Contribute
Register

How to Fix iMessage

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,106
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Not quite the help I was looking for.

Changing to clover won't be easy for me, as I run a Windows 8.1 and Yosemite dual-boot on a single drive. If you'd like to give me some pointers, I'm open for them.
Open Terminal and type in "diskutil list" without the quotes and post the output for that HDD. For example here is my setup which is also Yosemite and Windows 8.1 on a single HDD using Clover installed to the EFI partition:

Code:
[FONT=Menlo]/dev/disk0[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *1.0 TB     disk0[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   2:                  Apple_HFS Yosemite                598.7 GB   disk0s2[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             1.0 GB     disk0s3[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   4: FFFFFFFF-FFFF-FFFF-FFFF-FFFFFFFFFFFF               134.2 MB   disk0s4[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   5:       Microsoft Basic Data Windows 8.1             399.9 GB   disk0s5[/FONT]


I setup my HDD using my other hack and created two partitions. The first one was for Yosemite formatted as HFS+ Journaled and the second one was for Windows 8.1 and formatted as "Free Space" with the drive setup as GPT. I installed Clover to the EFI partition and then booted Clover and installed Yosemite from a USB stick installer that I had made. The I connected a Windows 8.1 UEFI install USB and booted that. Used the Win 8 installer to format the "Free Space" and installed Windows 8.1. After reboot, if Windows 8 boots up before Clover then you will need to copy the '
CLOVERX64.efi' file from /EFI/EFI/Clover to the /EFI//EFI/Microsoft/Boot folder. Rename the 'bootmgfw.efi' to 'bootmgfw-orig.efi' and then rename the 'CLOVERX64.efi' to 'bootmgfw.efi'. Thats it.

I used to use Chameleon with my Mac Pro 1,1 before there were boot.efi files available for it and started using Clover when the 10.10 beta came out to test it and I would never use Chameleon again.
 
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
87
Motherboard
50" 4K iHac
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 / GeForce GTX 970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Open Terminal and type in "diskutil list" without the quotes and post the output for that HDD. For example here is my setup which is also Yosemite and Windows 8.1 on a single HDD using Clover installed to the EFI partition:

Code:
[FONT=Menlo]/dev/disk0[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *1.0 TB     disk0[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   2:                  Apple_HFS Yosemite                598.7 GB   disk0s2[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             1.0 GB     disk0s3[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   4: FFFFFFFF-FFFF-FFFF-FFFF-FFFFFFFFFFFF               134.2 MB   disk0s4[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   5:       Microsoft Basic Data Windows 8.1             399.9 GB   disk0s5[/FONT]


I setup my HDD using my other hack and created two partitions. The first one was for Yosemite formatted as HFS+ Journaled and the second one was for Windows 8.1 and formatted as "Free Space" with the drive setup as GPT. I installed Clover to the EFI partition and then booted Clover and installed Yosemite from a USB stick installer that I had made. The I connected a Windows 8.1 UEFI install USB and booted that. Used the Win 8 installer to format the "Free Space" and installed Windows 8.1. After reboot, if Windows 8 boots up before Clover then you will need to copy the '
CLOVERX64.efi' file from /EFI/EFI/Clover to the /EFI//EFI/Microsoft/Boot folder. Rename the 'bootmgfw.efi' to 'bootmgfw-orig.efi' and then rename the 'CLOVERX64.efi' to 'bootmgfw.efi'. Thats it.

I used to use Chameleon with my Mac Pro 1,1 before there were boot.efi files available for it and started using Clover when the 10.10 beta came out to test it and I would never use Chameleon again.
I'm not looking to re-install my OS's. It would take me much too long to get everything back to how I have it currently. Is there any way I can update just the bootloader?
I've seen little snippets of info in posts on here, but nothing that looked like it would help. I have plenty of drives I can clone to, so backing up isn't a problem.
(Getting off topic here... maybe a new thread is in order.)
 
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
87
Motherboard
50" 4K iHac
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 / GeForce GTX 970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had the same problem with the "Failed" on BoardSerialNumber field and solve it following the steps of "Reset FileNVRAM Plist" of this guide, then use a MLB Generator again, restart and run iMessage dubug to verify that the valors reamain, log into iMessage, obtain a customer code and call apple..etc, etc..
Thanks for your suggestion. I'll definitely try it out if I can't get clover to work/don't like it.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,106
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm not looking to re-install my OS's. It would take me much too long to get everything back to how I have it currently. Is there any way I can update just the bootloader?
I've seen little snippets of info in posts on here, but nothing that looked like it would help. I have plenty of drives I can clone to, so backing up isn't a problem.
(Getting off topic here... maybe a new thread is in order.)
I didn't say that you had to reinstall everything but you might depending on how you are currently setup. That is why I asked you to post your terminal output. Are you using a UEFI board?
 
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
87
Motherboard
50" 4K iHac
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 / GeForce GTX 970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I didn't say that you had to reinstall everything but you might depending on how you are currently setup. That is why I asked you to post your terminal output. Are you using a UEFI board?
Sounded as though you were suggesting that in your post.
Yes, I have a UEFI board. I'm using a Gigabyte G.1 Sniper Z5S on the latest BIOS update. Have a i5-4670K powering it, and Gigabyte GTX 970 driving both of my displays too.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,106
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sounded as though you were suggesting that in your post.
Yes, I have a UEFI board. I'm using a Gigabyte G.1 Sniper Z5S on the latest BIOS update. Have a i5-4670K powering it, and Gigabyte GTX 970 driving both of my displays too.
The question still is what does your partition map look like and is Windows 8.1 installed in UEFI mode. You can boot Clover from a Hybrid MBR if you are not running a pure GPT. It might as simple as installing clover in the EFI partition of your drive but you still haven't posted the "diskutil list" output.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2014
Messages
730
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97x-UD3H
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The problem is that I have a valid SN but Chinese AppleCare cannot find this SN in their records. So they say it's the issue of my computer.

I am going to make a phone call to US AppleCare tonight. I wish I would succeed. I think the SN, ROM, MLB, and smUUID must be generated simultaneously.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
1,683
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC Force
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 5770
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Used a SN that was from a Real Mac Pro But not His

The problem is that I have a valid SN but Chinese AppleCare cannot find this SN in their records. So they say it's the issue of my computer.

I am going to make a phone call to US AppleCare tonight. I wish I would succeed. I think the SN, ROM, MLB, and smUUID must be generated simultaneously.
I don't know if I am allowed to say this but one way to get past the valid SN check is to give them a valid Mac SN, search the internet for one, many people has used this method or you should have said, you are away from your machine and you may have copied the SN wrong. They won't register you as the owner of the valid SN machine its just part of their verification checks. Good luck.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
340
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H (Clover)
CPU
i7-2600K @ 4.6GHz OC
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Many people are speculating on the number of digits or formats:

This is coming from a Dell E6320 under Yosemite 10.10.2 with Clover. iMessage is working.
I replaced some numerical digits with ? to avoid that someone make a duplicate.

imessage debug output:

Model: MacBookPro8,1
Board-id: Mac-94245B3640C91C81 (generated by clover configurator)
SerialNumber: C02JC???DH?G (not duplicated with a true Mac generated by clover configurator)
Hardware UUID: 117B461C-????-5E88-95BA-D83CA3FDE9EF (I did not provide)


System-ID: 44454C4C-3400-1048-????-C6C04F4B5631 (generated with uuidgen)
ROM: c6c04f4b5631 (I did not provide)
BoardSerialNumber: C02JC???DH?G7E7G5 (same as serial + last 5 digits random)


Gq3489ugfi: 91478e2753a83e2b53ae08b2b4b2e??f??
Fyp98tpgj: 8e464405a21c636af1d1eceb301a85f???
kbjfrfpoJU: 3b200d2cace10e732991b4f1bfd???bbb7
oycqAZloTNDm: 6b4552d978f2ef4f955b307???ffa7f5c0
abKPld1EcMni: 1b86f195e5c795a47272b948e1ff???cbc

Good luck.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
1,683
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC Force
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 5770
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Many people are speculating on the number of digits or formats:

This is coming from a Dell E6320 under Yosemite 10.10.2 with Clover. iMessage is working.
I replaced some numerical digits with ? to avoid that someone make a duplicate.

imessage debug output:

Model: MacBookPro8,1
Board-id: Mac-94245B3640C91C81 (generated by clover configurator)
SerialNumber: C02JC???DH?G (not duplicated with a true Mac generated by clover configurator)
Hardware UUID: 117B461C-????-5E88-95BA-D83CA3FDE9EF (I did not provide)


System-ID: 44454C4C-3400-1048-????-C6C04F4B5631 (generated with uuidgen)
ROM: c6c04f4b5631 (I did not provide)
BoardSerialNumber: C02JC???DH?G7E7G5 (same as serial + last 5 digits random)


Gq3489ugfi: 91478e2753a83e2b53ae08b2b4b2e??f??
Fyp98tpgj: 8e464405a21c636af1d1eceb301a85f???
kbjfrfpoJU: 3b200d2cace10e732991b4f1bfd???bbb7
oycqAZloTNDm: 6b4552d978f2ef4f955b307???ffa7f5c0
abKPld1EcMni: 1b86f195e5c795a47272b948e1ff???cbc

Good luck.
Yea I note some people had success with a 17 character MLB and others struggled and switched to a 13 and had success so who's to say if your apple ID coupled with your machine's specs has got to pass Apple's security plus any other checks they may or may not do. I can only echo Jay's advice to follow his guide faithfully to fix the problem.
 
Top