Contribute
Register

HP Probook 4730s

Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
14
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello,

I'm new to OS X and Hackintoshes.

I am trying to get my new ProBook 4730s to be the ultimate laptop, the hardware is very similar to the 4530s so I posted it here. I planned to run Windows 7, OS X and Ubuntu. What I've read and understand OS X should be installed first for ease, but that belongs to another thread.

I only got one problem, the primary display doesn't work (It just stays black). I have already managed to install OS X on it using nothing more than bkribbs guide in this forum, and everything seems to work very good, so awesome! Only way to make it was to use HDMI output and a external display. But even after it was installed the primary display wont work. The display works when loading rBoot-LE, then selecting the USB Drive, also the sequence when you see the Apple logo and a rotating loader under it. After that, when it seems to load the desktop, it gets black.

Does anyone have a suggestion how to solve it?

Many thanks, Arceus :D
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
3,250
I'm glad we have a 4730s user. You need to edit your dsdt for your display I believe.

I'll try to track down the patch.

In the mean time, can you extract a dsdt and send it to me?


EDIT:
I think I got it now.

Can you please try this dsdt auto patcher? If you already made a dsdt please delete yours, then reboot, and make a new one, but make sure to select HP Probook 4730s when making it.

Report back!
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9343 QHD
CPU
i7-5500U
Graphics
HD 5500
Mobile Phone
Other
bkribbs said:
I'm glad we have a 4730s user.
lolwut? :)

@arceus:
Disable graphics switching in the BIOS.
Boot with Chimera and GraphicsEnabler=yes.
Get + fix your DSDT with DSDTFixer: http://www.osx86.es/Archivos/DSDTFixer.zip
Download DSDT Editor: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index. ... pic=223205
Then apply the DualLink patch: http://tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=28851
Additionaly, search and replace every occurence of "GFX0" to "IGPU".
Change graphics switching back to on.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9343 QHD
CPU
i7-5500U
Graphics
HD 5500
Mobile Phone
Other
In my opinion people should learn about the stuff that happens to the DSDT, or at least look at the code.
In case of trouble, they know what caused the problems.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
1,158
Motherboard
HP Probook 4530s
CPU
i5-2410m
Graphics
HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
da_beidl said:
In my opinion people should learn about the stuff that happens to the DSDT, or at least look at the code.
In case of trouble, they know what caused the problems.
I've been wondering where you've been... I don't know if you've read up on the radeon post I started but I came up with a strange outcome from using rBoot.
I'd love to learn but I have difficulty understanding the klingon language :mrgreen:
I'm going to read and try to follow what you put in your last post.
da_beidl said:
@arceus:
Disable graphics switching in the BIOS.
Boot with Chimera and GraphicsEnabler=yes.
Get + fix your DSDT with DSDTFixer: http://www.osx86.es/Archivos/DSDTFixer.zip
Download DSDT Editor: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index. ... pic=223205
Then apply the DualLink patch: http://tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=28851
Additionaly, search and replace every occurence of "GFX0" to "IGPU".
Change graphics switching back to on.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
14
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks for very fast replies :p Give me an hour or two to try it.

UPDATE:
I started to test the Auto Patcher, but somewhere at the end of the installer it crashed and then shut down the laptop. I booted up again incase it worked, no sign of life in the display. Rerunned it without crash, and saved the DSDT file (Attachment). However it didn't work out second time either.

So I tried the manually way too ^^ I installed Chimera using the standalone installer. But I was never able to boot OS X with or without GraphicsEnabler=Yes. I got the "Hold down your power button" message, so I didn't want to go to next step. I guess the GraphicEnabler was needed.


dsdt.aml
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9343 QHD
CPU
i7-5500U
Graphics
HD 5500
Mobile Phone
Other
Dewitts said:
I've been wondering where you've been... I don't know if you've read up on the radeon post I started but I came up with a strange outcome from using rBoot.
I'd love to learn but I have difficulty understanding the klingon language :mrgreen:
I'm going to read and try to follow what you put in your last post.
Yeah, sorry, haven't got much time to do some more DSDT hacking, had to do some other stuff (Android development) ;) also, I'm really out of ideas.

@arceus: I'll take a look at your DSDT tomorrow. Is it unmodified?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
130
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
arceus said:
Hello,

I'm new to OS X and Hackintoshes.

I am trying to get my new ProBook 4730s to be the ultimate laptop, the hardware is very similar to the 4530s so I posted it here. I planned to run Windows 7, OS X and Ubuntu. What I've read and understand OS X should be installed first for ease, but that belongs to another thread.
Hello, I am just to buy the same laptop and go through the same install processes. Have you now managed to solve the primary display issue?

da_beidl said:
bkribbs said:
I'm glad we have a 4730s user.
lolwut? :)
I guess this means you have Lion running without much problems :) Did you managed to get Full QE/CI with the Intel HD3000? Does WiFi work? Does it seem pretty responsive?

Sorry for all the questions. Just very eager to upgrade from my aging MBP1,2. Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
1,158
Motherboard
HP Probook 4530s
CPU
i5-2410m
Graphics
HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Jim989 said:
arceus said:
Hello,

I'm new to OS X and Hackintoshes.

I am trying to get my new ProBook 4730s to be the ultimate laptop, the hardware is very similar to the 4530s so I posted it here. I planned to run Windows 7, OS X and Ubuntu. What I've read and understand OS X should be installed first for ease, but that belongs to another thread.
Hello, I am just to buy the same laptop and go through the same install processes. Have you now managed to solve the primary display issue?

da_beidl said:
bkribbs said:
I'm glad we have a 4730s user.
lolwut? :)
I guess this means you have Lion running without much problems :) Did you managed to get Full QE/CI with the Intel HD3000? Does WiFi work? Does it seem pretty responsive?

Sorry for all the questions. Just very eager to upgrade from my aging MBP1,2. Thanks in advance!
I think the graphics issues are mostly related to the 10.7.2 update. I'm hoping it's resolved by 10.7 3 but i'll be reinstalling 10.7.0 tomorrow for a fresh install so i'll confirm if that's ok and if it is then just don't update from 10.7.0 until 10.7.3 is confirmed as ok
da_beidl said:
Yeah, sorry, haven't got much time to do some more DSDT hacking, had to do some other stuff (Android development) ;) also, I'm really out of ideas.
.
I tried what you put in your 1st post in this topic and I ended up getting a black screen and couldn't use my system at all.
I tried adding the code you put in the radeon topic too but I still couldn't get the aty display a or b to show up.
I just installed windows again and noticed my graphics shows up as 6490m and as far as I was aware I had a 6470m so edited your code to say 6470m
 
Top