Contribute
Register

HP z600 workstation is FULLY working with macOS sierra

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP Z600
CPU
2x Xeon X5550
Graphics
EVGA GTX 760 OC 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Some progress:

I'm able to fake the CPU fans to be detected by using an Arduino and writing a 50% duty cycle 25Hz PWM signal to the TACH pin (pin 3) on the motherboard CPU fan connector.

The code for doing this is simply:

-code-


int pwmPin = 3; // e.g.

void setup()
{
setPwmFrequency(3, 1250); // 31250/1250 = 25Hz
}

void loop()
{
analogWrite(pwmPin, 127); // 127/255 ≈ 50% duty cycle, which is a duty cycle tested to work.
}

/**
* Divides a given PWM pin frequency by a divisor.
*
* The resulting frequency is equal to the base frequency divided by
* the given divisor:
* - Base frequencies:
* o The base frequency for pins 3, 9, 10, and 11 is 31250 Hz.
* o The base frequency for pins 5 and 6 is 62500 Hz.
* - Divisors:
* o The divisors available on pins 5, 6, 9 and 10 are: 1, 8, 64,
* 256, and 1024.
* o The divisors available on pins 3 and 11 are: 1, 8, 32, 64,
* 128, 256, and 1024.
*
* PWM frequencies are tied together in pairs of pins. If one in a
* pair is changed, the other is also changed to match:
* - Pins 5 and 6 are paired on timer0
* - Pins 9 and 10 are paired on timer1
* - Pins 3 and 11 are paired on timer2
*
* Note that this function will have side effects on anything else
* that uses timers:
* - Changes on pins 3, 5, 6, or 11 may cause the delay() and
* millis() functions to stop working. Other timing-related
* functions may also be affected.
* - Changes on pins 9 or 10 will cause the Servo library to function
* incorrectly.
*
* Thanks to macegr of the Arduino forums for his documentation of the
* PWM frequency divisors. His post can be viewed at:
* http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=16612#msg121031
*/
void setPwmFrequency(int pin, int divisor) {
byte mode;
if(pin == 5 || pin == 6 || pin == 9 || pin == 10) {
switch(divisor) {
case 1: mode = 0x01; break;
case 8: mode = 0x02; break;
case 64: mode = 0x03; break;
case 256: mode = 0x04; break;
case 1024: mode = 0x05; break;
default: return;
}
if(pin == 5 || pin == 6) {
TCCR0B = TCCR0B & 0b11111000 | mode;
} else {
TCCR1B = TCCR1B & 0b11111000 | mode;
}
} else if(pin == 3 || pin == 11) {
switch(divisor) {
case 1: mode = 0x01; break;
case 8: mode = 0x02; break;
case 32: mode = 0x03; break;
case 64: mode = 0x04; break;
case 128: mode = 0x05; break;
case 256: mode = 0x06; break;
case 1024: mode = 0x07; break;
default: return;
}
TCCR2B = TCCR2B & 0b11111000 | mode;
}
}


-code-

The same logic doesn't seem to work on the memory fan though (I might try to make better measurements). I've tried different duty cycles, but the memory fan connector doesn't seem to be able to be tricked or then the values I'm giving it are still wrong.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
182
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99-SLI
CPU
Xeon E5
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@mavavilj, please update your profile (personal details) with your Motherboard or Make/Model, CPU and Graphics Card.

I re-installed Voodoo HDA but I selected "Classic" this time and I now have Headphones front and Line out (green rear). Am I supposed to get "Speaker" too? What about the display ports? Are they supposed to transmit audio?
Thanks

Z600-No audio
After failing to install Mac Sierra on my Z600 several times (using a guide from a different web site), I used this guide and ended up with a working system on my first attempt. Everything is working, except audio. I did install the ALC262_AppleHDA___Code_Dump.zip with no success. I then tried to install Voodoo HDA 2.8.9 but Voodoo returned a "No Voodoo device found".
Any suggestions?
Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G2 Micro Tower
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
HD 530
May i ask what Quadro are you using? I could get my hands on a basic 1700 or a 9500gt for booting only (if it works)

I'm also interested in this question regarding what graphics card are natively supported.

I have Nvidia Quadro FX 3700 and FX 4800 cards and immediately get black screens after passing the Clover boot screen to install MacOS. This is with all combinations of Nvidia injections and nv_disable=1. Even using -v flag, the screen is completely black with no error message.

I've tried so many different guides to no avail. I'm thinking it's probably the cards are not supported.

I'm waiting for a Nvidia GT 710 card to arrive, which apparently has native support?

Setup 1
HP Z800 - Bios 3.60 A
Xeon X5550 x2
Nvidia Quadro FX 4800

Setup 2
HP Z800 - Bios 3.57
Xeon X5550 x2
Nvidia Quadro FX 3700

Strangely, enough Setup 2 got pass to the MacOS Sierra installer and completed install but on first reboot, the new HDD was missing so I couldn't get any further. I only got through to the MacOs install once, with a near vanilla Clover USB install drive, which I can't re-create.

I've also tried with El Capitan but the same problem (black screen) occurs.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
24
Motherboard
HP Z800
CPU
2X Xeon X5675
Graphics
Gigabyte Rx 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I'm also interested in this question regarding what graphics card are natively supported.

I have Nvidia Quadro FX 3700 and FX 4800 cards and immediately get black screens after passing the Clover boot screen to install MacOS. This is with all combinations of Nvidia injections and nv_disable=1. Even using -v flag, the screen is completely black with no error message.

I've tried so many different guides to no avail. I'm thinking it's probably the cards are not supported.

I'm waiting for a Nvidia GT 710 card to arrive, which apparently has native support?

Setup 1
HP Z800 - Bios 3.60 A
Xeon X5550 x2
Nvidia Quadro FX 4800

Setup 2
HP Z800 - Bios 3.57
Xeon X5550 x2
Nvidia Quadro FX 3700

Strangely, enough Setup 2 got pass to the MacOS Sierra installer and completed install but on first reboot, the new HDD was missing so I couldn't get any further. I only got through to the MacOs install once, with a near vanilla Clover USB install drive, which I can't re-create.

I've also tried with El Capitan but the same problem (black screen) occurs.



Hi! Got a 3800 and a 4000 working with simple GraphicsEnabler=YES!

Mavericks and high sierra!


Check this out: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/319386-guide-hp-z800-hackintosh-macos-sierra-10121/
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
182
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99-SLI
CPU
Xeon E5
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm also interested in this question regarding what graphics card are natively supported.

I have Nvidia Quadro FX 3700 and FX 4800 cards and immediately get black screens after passing the Clover boot screen to install MacOS. This is with all combinations of Nvidia injections and nv_disable=1. Even using -v flag, the screen is completely black with no error message.

I've tried so many different guides to no avail. I'm thinking it's probably the cards are not supported.

I'm waiting for a Nvidia GT 710 card to arrive, which apparently has native support?

Setup 1
HP Z800 - Bios 3.60 A
Xeon X5550 x2
Nvidia Quadro FX 4800

Setup 2
HP Z800 - Bios 3.57
Xeon X5550 x2
Nvidia Quadro FX 3700

Strangely, enough Setup 2 got pass to the MacOS Sierra installer and completed install but on first reboot, the new HDD was missing so I couldn't get any further. I only got through to the MacOs install once, with a near vanilla Clover USB install drive, which I can't re-create.

I've also tried with El Capitan but the same problem (black screen) occurs.


Hi

I have the same computer with a Nvidia FX 1800 working very well with High Sierra.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G2 Micro Tower
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
HD 530
It was definitely the cards - both Quadro FX 3700 and FX 4800 didn't work.

I got an Nvidia GT 710 and it worked straight away with the same USB installer. Got it up and running now.

Once MacOS was installed, and booting on its own without USB, I switched the cards back and again, it doesn't work.

Haven't figured out how to get the Nvidia Web drivers to work yet. They're installed and can be activated with the GT 710 card (which doesn't really need them) but can't get working with the other cards...
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2017
Messages
18
Motherboard
Asus Z370-f
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook
I'm curious if anyone has had luck getting High Sierra installed on a Z600? I tried last week using the same method as Sierra, but was getting the error "Unsupported CPU for reporter" & "Sound assertion in AppleHDA driver". See image.

I had read that it could be a video card issue, but I tried using my old nvidia quatro which works with Sierra, but I still received the same error.
 

Attachments

  • photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    186.8 KB · Views: 234
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
74
Motherboard
HP Z620
CPU
E2680
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
I'm curious if anyone has had luck getting High Sierra installed on a Z600? I tried last week using the same method as Sierra, but was getting the error "Unsupported CPU for reporter" & "Sound assertion in AppleHDA driver". See image.

I had read that it could be a video card issue, but I tried using my old nvidia quatro which works with Sierra, but I still received the same error.


I'm trying this, definitely a different build to that of Sierra. can get to the installer but not beyond that. none of my usb's work and neither doesn't my ps2 keyboard or mouse.

below is my config.plst:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>ACPI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>DSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Debug</key>
            <false/>
            <key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
            <dict>
                <key>ATI</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Firewire</key>
                <false/>
                <key>HDA</key>
                <false/>
                <key>HDMI</key>
                <false/>
                <key>IDE</key>
                <false/>
                <key>IntelGFX</key>
                <false/>
                <key>LAN</key>
                <false/>
                <key>LPC</key>
                <false/>
                <key>NVidia</key>
                <false/>
                <key>SATA</key>
                <false/>
                <key>SmBUS</key>
                <false/>
                <key>USB</key>
                <true/>
                <key>WIFI</key>
                <false/>
            </dict>
            <key>Fixes</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AddDTGP</key>
                <true/>
                <key>FixDisplay</key>
                <true/>
                <key>FixHDA</key>
                <true/>
                <key>FixIPIC</key>
                <true/>
                <key>FixSATA</key>
                <true/>
                <key>FixUSB</key>
                <true/>
            </dict>
            <key>Name</key>
            <string>DSDT.aml</string>
            <key>Patches</key>
            <array>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>Rename HDAS to HDEF</string>
                    <key>Disabled</key>
                    <false/>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    SERBUw==
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    SERFRg==
                    </data>
                </dict>
            </array>
            <key>ReuseFFFF</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>SSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>DropOem</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Generate</key>
            <dict>
                <key>APLF</key>
                <true/>
                <key>APSN</key>
                <true/>
                <key>CStates</key>
                <false/>
                <key>PStates</key>
                <false/>
                <key>PluginType</key>
                <true/>
            </dict>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>Boot</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Arguments</key>
        <string>-v dart=0</string>
        <key>Debug</key>
        <true/>
        <key>DefaultVolume</key>
        <string>macOS</string>
        <key>Legacy</key>
        <string>PBR</string>
        <key>Secure</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Timeout</key>
        <integer>3</integer>
        <key>XMPDetection</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>CPU</key>
    <dict>
        <key>UseARTFrequency</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>Devices</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Audio</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <string>1</string>
        </dict>
        <key>FakeID</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>IMEI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>IntelGFX</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>LAN</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>SATA</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>WIFI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>XHCI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
        </dict>
        <key>USB</key>
        <dict>
            <key>AddClockID</key>
            <true/>
            <key>FixOwnership</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>DisableDrivers</key>
    <array>
        <string>Nothing</string>
    </array>
    <key>GUI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Hide</key>
        <array>
            <string>\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI</string>
            <string>Windows</string>
        </array>
        <key>Language</key>
        <string>en:0</string>
        <key>Mouse</key>
        <dict>
            <key>DoubleClick</key>
            <integer>500</integer>
            <key>Enabled</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Mirror</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Speed</key>
            <integer>8</integer>
        </dict>
        <key>Scan</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Entries</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Legacy</key>
            <string>First</string>
            <key>Linux</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Tool</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
        <key>ScreenResolution</key>
        <string>1920x1080</string>
        <key>Theme</key>
        <string>tonymacx86</string>
    </dict>
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <false/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>NvidiaSingle</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
    <dict>
        <key>AppleIntelCPUPM</key>
        <true/>
        <key>AppleRTC</key>
        <true/>
        <key>Debug</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelCpu</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelLapic</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelPm</key>
        <true/>
        <key>KernelXCPM</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KextsToPatch</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>Patch AppleTyMCEDriver to use MacPro5,1 name</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                cgoATWFjUHJvNCwxAE1hY1BybzUsMQBY
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleTyMCEDriver</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                cgoAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAABY
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>External icons patch</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                RXh0ZXJuYWw=
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                SW50ZXJuYWw=
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>Increase 15 port limit to 26 in AppleUSBXHCIPCI</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                g710////EA==
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleUSBXHCIPCI</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                g710////Gw==
                </data>
            </dict>
        </array>
    </dict>
    <key>RtVariables</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BooterConfig</key>
        <string>0x28</string>
        <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
        <string>0x67</string>
        <key>ROM</key>
        <data>
        XVNVV4Ul
        </data>
    </dict>
    <key>SMBIOS</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
        <string>10/07/10</string>
        <key>BiosVendor</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>BiosVersion</key>
        <string>MP51.88Z.007F.B03.1010071432</string>
        <key>Board-ID</key>
        <string>Mac-F221BEC8</string>
        <key>BoardManufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>BoardSerialNumber</key>
        <string>CK0200HFC348V</string>
        <key>BoardType</key>
        <integer>11</integer>
        <key>ChassisAssetTag</key>
        <string>Pro-Enclosure</string>
        <key>ChassisManufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>ChassisType</key>
        <string>06</string>
        <key>Family</key>
        <string>Mac Pro</string>
        <key>Manufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>ProductName</key>
        <string>MacPro5,1</string>
        <key>SerialNumber</key>
        <string>CK0211EFHFC</string>
        <key>Trust</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Version</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
    </dict>
    <key>SystemParameters</key>
    <dict>
        <key>CustomUUID</key>
        <string>1DE7E9F2-98C3-460C-80FF-B965E4578525</string>
        <key>InjectKexts</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>InjectSystemID</key>
        <true/>
        <key>NvidiaWeb</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
</dict>
</plist>

here is a screen shot of the kexts I'm using:
Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 16.58.02.png Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 16.58.17.png

Can anyone shed any light on why i can't use usb or ps2 at this stage? i tried the VoodooPS2Controller.kext but that wouldn't allow me to even boot to the OSX installer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top