Contribute
Register

[HOW TO] OpenCore 0.6.8 > 0.6.9 differences

Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
735
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the info, I may try this later on, but changing this kind of things messed up the windows and macos licences.

About the philosophy I am not so sure. There was a quirck for windows back in 0.5.x
But the guy in charge have been "fired", cause he didn't respect some chart.
This 2 thanges are designed precisely to prevent SMBIOS values from being passed to Windows from Opencore, for cases like yours.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
445
Motherboard
ASUS Z390-I Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@miliuco

I think that you don't need Apple and Microsoft folders. In ScanPolicy of config.plist, writing 2689795 Opencore must show Windows entry at the picker, automatically detected.

Scan Policy Generator


Thanks! This may be the critical information that I need.

I'm familiar with bit mask options. Its my day job too... Yes I know how to use ProperTree to set decimal values that are equivalent to hex bit masks.

Anyway no combination of bit mask settings of ScanPolicy worked, in the sense that the Windows partition is never seen by OC. Without the Microsoft folder in the EFI partition my OC does not "see" or scan the Windows boot option. So I assume this has something to do with how I independently set the Windows drive to boot up, if I select it in the BIOS boot menu.

Does OC expect something in the EFI partition of the Windows drive? Because there is NO EFI partition on that drive. Only on the Samsung NVMe / OC drive.

Oh yeah one last thing. Yes you are correct I don't need an Apple folder in the EFI folder.

But I certainly need the Microsoft folder to see the Windows boot option in OC OpenCanopy boot selector...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 27, 2020
Messages
120
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare EX X299
CPU
i9-9940X
Graphics
2x RX 6900XT, 1x RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
not sure if its the 0.6.9 update, or the 11.4 (beta) update that I did, but USB ports are not working at all on my machine.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,585
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
not sure if its the 0.6.9 update, or the 11.4 (beta) update that I did, but USB ports are not working at all on my machine.

Hi there.

How do you have your USB ports activated and configured previously?
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
320
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
Vega 56+UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I recreated my config.plist for 0.6.9 for my configuration, but these errors still occur.
Has anyone ever experienced this?

OCS: failed to calculate size of false field containing <empty> as type integer context <customdelays>
OCS: No schema for EnableVectorAcceleration at 2 index, context <Quirks>
OCS: No schema for ForgeUefiSupport at 4 index, context <Quirks>
OCS: No schema for ReloadOptionRoms at 7 index, context <Quirks>
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,536
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I recreated my config.plist for 0.6.9 for my configuration, but these errors still occur.
Has anyone ever experienced this?

OCS: failed to calculate size of false field containing <empty> as type integer context <customdelays>
OCS: No schema for EnableVectorAcceleration at 2 index, context <Quirks>
OCS: No schema for ForgeUefiSupport at 4 index, context <Quirks>
OCS: No schema for ReloadOptionRoms at 7 index, context <Quirks>
compare with sample.plist when you download opencore and make the amendments
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2020
Messages
120
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare EX X299
CPU
i9-9940X
Graphics
2x RX 6900XT, 1x RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there.

How do you have your USB ports activated and configured previously?
I was using USBmap.kext, generated from hackintool.

I've tried going back to just using USBInjectAll, but still not working.
They show up in IOReg, just no power at all
 
Top