97-D3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The bug came back on 10.14.6! Me and a few other guys got it. Which is odd, but HWMonitor hasn't been updated in over a year.
None of these solutions work currently

Edit: got it working with the binary at https://github.com/kzlekk/HWSensors/releases/tag/6.26 instead of the pkg, don't know why it worked this time around but the binary did work.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top