Contribute
Register
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
271
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@nottooshabby,

If your old motherboard is faulty and/or is never going to run MacOS again then you can use the same config.plist on the new motherboard including the critical system id's such as S/N, MLB, ROM, UUID ... etc without a problem.

However if the old motherboard is still going to run MacOS then you should generate all new critical system id's.

Cheers
Jay


It is faulty, but I suppose there is a very small chance it could be refurbished and someone could use it to build a hackintosh. I'll replace my system ids. Thanks for the reply.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
235
Motherboard
Dell Latitude e7470 (Clover)
CPU
i7-6600U
Graphics
HD 520
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[Solved]

Hello,
I followed the steps to the best of my ability.
I contacted apple as I got the familiar error message:

You cannot sign in to iMessage on this Mac at this time.

To use iMessage with this Mac, contact Apple Support and provide the code below.

Customer Code: xxxx-xxxx-xxxx
Apple ID: (my email address)

After contacting them and providing them with the code, the first device began to work as expected. However, this second device continued to give the same error message, even after at least a thousand different representatives across a hundred ranks tried to activate it on their end over the past week. I attached my Clover folder, as I want to make sure that stuff like the serial number, MLB, ROM, etc. are appropriate for iMessage.

This is happening on MacOS 10.15.6 Catalina. An Apple ID that has been used for this device in the past is working.

Update #1: I found out that my current MLB (Board Serial Number) has not changed since the days where my system was defined as MacPro3,1. Obviously, this is not good, as my system is now defined is iMac14,2. So I generated a brand new MLB corresponding with the iMac14,2 serial number using simpleMLB.sh and pasted it into Clover.

Now I have a different "Customer Code" or Verification Code, so I'm going to contact Apple again, telling them I did something along the lines of an SMC reset or firmware update.

On a side note, after I contacted Apple (before I posted today), my "invalid" Serial Number magically became valid in their system. Though there is no purchase date, warranty, etc., so I doubt my serial number is actually conflicting with a real Mac, let alone that it was invalid when I checked the first time.

Update #2: Even after changing the MLB and giving them the new code, it still didn't work. I think I "spoiled" the serial number. I just changed serial number, made new values for everything (ROM, MLB, SmUUID, etc.) and gave them the code for a third time. Works fine now.

Moral of the story? If you contact Apple and it still doesn't work after you give them the code, start COMPLETELY fresh (new SN, new MLB, new ROM, new SmUUID, etc.) before trying again (I also deleted iMessage files just in case).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti
Hello everyone,

Whenever I try to login to iMessage it appears to authenticate, and after a few seconds the login prompt appears again. I tried to login with another Apple account of mine and was able to login and text as expected, but I keep running through the issue above when I use my main account.

You might think that my account is locked, however, I'm able to use iMessage just fine on my iPhone and I even checked with Apple support on the account's status and they confirmed that it's not locked.

Appreciate all the help and support.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Dell OptiPlex 3040 Micro
CPU
i5-6500T/H110
Graphics
HD 530 / 1920 X 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
Hello everyone,

Whenever I try to login to iMessage it appears to authenticate, and after a few seconds the login prompt appears again. I tried to login with another Apple account of mine and was able to login and text as expected, but I keep running through the issue above when I use my main account.

You might think that my account is locked, however, I'm able to use iMessage just fine on my iPhone and I even checked with Apple support on the account's status and they confirmed that it's not locked.

Appreciate all the help and support.
Had the same issue. I can sign my old account in without any issue but if I use my main account, its asking me to contact apple support which I did, but they scheduled an engineering call for me as we are unable to solve the issue. :(
That's a bummer. iMessage was one of the reason why I installed Hackintosh.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
22
Motherboard
HP Probook 4540S
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 4000
I just set up a hackintosh using Coffeelake CPU with SMBIOS set to iMac 18,3. Itt works well and I can use iMessage with my account without any problem, but my child's Apple ID and another adult Apple ID are blocked when trying to logging into iMessage, requiring to contact support with customer codes. Called Apple support and they unblocked the two IDs. But iMessage logged in and automatically logged out again. Does this mean my serial number has problem? I have tried two but both have the same problem.

Hi, I have the same issue! FaceTime/Imessage works for me and my wife, but not for our son. It is driving me nuts, I can't activate either of them. Did you figure out what was wrong? Thanks in advance!!!
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
368
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Ultra
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I have the same issue! FaceTime/Imessage works for me and my wife, but not for our son. It is driving me nuts, I can't activate either of them. Did you figure out what was wrong? Thanks in advance!!!

Yeah, I have this problem too. I suspect it's because kids don't have a validated credit card associated with their iTunes account. This proves they are a real person that can be identified and not just a spammer. I think it's Apple's way to protect Messages from spammers.

If you created their accounts on a computer using a real serial number you wouldn't have the problem.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
22
Motherboard
HP Probook 4540S
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 4000
If you created their accounts on a computer using a real serial number you wouldn't have the problem.

Thanks for the reply, the quote interests me; I think I created the accounts when I had an original Mac Mini. But honestly I can't reproduce.
The Credit Card can't be it, I suppose. As we have "Family Sharing", and also my wife has no Credit Card attached to her account. With Family Sharing, they are both tied to my Card.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
131
Motherboard
Asus WS x299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi! i'm trying to generate a valid iMacPro1,1 serial number but there's no way to get a valid one.

I could rescue a valid one i already used in other setup before my new installation but don't have the Board Serial Number that matches it and either the UUID.

I see i can put my Serial Number on Clover SMBIOS tab and generate a UUID from this one, but i can't generate a Board Serial Number. Is there a way to generate both (Board Serial Number and UUID) from a Serial Number?

Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,597
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No no please no - The term valid can be slightly misleading. You must generate a serial number that conforms to Apple's S/N Format but must not be a genuine Apple S/N that is registered on their data base as one of their machines.
Your first place of stop should be here - 'An iDiot's Guide to iMessage', P1LGRIM done a very clear guide on how to get iMessage working on a Hackintosh. Good luck.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
131
Motherboard
Asus WS x299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No no please no - The term valid can be slightly misleading. You must generate a serial number that conforms to Apple's S/N Format but must not be a genuine Apple S/N that is registered on their data base as one of their machines.
Your first place of stop should be here - 'An iDiot's Guide to iMessage', P1LGRIM done a very clear guide on how to get iMessage working on a Hackintosh. Good luck.
I switched to OpenCore and following this guide:


And there says i should get a "purchase date not validated" in Apple Check Coverage Page. Do you mean i should get a "We're sorr, but this serial number isn't valid" instead? I'm confused with that.

Captura de pantalla 2020-11-05 a las 19.38.26.png
 
Top