Contribute
Register

How To Install OS X Yosemite Using Clover

Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus P5Q3 Deluxe
CPU
Intel E8500
Graphics
Nvidia GT 9800
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Attempting to use Clover to install Yosemite on a new SSD on a legacy Asus P5Q3 machine.

I have already used Unibest/multibeast to install Yosemite on this machine on a separate SSD.
I did not have an SSDT or DSDT and only added 3 or 4 kexts for my Ralink wireless, AD2000b Sound
and Marvel Yukon ethernet.

Everythig on the unibeast/multibeast configuration is working including imessage.

I now want to try a Clover install to a new SSD and have made some progress.

I've created the USB installer and selected legacy mode in clover and used the simple plist provided in the guide.

I can boot the USB installer and attempted install to a new SSD.

First attempt failed with an auto reboot so I rebooted the USB, selected verbose install and got
to the following last line: AppleSMBusPCI::start failed to get acpi path forprovider

If I let the system sit for about 5 minutes the apple logo comes up with a progress bar and spinning ball but no progress.

I can't seem to get the installer to complete.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
 
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
When I install Yosemite from my USB, I only see my usb, and not my internal drive, or SSD.
What am I doing wrong, use last clover.
Help Please
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus P5Q3 Deluxe
CPU
Intel E8500
Graphics
Nvidia GT 9800
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Greywolfrio

Are you using Clover or UNibeast?
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,704
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I've got this motherboard heres what i did

install with Unibeast but you will need to boot with -v -x then once your in the installer install Yosemite to hard drive or SSD once installed boot with -v -x then once at the desktop open up Multibeast and heres the settings i used once you've done that you will be able to boot from your hard drive or SSD normally then now you can migrate to clover
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 18.06.31.png
    Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 18.06.31.png
    141.7 KB · Views: 294
  • Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 18.09.37.png
    Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 18.09.37.png
    141.5 KB · Views: 276
  • Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 18.09.43.png
    Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 18.09.43.png
    151.4 KB · Views: 243
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
70
Motherboard
AIO Acer Aspire C22-865
CPU
Intel i3 8130U
Graphics
UHD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've got this motherboard heres what i did
... then now you can migrate to clover
Thanks for the screenshots, jbamford. That really helps.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
41
Motherboard
Clevo PA71ES-G
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks so much for all the work that went into this.

Do you know if having a dual boot with Windows 8.1 on the same SSD would make this not possible? I'd have to patch the installer to work on MBR, of course. Would that affect anything here at all?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2012
Messages
61
Motherboard
Z68-MX-UD2H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I have strange glitch with clover boot loader. If I boot in Legacy mode booting wallpaper is my monitor default resolution(1920x1200) but if boot in UEFI mode booting wallpaper is about (1280x720).
Anyone have this glitch too? How to fix this?

I wrote here but no one want to answer ;/
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
98
Motherboard
HP Pavilion G6 2231TX
CPU
i3 3110m (Chipset- HM76)
Graphics
HD7670M+HD4000 (1366x768)
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Can I use this guide to update mavericks on my laptop? But my laptop is using chimera, so I was wondering if would it cause a problem?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
20
Motherboard
Hack pro
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770K
Graphics
HD Graphics 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you ever figure out a solution for this?

I'm having a bit of an issue with iMessaging and iCloud. Even after performing the steps that lexone laid out, (and doing a clean installation a second time for the heck of it) I can't sign in.

If I try to sign into iCloud from System Preferences it says: "You can't sign in at this time. Try signing in again."

iMessaging is a bit weirder. The first time I sign into iMessaging it actually acts like everything is okay. It asks me about my phone number and read receipts, but then if i try to message someone it acts like it isn't signed in. Going into the accounts menu reveals that it isn't signed in anymore. If I quit it and go back, it once again brings up the login screen.

Anytime after that first login attempt iMessaging says "Could not sign in to iMessage. An error occurred during activation. Try again.".

This happened during both the 1st and 2nd clean install, exactly the same way. I'm using the latest version of clover from source forge.

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
Hackintosh
CPU
(Lynnfield) Intel Core i7
Graphics
EVGA GTX 660Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have always had FaceTime its the iMessage that don't work. I have donated a few hundred bucks to this site but I can save my money and go buy a used Mac Pro. It used to be fun when you making progress. Instructions are too misleading to follow. Gonna build a X99 system this winter.
 
Top