Contribute
Register

[HOW TO] SecureBootModel changes in OpenCore 0.7.2

Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
214
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
rx 5700 xt
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The problem here is with say on my Nuc 10 with Securebootmodel disabled can't get intel wife to work on high Sierra.
if I use securebootmodel default can't boot this with smbios Macmini7,1 cpu emulated securebootmodel can be a nightmare ...
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
736
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The problem here is with say on my Nuc 10 with Securebootmodel disabled can't get intel wife to work on high Sierra.
if I use securebootmodel default can't boot this with smbios Macmini7,1 cpu emulated securebootmodel can be a nightmare ...
@zappy39
High Sierra 10.13.2 and newer must boot with j137, have you tried?
But it's strange that disabled doesn't work, theoretically all versions of macOS can boot with SecureBootModel=disabled.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
214
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
rx 5700 xt
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@zappy39
High Sierra 10.13.2 and newer must boot with j137, have you tried?
But it's strange that disabled doesn't work, theoretically all versions of macOS can boot with SecureBootModel=disabled.
yes I can boot with securebootmodel disabled but Airportitlwm.kext doesn't load so I have no wifi.if I boot using j137
or Default.this is on Opencore 7.0 it just returns back to picker menu.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,350
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You should be using ‘default’ for SecureBootMode when running OC 0.7.0.

The SecureBootMode changes only take effect from OC 0.7.2.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
214
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
rx 5700 xt
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
You should be using ‘default’ for SecureBootMode when running OC 0.7.0.

The SecureBootMode changes only take effect from OC 0.7.2.
it will only work on Disabled but no wifi.will not work on Default or j137 just keeps booting back to picker mode
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,350
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  1. Which WiFi card are you using?
  2. What kexts/apps are you using to get the WiFi working in macOS?
  3. Where/how are the kexts being injected, via OC boot loader or from your /Library/Extensions folder?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
214
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
rx 5700 xt
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  1. Which WiFi card are you using?
  2. What kexts/apps are you using to get the WiFi working in macOS?
  3. Where/how are the kexts being injected, via OC boot loader or from your /Library/Extensions folder?
Hi Edhawk its a NUC 10 With a Wi-Fi 6 AX201 using AirportItlwm.kext via OC Loader
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
128
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4700
CPU
i7-3740QM
Graphics
M4000
yes I can boot with securebootmodel disabled but Airportitlwm.kext doesn't load so I have no wifi.if I boot using j137
or Default.this is on Opencore 7.0 it just returns back to picker menu.
Scroll down a bit to the troubleshooting dropdown
You likely need to recopy those files. Can be done in recovery (just follow the recovery commands instead of the other commands)

Do you have ApECID set? That might be causing issues as well, though that's fixable as well.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,350
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you tried using Itlwm.kext and the Helport application, to see if they work any better than the current kext you are using.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
214
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
rx 5700 xt
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Scroll down a bit to the troubleshooting dropdown
You likely need to recopy those files. Can be done in recovery (just follow the recovery commands instead of the other commands)

Do you have ApECID set? That might be causing issues as well, though that's fixable as well.
Ok 1Revenger1 thanks for the link I will look into it further think it is something to do with UUID
 
Top