Contribute
Register
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
514
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All working again. imessage, SMS forwarding, all seems working. Activated using 3,1 definition, generated 13 char MLB carefully formatted to match serial, and hardware (mac pro) and apple wifi card rom (to ensure rom was an apple one)

i did NOT use generator program because they were grossly inaccurate. Wasn't even setting correct EEE for a 3,1 mac pro (which is XDA) I instead spent a great deal of time just making sure the number adhered to correct format, with correct codes and years and weeks. Then called apple up when i felt confident number looked good.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
514
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does the serial need to be a valid one?

mine was made up and not in use (using web form to validate)

EDIT
unless you meant phone call? gave them real serial for that, which also happens to be a mac pro 3,1. Which i suspect helps a ton with less suspicion that they see i'm struggling with a 3,1 mac pro and happened to own a real one. :)But no i will never clone my real clone. Now don't have too. both logged into imessage with hack using generated things that passed checks :)
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
157
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H, 16 GB
CPU
Intel i5 4670K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
All working again. imessage, SMS forwarding, all seems working. Activated using 3,1 definition, generated 13 char MLB carefully formatted to match serial, and hardware (mac pro) and apple wifi card rom (to ensure rom was an apple one)

i did NOT use generator program because they were grossly inaccurate. Wasn't even setting correct EEE for a 3,1 mac pro (which is XDA) I instead spent a great deal of time just making sure the number adhered to correct format, with correct codes and years and weeks. Then called apple up when i felt confident number looked good.


Now the question is do you lose any features going to the macpro3,1. I could do that, but my system matches imac14,1

So what would I lose switching to macpro3,1?
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2014
Messages
62
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A
CPU
i7-4790k
Graphics
GT740
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a real MacPro3,1 running Mavericks and I just built a Hackintosh with a Z97-A and i7-4790k running Yosemite, the SMBios is set as a MacPro3,1 also.

I've read to not clone the ROM and MLB numbers from the genuine Mac, but I plan to wipe it clean, re-install Mavericks and sell it. Would it be okay to clone the IDs, or when the new owner of the genuine Mac uses his Apple ID to use iMessage will we have problems?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
157
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H, 16 GB
CPU
Intel i5 4670K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have a real MacPro3,1 running Mavericks and I just built a Hackintosh with a Z97-A and i7-4790k running Yosemite, the SMBios is set as a MacPro3,1 also.

I've read to not clone the ROM and MLB numbers from the genuine Mac, but I plan to wipe it clean, re-install Mavericks and sell it. Would it be okay to clone the IDs, or when the new owner of the genuine Mac uses his Apple ID to use iMessage will we have problems?



Based on the thread yes you will have problems. Both of you will. Both of you will keep getting booted. Ultimately you will stop working and they will work. It's a bad idea to do it. Just follow the guide on generating a 13 digit MLB.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
30
Motherboard
Custom G5
CPU
Intel i7 2600
Graphics
Sapphire HD7870 GHz Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a real MacPro3,1 running Mavericks and I just built a Hackintosh with a Z97-A and i7-4790k running Yosemite, the SMBios is set as a MacPro3,1 also.

I've read to not clone the ROM and MLB numbers from the genuine Mac, but I plan to wipe it clean, re-install Mavericks and sell it. Would it be okay to clone the IDs, or when the new owner of the genuine Mac uses his Apple ID to use iMessage will we have problems?

Wiping it won't change the embedded MLB & SN. You'll both have problems, from the moment someone tries to sign into the iMessage app on it.
If you're going to attempt cloning, the machine needs to be basically inactive & its also recommended that you still own it.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
514
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Now the question is do you lose any features going to the macpro3,1. I could do that, but my system matches imac14,1

So what would I lose switching to macpro3,1?

I've always used 3,1 actually. because imac defs always gave me weird audio popping issues (like audio was always waking from a powered down state and popped as it powered on, similar to turning on a speaker). with 3,1 this pop never happens, probably because sound loses whatever PM causes it.
Also with 3,1 you can't get true power management for cpu, so cpu geerally sits at either 4ghz, or 800mhz idle. nothing in between. although it does speed step between 4ghz and my 4.6 OC. but since it sits at 800mhz at idle i don't worry about it too much that it ramps up to 4ghz instead of 1-2ghz for meager tasks. You basically can't setup power management profiles for 9x-39x.

Sleep probably doesn't work 100% either but i never use sleep. ever. I've never tired it os maybe it works maybe it doesn't. I haven't on my original mac pro and don't on this. display, hard disks yes. system, never. I always have something or another running.

GPU power management is 100% so no loss there. that seems controlled entirely by nvidia driver.

I don't know whether or not USB 3.0 works or not. I only have usb 2.0 devices. all my my good stuff is on the inside (my two ssds, 10k rpm storage HDD with tons of space). External devices i use my iphone, webcam, mic.

So this all works for me. It may not work for everyone. Others who may not want to give up cpu power management, or usb 3.0 may have to wait for the 17MLB research to get complete. they can risk using the existing generators now, but putting random chars in the fields we don't yet understand is risky business. Plus considering how inaccurate the 13char generators were (generating random stuff for EEE instead of correct hardware class), I certainly don't put stock in the validity of any numbers they'd generate, even if they fool apple for now.

I strive more toward long term solution than random numbers. Because invalid numbers or machine identification could be the next block if syntax isn't doing enough for apple. This is why i went extra mile and ensured:
Apple OEM ROM (imac wifi card i use for wifi/bluetooth/handoff).
3,1 definition with 13MLB and a valid EEE code for 3,1 mac pro that matches definition.
unique serial. Now whitelisted by apple

I hope to see no further problems with the extra vigilance. We shall see!
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
78
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi people i m keeping myself up to date with the forum but still it seems nobody found a good easy solution to this iMessage troubles, for now to make iMessage working on my hackintosh i basically have the screen sharing from my macbook pro and this works flawlessly,its quick and easy to set up until someone find a better solution..
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 1.21.36 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 1.21.36 PM.jpg
    173 KB · Views: 245
Top