How To Install OS X Yosemite Using Clover

Discussion in 'Yosemite Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Oct 19, 2014.

  1. LukeWarm74

    LukeWarm74

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Maximus VII Formula (Z97)
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    GTX 780TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 19, 2014 at 9:07 PM #11
    LukeWarm74

    LukeWarm74

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Maximus VII Formula (Z97)
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    GTX 780TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for writing such a detailed guide! It's up and running like a charm, it was almost too easy. Thank you!
     
  2. dfmac

    dfmac

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K 3.5GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2048 MB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 19, 2014 at 9:24 PM #12
    dfmac

    dfmac

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    Z87X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7 4770K 3.5GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2048 MB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Im having a similar problem here with a Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H every time that I reboot it takes about 5 minutes for my keyboard and mouse to start working plus my webcam does not work. There is something with the USB 3.0 and Yosemite.
    Can some post a working clover config for the USB problem on the GA-Z87X-UD5H.

    Thank you.
     
  3. dg_gary

    dg_gary

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7
    CPU:
    Core i7 960
    Graphics:
    Nvdia GTX 470
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 19, 2014 at 9:30 PM #13
    dg_gary

    dg_gary

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7
    CPU:
    Core i7 960
    Graphics:
    Nvdia GTX 470
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    this configuration works for Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7 Rev2 ???
     
  4. Guaro

    Guaro

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Mavericks
    CPU:
    i7-2600k
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280x
    Oct 19, 2014 at 10:04 PM #14
    Guaro

    Guaro

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Mavericks
    CPU:
    i7-2600k
    Graphics:
    Radeon R9 280x
    I have the exact same problem on my build, and I can't find a solution.
     
  5. alexgrist

    alexgrist

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte SKT-1155 Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    Intel Sandybridge i7-2600K Unlocked Core i7 Quad-Core Processor (3.40GHz, 8MB Cache, Socket 1155)
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770 1GB GDDR5
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 19, 2014 at 10:15 PM #15
    alexgrist

    alexgrist

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte SKT-1155 Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    Intel Sandybridge i7-2600K Unlocked Core i7 Quad-Core Processor (3.40GHz, 8MB Cache, Socket 1155)
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770 1GB GDDR5
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    After rebooting into the USB bootloader and pressing "Boot OS X from Install OS X Yosemite" nothing happens but the cursor disappears. I'm then able to select another drive but every time I select the Install OS X Yosemite drive nothing happens at all.
     
  6. LukeWarm74

    LukeWarm74

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Maximus VII Formula (Z97)
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    GTX 780TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 19, 2014 at 10:21 PM #16
    LukeWarm74

    LukeWarm74

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Maximus VII Formula (Z97)
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    GTX 780TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm having a bit of an issue with iMessaging and iCloud. Even after performing the steps that lexone laid out, (and doing a clean installation a second time for the heck of it) I can't sign in.

    If I try to sign into iCloud from System Preferences it says: "You can't sign in at this time. Try signing in again."

    iMessaging is a bit weirder. The first time I sign into iMessaging it actually acts like everything is okay. It asks me about my phone number and read receipts, but then if i try to message someone it acts like it isn't signed in. Going into the accounts menu reveals that it isn't signed in anymore. If I quit it and go back, it once again brings up the login screen.

    Anytime after that first login attempt iMessaging says "Could not sign in to iMessage. An error occurred during activation. Try again.".

    This happened during both the 1st and 2nd clean install, exactly the same way. I'm using the latest version of clover from source forge.

    Any ideas?
     
  7. Rickmywirry

    Rickmywirry

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5 4570 Quad Core Haswell 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Asus Geforce GT 640 2048MB DDR3
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 19, 2014 at 10:22 PM #17
    Rickmywirry

    Rickmywirry

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87-HD3
    CPU:
    i5 4570 Quad Core Haswell 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Asus Geforce GT 640 2048MB DDR3
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Question for Lexone:

    "Editing config.plist file for USB:

    Pre-requisites:

    • One of the downloaded config.plist files (start with Standard one)
    • iMessage_debug
    • Clover Configurator (recommended version 2953 or later)"

    Struggling a bit with Clover Yosemite install and hope you can point a relative noob in the right direction? Am I correct in assuming that your instructions will enable iMessage to work? If so, why edit the config.plist on the USB. Is it to check that all works, and then replace the config.plist on the system drive EFI once tested?
     
  8. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,392
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 19, 2014 at 10:28 PM #18
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,392
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  9. antony

    antony

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97-AR
    CPU:
    i5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 19, 2014 at 10:33 PM #19
    antony

    antony

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97-AR
    CPU:
    i5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have successfully installed Yosemite/Clover on my ASUS Z97-AR/Gigabyte GeForce GT740, but not without a bit of trouble.

    1. I could not install Clover on the boot partition after install. It took me a bit of time to realize that Yosemite installer converts the volume to CoreStorage which becomes 'disk1' and that seems to where Clover installer tries to install the loader.
    I had to revert the volume from CoreStorage back to generic volume and then bootloader installer worked well.

    After that, I just copied over the config, SSDTs and kexts from the Mavericks install, and expected a fully working system - but not just yet.

    2. AppleIntelE1000e failed to load during boot every time. The error was that it could not resolve the dependency to 'com.apple.iokit.IONetworkingFamily'. This kext showed up in kextstat, so I just did 'sudo touch /S/L/E' to rebuild the cache.
    On reboot I saw that AppleIntelE1000e now loads fine, but this time the system did not boot at all - instead, it just went for an endless reboot loop.

    3. Cleared all audio-related patches (config entries for kext patches and realtekALC.kext), downloaded toleda's audio_CloverALC command for 10.10 (https://github.com/toleda/audio_CloverALC/blob/master/audio_cloverALC-100.command.zip) and re-installed the audio.
    After reboot I have HDMI-only audio, no other inputs/outputs, but I suppose that was expected for 9 series mb.

    At this point I ran migration assistant and brought all the data from the older Mavericks install.
    Seems to be working fine so far.
    A couple of minor things:
    - tried to convert the volume back to CoreStorage, but that seems to be breaking kext patching somehow, the system boots but with no audio, so I rolled it back.
    - it would be nice to have a microphone working, but not that important for me

    Thanks to the Clover team and toleda for the work :clap:

    EDIT: after some more testing, there's good news and bad news.
    Good news is that all audio controls came back.
    Bad news is that audio issues (sound cutouts which seem to appear when browsing internet) are back too.
     
  10. skyphyo

    skyphyo

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    window 7
    CPU:
    intel 4690 i5
    Graphics:
    nvidia geforce gtx630
    Oct 19, 2014 at 10:43 PM #20
    skyphyo

    skyphyo

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    window 7
    CPU:
    intel 4690 i5
    Graphics:
    nvidia geforce gtx630
    I cannot install,after apple logo appear no input on the monitor screen.How i can do?
     

Share This Page