Contribute
Register
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
246
Motherboard
Z270 GAMING K3
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
AMD RADEON RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I´ve been suffering the same as all. Both my genuine mac and hack stopped working without issues logging into iMessage, therefore tried to generate unique values on my hack, using iMac11,3 id, 12 digit SN and 13 digit MLB. I expected to get the Call Apple message with the code, but instead, I get the "activation error message, try later". I checked other things, like en0, etc, etc, but no luck; still getting the same message. I guess I´ll give it a rest for a few days and I´ll try again. I still don´t have iMessage back on my genuine mac. I used my apple id to log in using a friends genuine mac, and I was able to log in, and send a message with it. I hope I´m no repeating too much info. Thanks.

your real Mac should work again in a few days


your hack displays this error by what the MLB AND SERIAL is not good compared to the definition of the system
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
119
Motherboard
ASUS sabertooth z97 mark 2
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
your real Mac should work again in a few days


your hack displays this error by what the MLB AND SERIAL is not good compared to the definition of the system

Thanks for your reply. Do you mean that my system definition doesn't match my actual hardware? My hardware matches 13,2 iMac but I chosed 11,3 def so I could use a 11 digit SN and a 13 digit MLB. I think I was careful enough when making up my SN and MLB, you know, I used correct prefixes and suffixes, manufacturing dates, etc, etc.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
246
Motherboard
Z270 GAMING K3
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
AMD RADEON RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for your reply. Do you mean that my system definition doesn't match my actual hardware? My hardware matches 13,2 iMac but I chosed 11,3 def so I could use a 11 digit SN and a 13 digit MLB. I think I was careful enough when making up my SN and MLB, you know, I used correct prefixes and suffixes, manufacturing dates, etc, etc.

extract from jaymonkey Guide :

( Like 17 digit MLB's there is currently no easy automatic method to do this so it requires a fair bit of effort by the end user, but it does work. I may write a method to assist in this approach but there are already a few other forums that detail the MLB in more detail so for the time-being if you want to try this approach then this is a good place to start.)

there is an MLB generator to this site (generates the proper mlb but not whitelisted, you always call APPLE)
I can not put too much because I believe that we should not talk about this website here (there are little war) check post # Hanger1
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,186
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...I can not put too much because I believe that we should not talk about this website here (there are little war) check post # Hanger1
The insanely site is OK to cite so long as the citation post/link doesn't violate the tonymacx86 Forum Rules and the policy at the top of this page. The OP in that insanely thread was banned from here for a major Rules infraction, and he's just bitter.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
Intel
CPU
Q9450 C2Q
Graphics
NVIDIA Graphics Engine 1024 MB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had the same experience as some others which is that after following the guide, I was prompted to call iMessage support and to provide a code. When I did so, they verified my identity and then "unlocked" iMessage, but I continued to get the same error that "Your Apple ID XXX can't be used to set up iMessage at this time." They were confused by this and actually tried very hard to help and even asked to view my screen, which I let them do after making sure no incriminating items were on the desktop. Ultimately, the senior support person said the problem seems to be that even though my generated serial number looks like a legitimate number, it is not in Apple's database anywhere, and he couldn't figure out why. :angel: recommended that I download a "Capture Data" program that basically creates a folder full of my computer's configuration files to send to their technicians, but obviously I'm not going to do that. It seems like the options are (1) to obtain a serial number from a dead Mac Pro to use, (2) suck it up and don't use iMessage on my Hackintosh, or (3) just buy a real Mac already!
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,157
Motherboard
Asrock B365M Phantom Gaming
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I manage to activate imessage again without calling Apple and was able to send messages to 2 numbers.
I played around with MLB and ROM and the message to call Apple popup :)),then i changed my system def. from mac mini 6.2 to iMac 13.1 generated new serial number and using the old MLB,ROM and SmUUID i was able to sign in to imessage.
I switched back to system def. from IMac 13.1 to mac mini 6.2 generated only a new serial number,sign-in to imessage and worked :D.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
246
Motherboard
Z270 GAMING K3
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
AMD RADEON RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had the same experience as some others which is that after following the guide, I was prompted to call iMessage support and to provide a code. When I did so, they verified my identity and then "unlocked" iMessage, but I continued to get the same error that "Your Apple ID XXX can't be used to set up iMessage at this time." They were confused by this and actually tried very hard to help and even asked to view my screen, which I let them do after making sure no incriminating items were on the desktop. Ultimately, the senior support person said the problem seems to be that even though my generated serial number looks like a legitimate number, it is not in Apple's database anywhere, and he couldn't figure out why. :angel: recommended that I download a "Capture Data" program that basically creates a folder full of my computer's configuration files to send to their technicians, but obviously I'm not going to do that. It seems like the options are (1) to obtain a serial number from a dead Mac Pro to use, (2) suck it up and don't use iMessage on my Hackintosh, or (3) just buy a real Mac already!
saw the problems, which in any case can not be completely solved by people, since the final problem is on Apple servers


it is in my opinion better to buy an old Ipad on ebay for used iMessage and FaceTime


Lowest deal that it will cost a macintosh .....
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
30
Motherboard
Custom G5
CPU
Intel i7 2600
Graphics
Sapphire HD7870 GHz Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Roughly 2 years ago I scored myself a G5 Power Mac, which I gutted & converted into my current Hackintosh.
I sold & threw away all of the internals that I didn't need.
And I just spent the last few days tracking down the photos that I took of the main board, so I could attempt to use its MLB, & the serial which is on the case itself.

I don't know if anyone's noticed before, but it turns out that they're both only 12 digits long. I jumped online & found the same result everywhere. Being only equipped with PowerPC CPUs, and limited at OS X 10.5, Apple probably made the change to the 13 digit serial numbers once they adopted Intel processors in their new ranges.
Although some of the rules of the MLB code appeared to still apply, such as the manufacturing location letters ect.
This doesn't necessarily help anyone here, but it's good to know I guess, in case anyone's considering trying the same.

So after much research & the findings of others on here, I eventually decided to try & use my faulty MacBook Pro's 13 digit serial number & 17 digit MLB. I used my Ethernet board's address as my ROM. ID kept as MacPro3,1. All other values kept the same as they were before the iMessage deactivation happened.
Initally I couldn't get the MLB to change (using latest Clover boot loader), iMessage Debug & Darwin Dumper kept reporting the old values.
I found the solution was to run Clover Configurator & go to the Drivers section, then install the EmuVariableUefi-64 driver.
I got the Call Customer Care error straight away. Called them & had it working again in minutes =]
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
34
Motherboard
Lenovo Y580 - Clover
CPU
i7-3630QM
Graphics
HD 4000 + GTX 660M,1920x1080
Hello, using the Clover method here, I can log in but this is all that I can do, it's either:
qSk2FT2.jpg


or
DGBVebf.jpg


or

7LybbLU.jpg


How bad is it, should it just let it stay and hope for it to start working?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
157
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H, 16 GB
CPU
Intel i5 4670K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello, using the Clover method here, I can log in but this is all that I can do, it's either:
qSk2FT2.jpg


or
DGBVebf.jpg


or

7LybbLU.jpg


How bad is it, should it just let it stay and hope for it to start working?


:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Top