Contribute
Register

HP Probook 640 G1 Hackintoshable?

Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP Probook 6470b/HP Probook 640 G1
CPU
Intel Core i5 3427U(ES)/Intel Core i5-4330m
Graphics
Intel HD 4000/Intel HD 4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Also I noticed that audio from the headphone jack cuts off at time. I can fix it by unplugging the earphones and plugging it back in and if that doesn't work, I have to put it to sleep.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
3,494
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i5 3320M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000, 1600x900
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello,

I followed the guide. Everything is ok but the VGA and display port.
Wich wifi card will you recommended me?
Thank you very much for the guide and for your help!
Read the guide. The more expensive, the better.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
Acer Aspire v15
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Also I noticed that audio from the headphone jack cuts off at time. I can fix it by unplugging the earphones and plugging it back in and if that doesn't work, I have to put it to sleep.
how has your 640 been?

do you game on it?

I have been using a 4530s for 2 years....


want to upgrade but hearing this about the audio makes me scared
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP ProBook 640 G1
CPU
i5 4200m
Graphics
HD 4600
Mobile Phone
Android
I thought I would add that I have just completed a successful HP ProBook 640 G1 install of Yosemite 10.10.2 (as of 25 Feb 2015) using the Yosemite with Clover guide.

The HP ProBook Installer now also includes an option specifically for 6x0 G1 laptops, so no confusion there.

I swapped the Wi-Fi card out for the BroadCom BCM94322HM8L BCM4322 Half Size Mini PCIE WIFI Wireless Card for a pifling £8.50, which worked without any extra jiggery-pokery - very pleased with that, as I had an Edimax dongle which did work, but the software was so poor it wouldn't remember the network password,

I cannot attest to the display port or VGA out or even the audio jack issues that some of you have been having. I simply needed a Hackintosh for InDesign for my wife, as some older fonts were simply not playing ball with Windows. If I were confident enough to dual boot it with Windows, I would, as it's not a half-bad gaming laptop!

I did run into trouble the first time I used the HP ProBook Installer as I ended up stuck on the UDID line on boot, but that was owing to me too hastily selecting the wrong options. Tried again and all was well.

Thanks to Rehabman for all his comments throughout many threads that helped me get there in the end.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
32
Motherboard
msi p67a-gd65
CPU
i7-2600k
Graphics
xfx 6870
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
So i'm assuming by your post that the 640 g1 doesn't have a whitelist for wifi unlike the older probooks do? I just bought a 640 g1 but haven't received it yet.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
So i'm assuming by your post that the 640 g1 doesn't have a whitelist for wifi unlike the older probooks do? I just bought a 640 g1 but haven't received it yet.
No whitelist.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
GA-H97M-D3H
CPU
i3 4330 Haswell
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi,
what sound do you use? alc...? thank you.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
26
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
HD 2500 /GT 710
I know this is an old thread, but not finding much new.

Can an HP ProBook 640 G1 be used with Mojave? I just have a line on one.

Did anyone get to that level?

I know I have to replace the WIFI. Does the webcam? Did you also replace the display?

Anything specific that does not work?
 
Top