Contribute
Register

How to Fix iMessage

Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
1,589
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC Force
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 5770
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Interesting. Trust was off by default on my install, checking it made no difference. Still throws a customer code for me.

Still waiting for Apple engineering to respond to the case I opened. (fingers crossed)
I think you'll have to call again quoting the initial case file reference number because in most cases you'll be waiting forever and a day for that call back, just think of the number of cases they have to deal with, plus you'll be very lucky to have the same technician you dealt with on the first call. Hopefully you'll get one able to identify and solve the problem. Good luck.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,581
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you use the MLBGen17v3 - This is what you should see (I've omitted my details from the last pic).
this MLBGen17v3 - is giving showing me a different MLB than the one that i got generated from simpleMLB Script.
is it okay or its a sign that the MLB is wrong ?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
1,589
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC Force
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 5770
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@ delingren - As a precaution please edit your post #6442 and remove your personal details, also in future if seeking help, before posting remove all sensitive material i.e S/N's, MAC address, etc etc. The clever ones here can normally deduce and offer aid without your details.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
1,589
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC Force
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 5770
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
this MLBGen17v3 - is giving showing me a different MLB than the one that i got generated from simpleMLB Script.
is it okay or its a sign that the MLB is wrong ?
Thats normal, they do change at every output but still pertaining to your unique Mac S/N - nothing to worry about.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
ASUS X99 A II
CPU
i7-6800K
Graphics
MSI 980TI 6GB
So, I followed the idiots guide to iMessage guide and had iMessage working for about a week, but suddenly it has stopped working. Can anyone help?

Every time I try and login to iMessage/iCloud I get a popup that says "could not sign in. Please check network connection and try again" and then a new popup says "the password for *insert account name* needs to be updated" when I put the password in I just get "an unknown error occurred verification failed"

I tried resetting my network settings to EN0 and that didn't fix it. I also tried redoing the guide and still had the same problem...anyone got any ideas?

I'm on Sierra 10.12.3 SMBIOS Mac Pro 6,1
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
ASUS X99 A II
CPU
i7-6800K
Graphics
MSI 980TI 6GB
Have you installed EmuVariableUefi-64.efi and RC Scripts from the Clover installer ?
I do not believe I have done that. What will it do?
Just curious why it would have worked for about a week, and now suddenly wouldn't. But requires this.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,018
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I do not believe I have done that. What will it do?
Just curious why it would have worked for about a week, and now suddenly wouldn't. But requires this.
If your board does not have native support for NVRAM it will emulate it for you, just a thing to try.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
1,589
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC Force
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 5770
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just tried it. Same problem.
As P1LGRIM suspects, your NVRAM is not retaining your values. If it was working before then there is a chance it has become corrupt if the installation of EmuVariableUefi-64.efi and RC Scripts did not solve the issue. You may have to consider a reinstall, what you could try is run the latest version of clover install over the current installation and include the suggestions mentioned by P1LGRIM and see if that over writes the missing or corrupt files. Your current config.plist should remain intact but I would suggest to back up or make a note of your values before i.e MLB, S/N, SmUUID etc etc. Good luck.
 
Top