Contribute
Register

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,209
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...I can not put too much because I believe that we should not talk about this website here (there are little war) check post # Hanger1
The insanely site is OK to cite so long as the citation post/link doesn't violate the tonymacx86 Forum Rules and the policy at the top of this page. The OP in that insanely thread was banned from here for a major Rules infraction, and he's just bitter.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
Intel
CPU
Q9450 C2Q
Graphics
NVIDIA Graphics Engine 1024 MB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had the same experience as some others which is that after following the guide, I was prompted to call iMessage support and to provide a code. When I did so, they verified my identity and then "unlocked" iMessage, but I continued to get the same error that "Your Apple ID XXX can't be used to set up iMessage at this time." They were confused by this and actually tried very hard to help and even asked to view my screen, which I let them do after making sure no incriminating items were on the desktop. Ultimately, the senior support person said the problem seems to be that even though my generated serial number looks like a legitimate number, it is not in Apple's database anywhere, and he couldn't figure out why. :angel: recommended that I download a "Capture Data" program that basically creates a folder full of my computer's configuration files to send to their technicians, but obviously I'm not going to do that. It seems like the options are (1) to obtain a serial number from a dead Mac Pro to use, (2) suck it up and don't use iMessage on my Hackintosh, or (3) just buy a real Mac already!
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,157
Motherboard
Asrock B365M Phantom Gaming
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I manage to activate imessage again without calling Apple and was able to send messages to 2 numbers.
I played around with MLB and ROM and the message to call Apple popup :)),then i changed my system def. from mac mini 6.2 to iMac 13.1 generated new serial number and using the old MLB,ROM and SmUUID i was able to sign in to imessage.
I switched back to system def. from IMac 13.1 to mac mini 6.2 generated only a new serial number,sign-in to imessage and worked :D.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
246
Motherboard
Z270 GAMING K3
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
AMD RADEON RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had the same experience as some others which is that after following the guide, I was prompted to call iMessage support and to provide a code. When I did so, they verified my identity and then "unlocked" iMessage, but I continued to get the same error that "Your Apple ID XXX can't be used to set up iMessage at this time." They were confused by this and actually tried very hard to help and even asked to view my screen, which I let them do after making sure no incriminating items were on the desktop. Ultimately, the senior support person said the problem seems to be that even though my generated serial number looks like a legitimate number, it is not in Apple's database anywhere, and he couldn't figure out why. :angel: recommended that I download a "Capture Data" program that basically creates a folder full of my computer's configuration files to send to their technicians, but obviously I'm not going to do that. It seems like the options are (1) to obtain a serial number from a dead Mac Pro to use, (2) suck it up and don't use iMessage on my Hackintosh, or (3) just buy a real Mac already!
saw the problems, which in any case can not be completely solved by people, since the final problem is on Apple servers


it is in my opinion better to buy an old Ipad on ebay for used iMessage and FaceTime


Lowest deal that it will cost a macintosh .....
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
30
Motherboard
Custom G5
CPU
Intel i7 2600
Graphics
Sapphire HD7870 GHz Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Roughly 2 years ago I scored myself a G5 Power Mac, which I gutted & converted into my current Hackintosh.
I sold & threw away all of the internals that I didn't need.
And I just spent the last few days tracking down the photos that I took of the main board, so I could attempt to use its MLB, & the serial which is on the case itself.

I don't know if anyone's noticed before, but it turns out that they're both only 12 digits long. I jumped online & found the same result everywhere. Being only equipped with PowerPC CPUs, and limited at OS X 10.5, Apple probably made the change to the 13 digit serial numbers once they adopted Intel processors in their new ranges.
Although some of the rules of the MLB code appeared to still apply, such as the manufacturing location letters ect.
This doesn't necessarily help anyone here, but it's good to know I guess, in case anyone's considering trying the same.

So after much research & the findings of others on here, I eventually decided to try & use my faulty MacBook Pro's 13 digit serial number & 17 digit MLB. I used my Ethernet board's address as my ROM. ID kept as MacPro3,1. All other values kept the same as they were before the iMessage deactivation happened.
Initally I couldn't get the MLB to change (using latest Clover boot loader), iMessage Debug & Darwin Dumper kept reporting the old values.
I found the solution was to run Clover Configurator & go to the Drivers section, then install the EmuVariableUefi-64 driver.
I got the Call Customer Care error straight away. Called them & had it working again in minutes =]
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
34
Motherboard
Lenovo Y580 - Clover
CPU
i7-3630QM
Graphics
HD 4000 + GTX 660M,1920x1080
Hello, using the Clover method here, I can log in but this is all that I can do, it's either:
qSk2FT2.jpg


or
DGBVebf.jpg


or

7LybbLU.jpg


How bad is it, should it just let it stay and hope for it to start working?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
157
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H, 16 GB
CPU
Intel i5 4670K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello, using the Clover method here, I can log in but this is all that I can do, it's either:
qSk2FT2.jpg


or
DGBVebf.jpg


or

7LybbLU.jpg


How bad is it, should it just let it stay and hope for it to start working?


:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
514
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All working again. imessage, SMS forwarding, all seems working. Activated using 3,1 definition, generated 13 char MLB carefully formatted to match serial, and hardware (mac pro) and apple wifi card rom (to ensure rom was an apple one)

i did NOT use generator program because they were grossly inaccurate. Wasn't even setting correct EEE for a 3,1 mac pro (which is XDA) I instead spent a great deal of time just making sure the number adhered to correct format, with correct codes and years and weeks. Then called apple up when i felt confident number looked good.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
514
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does the serial need to be a valid one?

mine was made up and not in use (using web form to validate)

EDIT
unless you meant phone call? gave them real serial for that, which also happens to be a mac pro 3,1. Which i suspect helps a ton with less suspicion that they see i'm struggling with a 3,1 mac pro and happened to own a real one. :)But no i will never clone my real clone. Now don't have too. both logged into imessage with hack using generated things that passed checks :)
 
Top