Contribute
Register

How to Fix iMessage

Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
257
Motherboard
MSI X99A SLI PLUS
CPU
5930K
Graphics
Vega 64
Bad News.

I just logged into that new user the Senior Apple tech had me create. iMessage started throwing the same Customer Code at me. It was fine yesterday. That's no longer the case today.

So frustrated.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
42
Motherboard
GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
i7-4770S
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
385
Motherboard
Asus Z370 Prime A II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
VEGA VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I can confirm that this worked for me too. 100%.
No other changes were made at all. Didn't change Apple ID passwords, or sign out of devices ect.

Running Clover v2k r2976. All the proper values & injections ect. Had previously been working fine for months.

Turned on my Hackintosh to discover I was booted from iMessage, for no apparent reason. Couldn't sign back in, getting the Call Customer Support error. I can't call them at the moment, the line is closed this time of night.

But creating a new OS X User & signing in with the exact same iMessage account info worked straight away.
Seriously considering just migrating everything over to this User, or creating a new one.
Does anyone know of a simple or integrated way in OS X to do this? Besides backing everything up then using Migration Assistant.
it did NOT work for me. The Apple man asked me to create a new user and iMessage works immediately with the newly created user but after some time (hours) it stopped working and generated exactly the same customer code! :banghead:

It's machine dependent!
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
asus
CPU
intel
Graphics
nvidia
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
jaymonkey,
I was reading through your post about the change in iMessage activation. In the post regarding how Apple serializes a board that has been replaced in a mac


  • Interesting side Note: New or refurbished Mac system boards do not have a OSX S/N burned into them. If Apple has to replace the system board on a faultily Mac the tech is supposed to run a ASD utility to generate the S/N from the MLB and burn it into the board. I am attempting to understand just how this utility works in the hope that it contains the look-up tables and correlations needed to understand how the component values of a MLB is made up.

The software that is used to serialize the board (ASD) is not used to generate the serial number, the Tech is to use the serial number on the physical computer and flash that number to the new logic board replacement. I have this software, as I was a tech for Apple for a while and would be more than happy to share it, but not sure how much help it will be for it is a flashing software.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,297
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
The software that is used to serialize the board (ASD) is not used to generate the serial number, the Tech is to use the serial number on the physical computer and flash that number to the new logic board replacement. I have this software, as I was a tech for Apple for a while and would be more than happy to share it, but not sure how much help it will be for it is a flashing software.
@ccwhite55,

Many thanks for posting this .... i'm still on vacation until the end of the week and have not really delved in to the ASD S/N burning utility too deeply .... it was something i was going to investigate further when i get back home .... however after reading your post and if it is just a straight forward flashing utility then it's not going to bear much fruit ....

So I assume that the tech manually enter's the required OSX S/N as a string into the utility and it burns that value into the system board's flash ?

Which makes perfect sense to me as that way the burned in S/N would match the original .... as in the case of a repair ... I've read about cases where Apple Mac customers have had a system board replaced but the tech has forgot to flash a OSX S/N resulting in no S/N being listed in About This Mac and Hardware Profiler ..... however they are still able to use iMessage which tends to add credibility that it is the MLB that Apple are now focusing on for hardware verification (and maybe ROM ?)

However my understanding is that you can also generate/calculate a matching/correct S/N from the System's Board's MLB like in the instance os a factory refurbishment ..... I don't think it is possible to go the other way and calculate the source MLB from a S/N as it does not contain enough information .... however this is an assumption on my part.

I already have multiple versions of the ASD utilities for different Apple models but thanks for the offer.

Some of the simpler elements making up the MLB are already understood but there are still some unknowns such as the MLB prefix manufacturing location id's which are different to those used and understood by the S/N ...... the real challenge is understanding the MLB's suffix which contains the system/model.

It's also possible that there maybe a correlation between the MLB and the SmUUID ... un-proven at this time but as both numbers are burned into the System Board at the time of manufacturing it's a possibility and one which should be looked at.

Once the MLB is fully understood it should be possible to write a routine to generate a valid MLB for the system type you want to use (eg iMac 14,2) and a matching OSX S/N .... which will hopefully allow the MLB to pass the enhanced Apple verification process ... this routine could then be incorporated into utilities such as Clover Configurator and Chameleon Wizard making the whole OSX configuration process simpler and easer for everyone.

The current ID generator in Clover Configurator does not calculate a proper valid MLB, it simply uses the calculated OSX S/N and adds the correct number of characters to make up to 13 or 17 digits ... very much like the manual method detailed in Part-1, Step 5d of the guide.

Cheers
Jay
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,732
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Would it not just be a case of if you change the main logic board the system serial number is blank ?
The software allows the tech to copy the old system serial number to the new board.

But, the MLB still has its own serial number to identify it independent of the system serial number ?
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
44
Motherboard
GA-Z68XP-UD3 MB
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K
Graphics
GIGABYTE ATI Radeon HD6870 1GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
My iMessage was working just fine until whatever change was made mid November. Now I just get the "An error occurred during activation. Try again" error when trying to log in. I don't get the activation code or anything. I'm running Clover, but haven't updated it since October-ish.

Is there anything I can do to get this working?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2013
Messages
87
Motherboard
Aorus Z370 Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mobile Phone
iOS
My iMessage was working just fine until whatever change was made mid November. Now I just get the "An error occurred during activation. Try again" error when trying to log in. I don't get the activation code or anything. I'm running Clover, but haven't updated it since October-ish.

Is there anything I can do to get this working?
Not yet, that's what's we've been discussing. And this happened to me too. Tried to solve it and then got to a point where I was asked for the customer code.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
44
Motherboard
GA-Z68XP-UD3 MB
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K
Graphics
GIGABYTE ATI Radeon HD6870 1GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Not yet, that's what's we've been discussing. And this happened to me too. Tried to solve it and then got to a point where I was asked for the customer code.
Okay so we just have to sit tight and see what happens then?
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
179
Motherboard
GA-Z87-HD3
CPU
i5-4670
Graphics
Intel 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is there anything I can do to get this working?
No. It's being actively worked on by those outside this forum. There's a large following over on the "other forum" (insanelymac) that has gotten pretty far. Now, we only have to decode 4 values in the MLB and that's it. The ROM, however, is still up in the air as I have personally seen an iMac 14,1 that the ROM doesn't seem to match any IDs such as ethernet or wifi.

For example, using a Genuine iMac 12,1 MLB with a Genuine iMac 14,1 ROM yields the customer code, thus either there is mismatch with some sort of check in relation to the pair of codes, or they need to be registered with Apple before they will work.

There are some very smart people on this task. Sit tight.
 
Top