Contribute
Register

[HOW TO] OpenCore 0.6.9 > 0.7.0 differences

Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
636
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H-F11a
CPU
i5-3570K OC @ 4.2GHz
Graphics
HD 4000
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Great info as usual @miliuco,

I've noticed that OpenCore v0.7.0 generates an additional Unix Executable file in my EFI named y that I know nothing about. Is this normal?
What is this Anyone?.png
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
294
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming-K7
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
CPU info for Hyper-V
  • Kernel > Quirks > added ProvideCustomCpuInfo (Boolean): Provides current CPU info to the kernel. This quirk currently provides correct TSC and FSB values to the kernel. It's for Hyper-V virtual machines. It can be False.
@miliuco I believe the entry is "ProvideCurrentCpuInfo", not Custom. OCvalidate gave me the ProvideCurrentCpuInfo error when I checked out my current config file as it's one of a number of entries missing after I updated to 0.7.0.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,348
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
I9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Henties : did you check with ocvalidate? It found an error in my config.plist which didn't show when comparing it to sample.plist with OCConfigCompare.
ocvalidate is now my best friend for OC upgrades. I run the new OC's ocvalidate on my config.plist, review the errors and copy/paste the changes from the new sample.plist.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2012
Messages
433
Motherboard
GA Z68XP-UD3
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
GT 210
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
ocvalidate is now my best friend for OC upgrades. I run the new OC's ocvalidate on my config.plist, review the errors and copy/paste the changes from the new sample.plist.
Indeed! Yesterday I've modified my little guide, as I initially wrote it as "optional"... ;)
But as the last step of upgrading, it's a very healthy procedure instead. :thumbup:
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
701
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Great info as usual @miliuco,

I've noticed that OpenCore v0.7.0 generates an additional Unix Executable file in my EFI named y that I know nothing about. Is this normal?...
I haven't seen this file in my EFIs ever. I don't know why its in your folder. As you say... WTF? :)
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
701
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@miliuco I believe the entry is "ProvideCurrentCpuInfo", not Custom. OCvalidate gave me the ProvideCurrentCpuInfo error when I checked out my current config file as it's one of a number of entries missing after I updated to 0.7.0.
Yes, you're right, my mistake. Corrected in first post. Thanks!!!
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
701
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ocvalidate is now my best friend for OC upgrades. I run the new OC's ocvalidate on my config.plist, review the errors and copy/paste the changes from the new sample.plist.
Yes, I agree. It's very very useful.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,348
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
I9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Great info as usual @miliuco,

I've noticed that OpenCore v0.7.0 generates an additional Unix Executable file in my EFI named y that I know nothing about. Is this normal?
I haven't seen anything like this with OC 0.7.0, but it sounds interesting. When you say OC "generates" the additonal file, when did you notice the "y" file? Is it possible that when you copied the OC 0.7.0 files to your EFI that you added "y" to your copy command and created the file yourself? Maybe you accidentally dragged and dropped another file or maybe you accidentally renamed an existing file? If you still have the file, it might be worth seeing what's in it (is it empty?).
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
294
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming-K7
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
As much as I love tinkering around with the various parts of what makes up a Hackintosh, OpenCore really needs to have an installer (OpenCanopy is about to the point of needing a graphical front-end, too) as well as some better way to handle all the changes and settings (too bad OC Configurator doesn't work nearly as well as the Clover version does).
 
Top