Contribute
Register
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,606
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok thanks. Although I suspect it's something external, rather than something on my hack, because it kicked me out this morning. This afternoon I set up a new, second hack and that's giving me the same error. Is your iMessage working ok?

Don't take this as being smug, but I have no trouble with iMsg/F-Time, Continuity or any of the Apple Services on any of my Hacks and all my values are formulated - not clones.
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
262
Motherboard
HP 4530s (OS X 10.11.1) / Windows 10
CPU
2.39 GHz Intel Core i5
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Don't take this as being smug, but I have no trouble with iMsg/F-Time, Continuity or any of the Apple Services on any of my Hacks and all my values are formulated - not clones.
Don't worry I don't take it as being smug at all. Maybe some people are affected and not others. As I say, it's been fine for many months and I've changed nothing.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gibabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just upgraded to El Capitan and Clover. I had iMessage working in the OS X version before Yosemite but it stopped working in the upgrade to Yosemite. Now, My iMessage works sometimes for sending/receiving with some people and doesn't work with sending/receiving for other people - other times it just tries to send SMSes (I had forwarding turned on but turned it off) - it also syncs to my iPhone sometimes, and sometimes does not. I don't have any problems signing into iMessage on Messages.

Oddly, iMessage worked briefly with no problems after my clean install of El Capitan to a new SSD. I could iMessage people and it would sync to my iPhone. A restart caused it to be intermittent and unreliable.

Since it became unreliable, I've logged out of all iCloud, Generated a SMUUID, deleted all plist configuration files, and no dice. Still intermittent.

Has anyone heard of this happening before? Any ideas for a solution? It's concerning to me that it works fully and syncs to my phone with some people, but doesn't work or sync with others. How would that even be possible?

When I sign into iMessage, I get this message in the console (I X'ed out any identifiying information):

5/9/16 11:40:25.483 AM Messages[1991]: [Warning] (IMAccount: 0xXXXXXXXXXXX [ID: XXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX Service: IMService[iMessage] Login: E:XXXXXX@XXXX.com Active: YES LoginStatus: Connected]) - isActive: YES - isOperational: NO - registration status: 3

What does isOperational: NO - registration mean?

UPDATE:

I am getting this message on Apple's serial number checker:

We're sorry, but this serial number is not valid. Please check your information and try again.

Looks like I need to change my serial number, great. Surprised it works at all though. I probably will need a new SMUUID (to prevent other blacklisting issues) and MLB/ROM values?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,606
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Don't worry I don't take it as being smug at all. Maybe some people are affected and not others. As I say, it's been fine for many months and I've changed nothing.

Run iMessage DeBugger and examine the results for any anomalies in the values.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,606
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When I sign into iMessage, I get this message in the console (I X'ed out any identifiying information):

5/9/16 11:40:25.483 AM Messages[1991]: [Warning] (IMAccount: 0xXXXXXXXXXXX [ID: XXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX Service: IMService[iMessage] Login: E:XXXXXX@XXXX.com Active: YES LoginStatus: Connected]) - isActive: YES - isOperational: NO - registration status: 3

What does isOperational: NO - registration mean?

UPDATE:

I am getting this message on Apple's serial number checker:

We're sorry, but this serial number is not valid. Please check your information and try again.

Looks like I need to change my serial number, great. Surprised it works at all though. I probably will need a new SMUUID (to prevent other blacklisting issues) and MLB/ROM values?

When formulating values my general rule is not to accept the first s/n value that is generated by Clover Configurator or Chameleon. The ones I feel would be acceptable, I would check on Apple's s/n checker to insure it is unique to my hack. The message 'We're sorry, but this s/n is not valid etc etc' is ok, this just means your s/n is not from a real mac (which is good) and is not in their data base as one of their own. I always advise to run iMsg DeBugger and check the injected values, so I don't think its necessary to change your s/n, in any case you will get the same non valid message from the Apple s/n checker, any other message would be bad as you would then be trying to register a hack with a s/n that is already out there - a CLONE.
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
262
Motherboard
HP 4530s (OS X 10.11.1) / Windows 10
CPU
2.39 GHz Intel Core i5
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • imessage_debugger.png
    imessage_debugger.png
    86.9 KB · Views: 138
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gibabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When formulating values my general rule is not to accept the first s/n value that is generated by Clover Configurator or Chameleon. The ones I feel would be acceptable, I would check on Apple's s/n checker to insure it is unique to my hack. The message 'We're sorry, but this s/n is not valid etc etc' is ok, this just means your s/n is not from a real mac (which is good) and is not in their data base as one of their own. I always advise to run iMsg DeBugger and check the injected values, so I don't think its necessary to change your s/n, in any case you will get the same non valid message from the Apple s/n checker, any other message would be bad as you would then be trying to register a hack with a s/n that is already out there - a CLONE.

Yes, i forgot to hit the shake button several times when I first did the clover configuration on this install... Crap. As per the guide the error message I'm getting means my system is blacklisted which all the clover configuration default values for S/N are.

So if I read it right, i need to:

Redo the serial number /system definition (mine is Mac 3,1 which I never changed before and should be macmini6,X or iMac) deal and hit the shake button.

Then I need to generate a new smuuid using uuidgen in terminal after a reboot.

Then I need to make MLB and ROM values correct. Then I need to login to iMessage and see if it works.

Does that sound right?

Do I need to be worried about changing my system definition? Will it mess up my performance or USB, Ethernet, or audio? I've just read that for my board Z77x-UD5H I need to set it to MacMini 6,2 or iMac 13,2 and I've always had it at MacPro 3,1 because the very first guide I did years ago said that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,606
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Seems ok to me..?

Bit of a long shot - Try this, sign out of all Apple Services you're currently signed into, iTunes, App Store and specially iCloud and go off line by plugging your ethernet cable out or disable wifi, then follow the instructions in 'Chapter 3.3' (Reset iMessage Configuration Files) then reboot and establish internet connection, wait approx: 30 seconds and log into iCloud, wait another another 30 seconds and try a iMsg/F-Time login. Don't despair if the steps taken does not bring instant results as sometimes the Apple Servers can take a little time to register your hack to your ID. Good luck
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,606
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, i forgot to hit the shake button several times when I first did the clover configuration on this install... Crap. As per the guide the error message I'm getting means my system is blacklisted which all the clover configuration default values for S/N are.

So if I read it right, i need to:

Redo the serial number /system definition (mine is Mac 3,1 which I never changed before and should be macmini6,X or iMac) deal and hit the shake button.

Then I need to generate a new smuuid using uuidgen in terminal after a reboot.

Then I need to make MLB and ROM values correct. Then I need to login to iMessage and see if it works.

Does that sound right?

Do I need to be worried about changing my system definition? Will it mess up my performance or USB, Ethernet, or audio? I've just read that for my board Z77x-UD5H I need to set it to MacMini 6,2 or iMac 13,2 and I've always had it at MacPro 3,1 because the very first guide I did years ago said that.

Ok before you make any changes what so ever - Log out of all Apple Services you're currently logged into especially iCloud which will remove the machine from you account. Disconnect the ethernet cable or disable wifi and stay off line until you formulate and inject the new values. Try to choose a Mac Model close to your Hack's specifications, then formulate and inject your MLB and ROM values, check values are static between reboots if ok go back on line and try a login. Good luck.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gibabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok before you make any changes what so ever - Log out of all Apple Services you're currently logged into especially iCloud which will remove the machine from you account. Disconnect the ethernet cable or disable wifi and stay off line until you formulate and inject the new values. Try to choose a Mac Model close to your Hack's specifications, then formulate and inject your MLB and ROM values, check values or static between reboots if ok go back on line and try a login. Good luck.

Thanks. I'll do that when I get home tonight. Any thoughts on the risk of switching system definitions?
 
Top