Contribute
Register

HP ProBook 4440s Sandy Bridge / Clover HotPatch / No Sound

Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
168
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
So I have a ProBook 4440s Sandy Bridge i3-2370M. I am currently using the clover hotpatch from the El Capitan forum and have a fully working El Capitan install but wanted to load Mountain Lion for testing purposes and a bit more tinkering with older versions of the OS X.

Problem I'm running into and I think I know the cause is that I only have sound when I boot with no caches. If I boot normally I do not get sound, so I'm wondering if the Clover Hotpatch for AppleHDA is conflicting.

Here is a kextstat | grep -y applehda
Code:
Michaels-MacBook-Pro:~ michael$ kextstat | grep -y applehda
   83    1 0xffffff7f810c5000 0x17000    0x17000    com.apple.driver.AppleHDAController (2.4.7fc4) <82 69 10 7 6 5 4 3 1>
   98    0 0xffffff7f8130b000 0x8b000    0x8b000    com.apple.driver.AppleHDA (92.4.7fc2) <97 89 83 82 78 69 6 5 4 3 1>
I've also attached my ioreg
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I have a ProBook 4440s Sandy Bridge i3-2370M. I am currently using the clover hotpatch from the El Capitan forum and have a fully working El Capitan install but wanted to load Mountain Lion for testing purposes and a bit more tinkering with older versions of the OS X.

Problem I'm running into and I think I know the cause is that I only have sound when I boot with no caches. If I boot normally I do not get sound, so I'm wondering if the Clover Hotpatch for AppleHDA is conflicting.

Here is a kextstat | grep -y applehda
Code:
Michaels-MacBook-Pro:~ michael$ kextstat | grep -y applehda
   83    1 0xffffff7f810c5000 0x17000    0x17000    com.apple.driver.AppleHDAController (2.4.7fc4) <82 69 10 7 6 5 4 3 1>
   98    0 0xffffff7f8130b000 0x8b000    0x8b000    com.apple.driver.AppleHDA (92.4.7fc2) <97 89 83 82 78 69 6 5 4 3 1>
I've also attached my ioreg
You need to use a different audio configuration with ML.
Use 'make install_hdadummy', and remove the .zml patch from config.plist.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
168
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
You need to use a different audio configuration with ML.
Use 'make install_hdadummy', and remove the .zml patch from config.plist.
Had a feeling as much. I got XCode installed on my ML install, but when I input that command I get:
Code:
Michaels-MacBook-Pro:probook.git michael$ make install_hdadummy
-bash: make: command not found
Obviously I'm still missing developer programs, or very well missing something else entirely. I'm going to keep looking around to see if I can find how to make a dummy AppleHDA file.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Had a feeling as much. I got XCode installed on my ML install, but when I input that command I get:
Code:
Michaels-MacBook-Pro:probook.git michael$ make install_hdadummy
-bash: make: command not found
Obviously I'm still missing developer programs, or very well missing something else entirely. I'm going to keep looking around to see if I can find how to make a dummy AppleHDA file.
You need to install the Xcode command line tools.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
168
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Ok, I installed the XCode Command Line Tools and executed the command from the previous post and it executed successfully, but now I'm running into the problem of my Clover not selectively applying/disabling patches based on my Custom Entries.

ML's partition is being recognized properly with my Custom Entry but everything inside the Custom > Entries > Item 1 > KernelAndKextPatches > KextsToPatch are not executing. It's strictly executing the entries in the global KernelAndKextPatches.

Attached is my config.plist, maybe a second unhinged mind will help with this. Ignore the macOS Sierra references....
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok, I installed the XCode Command Line Tools and executed the command from the previous post and it executed successfully, but now I'm running into the problem of my Clover not selectively applying/disabling patches based on my Custom Entries.

ML's partition is being recognized properly with my Custom Entry but everything inside the Custom > Entries > Item 1 > KernelAndKextPatches > KextsToPatch are not executing. It's strictly executing the entries in the global KernelAndKextPatches.

Attached is my config.plist, maybe a second unhinged mind will help with this. Ignore the macOS Sierra references....
Custom Entries KextsToPatch does not work. Do not use.

Note: Generally, you don't need separate patches per version, but if you really think you do, there is MatchOS in recent Clover versions (read Clover change thread,... I have not tested it).
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
168
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Custom Entries KextsToPatch does not work. Do not use.

Note: Generally, you don't need separate patches per version, but if you really think you do, there is MatchOS in recent Clover versions (read Clover change thread,... I have not tested it).
I have since removed all my Custom Entries from Custom > Entries and put everything inside KernelAndKextPatches and applied the MatchOS key entry to key patches that I want and do not want applied. The main one here was making sure the .zml patch for AppleHDA did not get applied for ML but will still be applied in El Capitan. Here is what I've done that seems to work for ML and my El Capitan installs:

Code:
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>AppleHDA .xml.zl to .zml.zl</string>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.9,10.10,10.11,10.12</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>LnhtbC56bA==</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleHDA</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>LnptbC56bA==</data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>5GHz Patch US FCC for ML - skvo</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.8</string>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>AVhU</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AirPortBrcm4360</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>AVhY</data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.9</string>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>10.9.5 5Ghz US FCC, svko</string>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>WFQAIBcnIAAA</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AirPortBrcm4360</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>WFQAG2cxlQAJ</data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>10.10.2+ 5Ghz US FCC, the-darkvoid</string>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.10,10.11,10.12</string>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>QYP8/3QsSA==</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AirPortBrcm4360</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>ZscGVVPrKw==</data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>AirPortBrcm4360 - fcvo</string>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.12</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>gflSqgAAdSk=</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AirPortBrcm4360</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>gflSqgAAZpA=</data>
            </dict>
And a snippet of my preboot.log:
Code:
6:840  0:000  Filtering KextPatches:
6:840  0:000   - [0]: AppleHDA (AppleHDA .xml.zl to .zml.zl) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: 10.9,10.10,10.11,10.12] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [1]: IOAHCIBlockStorage (Enable TRIM for non-Apple SSDs) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [2]: IOGraphicsFamily (Boot graphics glitch, 10.12.dp1 (credit denskop)) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [3]: IOGraphicsFamily (Boot graphics glitch, 10.10.x/10.11.x (credit lisai9093, cecekpawon)) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [4]: AirPortBrcm4360 (AirPortBrcm4360 whitelist patch (board-id), 10.12.dp1, credit RehabMan) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [5]: AirPortBrcm4360 (AirPortBrcm4360 whitelist patch (board-id), 10.11.x, credit RehabMan) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [6]: AirPortBrcm4360 (AirPortBrcm4360 whitelist patch (board-id), 10.10.5, credit RehabMan) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [7]: AirPortBrcm4360 (5GHz Patch US FCC for ML - skvo) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: 10.8] ==> not allowed
6:840  0:000   - [8]: AirPortBrcm4360 (10.9.5 5Ghz US FCC, svko) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: 10.9] ==> not allowed
6:840  0:000   - [9]: AirPortBrcm4360 (10.10.2+ 5Ghz US FCC, the-darkvoid) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: 10.10,10.11,10.12] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [10]: AirPortBrcm4360 (AirPortBrcm4360 - fcvo) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: 10.12] ==> not allowed
6:840  0:000   - [11]: IOBluetoothFamily (10.10.2+ BT4LE-Handoff-Hotspot, Dokterdok) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [12]: IOBluetoothFamily (10.11.dp1+ BT4LE-Handoff-Hotspot, credit RehabMan based on Dokterdok original) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [13]: AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB (HDMI-audio HD3000, 0x00010000, port 0406) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [14]: AppleIntelFramebufferCapri (HDMI-video, 64MB BIOS, HD4000 0x01660004 #1 of 2) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [15]: AppleIntelFramebufferCapri (HDMI-audio HD4000 0x01660003/0004, port 0406 (order dependency HDMI-video 0x01660004 above)) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [16]: AppleHDA (IDT 76d9 #1 of 4) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [17]: AppleHDA (IDT 76d9 #2 of 4) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [18]: AppleHDA (IDT 76d9 #3 of 4) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
6:840  0:000   - [19]: AppleHDA (IDT 76d9 #4 of 4) :: BinPatch :: [OS: 10.11.6 | MatchOS: All] ==> allowed
The only thing now that I run into is I have to completely power off my laptop, then bring it back if I want to switch from ML to El Capitan as the wifi will not find networks until I do so. Not sure why, but even hitting the hardware wifi button and waiting, repeating an additional 4 times while waiting for each instance to populate networks, and even turning off the wifi doesn't help through the drop down menu.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
The main one here was making sure the .zml patch for AppleHDA did not get applied for ML but will still be applied in El Capitan.
I would just disable/delete the patch entirely and use 'make install_hdadummy' for all, including 10.11.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
168
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I would just disable/delete the patch entirely and use 'make install_hdadummy' for all, including 10.11.
Oh ok, wasn't aware that was used for all OS X versions.

Just for informational purposes though, would I have to run this command everytime I install a software update, or is it just strictly copying the AppleHDA_ProBook.kext to /S/L/E?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Oh ok, wasn't aware that was used for all OS X versions.

Just for informational purposes though, would I have to run this command everytime I install a software update, or is it just strictly copying the AppleHDA_ProBook.kext to /S/L/E?
No need to do anything after OS X software updates...
 
Top