Contribute
Register

HP z600 workstation is FULLY working with macOS sierra

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
24
Motherboard
HP Z800
CPU
2X Xeon X5675
Graphics
Gigabyte Rx 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Wow. I knew it was a good card, but wasn't quite expecting it to be that good.

There's a long post dedicated to it. But I ended up just using this guide where you just edit the kext.

One issue I have with the z600 is that there's no integrated graphics. So I need to have my old Quatro plugged in for the boot, then change over. Not ideal, but it's not a deal breaker.

Hey mate! Thx for sharing your experience.

Currently, running 10.9.5 with dual X5675s and a GTX780ti here, but thinking about the RX480 to reduce some noise and power consumption (Z800 fans spin faster with the 780ti because there's more power draw) and also coz my new screen got FreeSync!

May i ask what Quadro are you using? I could get my hands on a basic 1700 or a 9500gt for booting only (if it works)

Also, i use Logic Pro X for working, and a TC Impact Twin firewire card perfectly stable here. Firewire still works flawlessly on Sierra?

Thanks a lot!
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
153
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
HD630
Mac
  1. iMac
Greetings, loving my Z600 w/Sierra 10.12.5... having an issue that I'd like to rectify. USB is broken after "wake". Unit sleeps fine, but wakes with no USB for 30 seconds, then loads. Any help on this issue would be much appreciated. Thank you.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP Z600
CPU
2x Xeon X5550
Graphics
EVGA GTX 760 OC 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So do you use the Z600 with custom fans? This is not directly related to x86, but I'm also doing a Hackintosh out of a Z600, but I'm also trying to switch the fans to more silent ones.

Problem is that the computer checks that the fans match to some specifications and refuses to boot, if the fans are of wrong type.
 
Last edited:

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,426
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
@mavavilj, please update your profile (personal details) with your Motherboard or Make/Model, CPU and Graphics Card.
The Rules said:
Profiles need to contain at least your primary system to assist others with helping you.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
24
Motherboard
HP Z800
CPU
2X Xeon X5675
Graphics
Gigabyte Rx 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
So do you use the Z600 with custom fans? This is not directly related to x86, but I'm also doing a Hackintosh out of a Z600, but I'm also trying to switch the fans to more silent ones.

Problem is that the computer checks that the fans match to some specifications and refuses to boot, if the fans are of wrong type.
Nope! It won't refuse to boot, it will just prompt to skip the alert by pressing f1 on every boot (which also sucks!). I'm upgrading all the 10 fans to Arctic. Will sure register the entire process! And once i'm done, i'll share the link here =)
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,870
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Nope! It won't refuse to boot, it will just prompt to skip the alert by pressing f1 on every boot (which also sucks!). I'm upgrading all the 10 fans to Arctic. Will sure register the entire process! And once i'm done, i'll share the link here =)
There should be an option in the BIOS to turn off this alert so you won't need to press F1 every boot up.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
24
Motherboard
HP Z800
CPU
2X Xeon X5675
Graphics
Gigabyte Rx 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
There should be an option in the BIOS to turn off this alert so you won't need to press F1 every boot up.
Well, nope. There is't. HP Bioses on the Z series consider fans a top security hardware, so you can't disable the messages =(
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP Z600
CPU
2x Xeon X5550
Graphics
EVGA GTX 760 OC 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Nope! It won't refuse to boot, it will just prompt to skip the alert by pressing f1 on every boot (which also sucks!). I'm upgrading all the 10 fans to Arctic. Will sure register the entire process! And once i'm done, i'll share the link here =)

Have you made any progress?

I'm looking to do the same with a Z600 and I was wondering what could be the best way to approach this.

Things I've thought so far:

1) Simply exchanging the fans.
-Probably not going to work out very well, because of the BIOS check on fans. Potentially only fans with specs very similar to the original ones (I speculate that the BIOS checks the max RPM) could work without the error.
2) Soldering the new fans in chain with the original ones. The original ones would need to be shut down somehow of course after their purpose as being the things that make the BIOS accept the fans is served.
3) Sort of like 2), but instead of chaining fans, then merely connect the new fans to a power source got somewhere else. But I'm not sure whether the Z600 has any spare Molexes or such. One could perhaps split the PCI-e connector to get power for the fans. Or maybe SATA ports could be used?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP Z600
CPU
2x Xeon X5550
Graphics
EVGA GTX 760 OC 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I did some testing with my HP Z600 using an Akasa fan splitter.

Findings:

  1. It's possible to connect two fans to one 5-pin port. I don't know yet if the voltage is halved or something, but it works.
  2. The BIOS will boot without the F1 error, even with two fans running in the same bus.
  3. However, one cannot disable the HP official fan (it's needed for the startup to pass without error). I tried keeping it stopped while in boot and then the F1 error comes back. So it seems as if the HP fan has to be allowed to run at least during the initial boot up. It could maybe be disabled after the boot/BIOS check has passed.
  4. Have you ever wondered why some desk computers do that high RPM "wroom", when they're booted? I believe that that's exactly what's used to check the fan. So what it probably does is that it tries out the max RPM of the connected fan and it has to match some specified one.
  5. It also seems that all 4-pins in the HP fan have to be connected. I tried connecting only two and the F1 error pops up. This is probably because pin 3 is for reading out the RPM and pin 4 (PWM) is for the motherboard to control the fan speed.
  6. It's possible to stop the HP fan after the check has passed and the system will continue running.

6. could potentially offer the path of adding some sort of circuit or device that stops the stock fans after the fan check has passed. This could maybe be automatic. http://www.burntlatke.com/fan-controller.html
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top