Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Huananzhi Hackintosh USB problems and optimization

Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
53
Motherboard
Huananzhi X99 F8
CPU
E5 2678 V3
Graphics
RX 580
Thank you so much Feartech, regarding optimization, should I do anything to make sure the computer works fine?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,237
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you so much Feartech, regarding optimization, should I do anything to make sure the computer works fine?
clean the dust from the fans
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
53
Motherboard
Huananzhi X99 F8
CPU
E5 2678 V3
Graphics
RX 580
And what about hubs? I have a MTT USB 3.0 with 7 ports for example, will it have only one port assigned? Or 7?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,237
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
And what about hubs? I have a MTT USB 3.0 with 7 ports for example, will it have only one port assigned? Or 7?
sorry i added a wrong earlier
should have been:
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
53
Motherboard
Huananzhi X99 F8
CPU
E5 2678 V3
Graphics
RX 580
That´s the thread I´m reading, but I´m not sure about way to go with hubs (I don´t know why but searching in the thread gives me an error).
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,237
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That´s the thread I´m reading, but I´m not sure about way to go with hubs (I don´t know why but searching in the thread gives me an error).
just configure the actual ports on your machine

then test what happens when you use a usb hub
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
440
Motherboard
Gigabyte C246-WU4
CPU
E-2278G
Graphics
WX7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
So should I "open" the SS port and "close" the HS in the same input to be able to plug an USB device and not lose the second port?
If you do so, you'll lose USB2 functionality. You need at least one USB 2 port, if only for the keyboard and mouse.
The 15 ports limits applies per controller. If your board has more than one controller (some extra ASM chip for USB 3.1 or 3.2 for instance), you can have more than 15 ports. If you have on-board hubs, several external ports may count as one logical port (two with USB 2+3).

Whoever hacked the board should have properly mapped the ports. If this wasn't done, you'll have to finish the job, including cleaning up and removing temporary hacks (USBInjectAll.kext and/or port limit quirk) which can cause instability. Check the EFI folder.

A USB 3 hub is actually the best device to map ports: It connects to both USB 2 and USB 3 personalities in one go, and does not need to be "ejected". Otherwise you need two devices: A USB 2 device and a USB 3 device. You need to identify all ports, even if some will eventually be disabled.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
53
Motherboard
Huananzhi X99 F8
CPU
E5 2678 V3
Graphics
RX 580
If you do so, you'll lose USB2 functionality. You need at least one USB 2 port, if only for the keyboard and mouse.
The 15 ports limits applies per controller. If your board has more than one controller (some extra ASM chip for USB 3.1 or 3.2 for instance), you can have more than 15 ports. If you have on-board hubs, several external ports may count as one logical port (two with USB 2+3).

Whoever hacked the board should have properly mapped the ports. If this wasn't done, you'll have to finish the job, including cleaning up and removing temporary hacks (USBInjectAll.kext and/or port limit quirk) which can cause instability. Check the EFI folder.

A USB 3 hub is actually the best device to map ports: It connects to both USB 2 and USB 3 personalities in one go, and does not need to be "ejected". Otherwise you need two devices: A USB 2 device and a USB 3 device. You need to identify all ports, even if some will eventually be disabled.
Thanks etorix!

I´ve looked into the Disk Utility and it says that the disk where I have the MacOS (Evo 970 M.2) is disk2s1. I have another M.2 for Windows and a HD.

I wrote this on Terminal:
sudo mkdir /Volumes/EFI

Password and ok, nothing happens.

Then I wrote this:
sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk2s0 /Volumes/EFI

And I get this message:
/dev/disk2s0: No such file or directory


What can I do?
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2021-06-17 a las 17.07.03.png
    Captura de pantalla 2021-06-17 a las 17.07.03.png
    211.9 KB · Views: 15
  • Captura de pantalla 2021-06-17 a las 17.06.43.png
    Captura de pantalla 2021-06-17 a las 17.06.43.png
    216.7 KB · Views: 13
  • Captura de pantalla 2021-06-17 a las 17.06.54.png
    Captura de pantalla 2021-06-17 a las 17.06.54.png
    213.2 KB · Views: 13
Top