Contribute
Register

[HOW TO] SecureBootModel changes in OpenCore 0.7.2

Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
768
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With TPM, I think you have to buy a TPM chip and plug it into your mobo. Then you enable it.

With PTT, this is part of the Intel chipset, so no separate purchase is necessary. In other words, if you have a TPM chip, you can use this, but if you don't, the later generations of the Intel Processors can use PTT...
Yes, you're right, well explained.
My mobo has the connector for an extra TPM2 chip. It's empty.
When I enable TPM and PTT in BIOS, TMP2 menu refers to PTT as TPM2 interface type:
TPM2.jpg
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
857
Motherboard
AsRock X299 Creator
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello
With OC 0.7.4 and MacPro7,1 SMBios,
- I can't boot Monterey with SecureBootModel Default or j160
- I can boot Monterey with SecureBootModel Disabled, but SystemPreferences ➧ Update can't find the last Monterey Beta

What am i doing wrong ?
Thanks in advance
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
768
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here it is
Many thanks
Question: are you ok without WhateverGreen? Maybe your 6800xt doesn't need it?

Talking about your problem, if indeed OpenCore files are from 0.6.4, this behaviour is unexpected.
Try SecureBootModel Disabled. Leave it so.
Change SMBIOS to a model without T2 chip (iMac17,1, iMac19,1) for software update to be displayed and downloaded.
Revert SMBIOS after having all finished.
Does it works?
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
857
Motherboard
AsRock X299 Creator
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Question: are you ok without WhateverGreen? Maybe your 6800xt doesn't need it?
Yes it works fine with only one 4K monitor via Displayport
Talking about your problem, if indeed OpenCore files are from 0.6.4, this behaviour is unexpected.
Try SecureBootModel Disabled. Leave it so.
OK
Change SMBIOS to a model without T2 chip (iMac17,1, iMac19,1) for software update to be displayed and downloaded.
Revert SMBIOS after having all finished.
Does it works?
I'll do it and will report
EDIT
It works with iMac19,1 :thumbup:
Many Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 28, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 DESIGNARE EX
CPU
10940x
Graphics
W6800, Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi... similar issue. Unable to get beta releases to show (currently on 12.0.1, trying to obtain 12.1 to install a W6600 card). I've tried setting SecureBootModel from disabled to j137, j185, and x86 -- with no change. Also tried setting SMBIOS to iMac17,1 as suggested above (normally for me iMacPro1,1). Config attached. Many thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist.zip
    4.4 KB · Views: 4
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
147
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4700
CPU
i7-3740QM
Graphics
M4000
Hi... similar issue. Unable to get beta releases to show (currently on 12.0.1, trying to obtain 12.1 to install a W6600 card). I've tried setting SecureBootModel from disabled to j137, j185, and x86 -- with no change. Also tried setting SMBIOS to iMac17,1 as suggested above (normally for me iMacPro1,1). Config attached. Many thanks in advance.
Use OC 0.7.4 (or wait for 0.7.5 to come out later today), and set Secure boot model to "Default". Behavior changed in 0.7.4 to make default be based off your SMBIOS. It has to match the Mac model now.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 DESIGNARE EX
CPU
10940x
Graphics
W6800, Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Use OC 0.7.4 (or wait for 0.7.5 to come out later today), and set Secure boot model to "Default". Behavior changed in 0.7.4 to make default be based off your SMBIOS. It has to match the Mac model now.
Thanks for the reply. Running OC 0.7.5, set to Default, still won't push the update. Also tried different SMBIOS including iMac19,1.

Notably, when I first installed Monterey and joined the Public Beta, it did show briefly as being an option, then disappeared next time I looked for it (I didn't want to download at the time as was troubleshooting something else). I have since unenrolled from public beta and re-enrolled, to no change (including with re-starts).
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
147
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4700
CPU
i7-3740QM
Graphics
M4000
Thanks for the reply. Running OC 0.7.5, set to Default, still won't push the update. Also tried different SMBIOS including iMac19,1.

Notably, when I first installed Monterey and joined the Public Beta, it did show briefly as being an option, then disappeared next time I looked for it (I didn't want to download at the time as was troubleshooting something else). I have since unenrolled from public beta and re-enrolled, to no change (including with re-starts).
SIP enabled? There are a couple SIP bits which cause issues when set, primarily Apple Internal. I generally just leave SIP fully enabled.
 
Top