Contribute
Register

HP Probook Installer Clover Edition

Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
142
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Any thoughts why PBI has got support only for 8x60w laptops with AMD graphics?
I mean, I have a 8560w with Nvidia Quadro 2000M and I can get as far as install and boot OS X 10.10.1 with software rendering (nv_disable=1), but if I try boot the laptop in normal way, either with Apple drivers or Nvidia drivers, screen is blank/black.

In other words, how can I get Nvidia card to work? Is this because the drivers will never work with Quadro 2000M? There are some rather old reports saying 2000M working on 10.9.

Or is this because nobody has got time to fix this? And how? Via Clover FakeID? What else is required?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Any thoughts why PBI has got support only for 8x60w laptops with AMD graphics?

Because someone had the laptop, figured out what was required, and contributed the details...
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yeah, I have no clue how to get non-supported, but allegedly working Nvidia card to work.
any pointers?

Try nv_drv=1 (or is it nvda_drv=1?) and nvidia webdrivers. You may need to inject for nvidia as well. Or you may need special DSDT patches to enable the internal screen on nvidia.

But any further discussion is off-topic here.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
29
Motherboard
HP ProBook 350 G1 5CG411DVTB
CPU
Intel Core i5 4200U
Graphics
Intel HD 4400
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello everyone,

I used the Guide To Install Yosemite on HP Laptops with Clover UEFI on my HP 350 G1.

It worked fine, up to the point the HP Probook Installer gave me the following warning:

1- you haven't pressed F4
2- you haven't selected the right main model-specific patch

I did press F4 though, and the ACPI files are in EFI/Clover/ACPI/origin.

Is the HP Probook Installer giving the warning because my HP 350 G1 is not yet supported?

Should I try to patch a DSDT some other way? Right now I have no battery status, and no sound.

Thanks.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone,

I used the Guide To Install Yosemite on HP Laptops with Clover UEFI on my HP 350 G1.

It worked fine, up to the point the HP Probook Installer gave me the following warning:

1- you haven't pressed F4
2- you haven't selected the right main model-specific patch

I did press F4 though, and the ACPI files are in EFI/Clover/ACPI/origin.

Is the HP Probook Installer giving the warning because my HP 350 G1 is not yet supported?

Should I try to patch a DSDT some other way? Right now I have no battery status, and no sound.

Thanks.

Read the RED text in post #1.

Please do not make duplicate posts. And please read the rules: http://www.tonymacx86.com/faq.php
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
42
Motherboard
Zbook 15 G2 (Clover)
CPU
i7-4810MQ Haswell, QM87
Graphics
HD 4600, NVIDIA Quadro K2100M (2GB GDDR5), 1920x1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there a way to predict the compatibly of new HP Laptops like the HP Omen from the component lists?

Also, can we assume that an Apple selected discrete graphics card would function as is in a HP laptop?

Thanks!

To be clear, this is in regards to HP Clover functionality.
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Messages
76
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
could someone post a link to ebay of the cheapest wifi card i could buy for the 4530s for this install. Everything is golden after install but looks like the card in this machine is not the AR5B195.

will this one not work since its not hp "branded"

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Atheros-AR5B195-AR9002WB-Wifi-AR3011-BT3-0-Wireless-Bluetooth-Combo-Card-/111475392025?pt=US_Internal_Network_Cards&hash=item19f4737e19

any help would be great if someone could link me to the cheapest way to get wifi working it would be amazing !
 
Top